We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, blissful Basildene...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, blissful Basildene...”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. The room was great and the king sized bed so comfortable. Great to relax in a bath and then sit on the balcony looking over the gardens. So central to everything. Breakfast is brilliant. Plenty of wildlife around to watch. Staff are very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGrant1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    85
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
494
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed here about six times over the years and always enjoyed it although some rooms have been better than others. Our most recent stay was wonderful and our room 'Merlot' was perfect!! ALL rooms had recently been renovated. We always recommend BM to friends. The dining sun room is gorgeous with breathtaking views and is available for wonderful breakfasts and Devonshire teas. Staff were very helpful. Wifi only really available in the foyer area

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear 8495,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed yet another stay with us. Being a old Manor built circa 1912 and not a purpose built property we do have rooms of varying size and layout. Please be assured that they have all been refurbished to the same high quality and standard. We agree - the views, breakfast and Devonshire teas are wonderful.
Again we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you yet again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just came back from WA and we spent one night at the manor.The domain is impressive and very beautiful. The room was really nice, comfy bed.Breakfast was absolutely lovely.
Staff were very helpful, welcoming, whether they were working in the garden or at the reception.Loved walking in the building and looked at the old photos.It was a very good experience.
The only point that was annoying for me is although you can access wifi in the foyer, the phone coverage is non existant in the rooms (im a telstra customer). It was ok because we only spent one night and it was easy enough to brave the quite cool breeze outside to do a phone call but for people that need coverage that can be a bit of a pain.
Overhall, an excellent stay and beautiful place. Thanks to the staff !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Flore84,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The whole staff at the Manor pride themselves on their excellent service. They will be thrilled with the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to receive telephone reception in your room. We are reviewing the current internet provider to see if we can make improvements to the service.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We return to this beautiful old but revamped mansion every few years. The grounds, rooms, service and breakfasts are all incredible. The gardens are spectacular and include tennis courts and a 12.5 m swimming pool. Worth the trip from Goulburn NSW.

Room Tip: All these rooms are a little piece of heaven. Soooooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ann M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your staying at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor yet again! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for returning to us all the way from Gouldburn. We look forward to welcoming you yet again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My fiance and I booked a devonshire tea here to be able to scout it out for a wedding venue.

We had to book in advance as they cook your scones fresh for your scheduled arrival!! They were so delicious, we had the restaurant to ourselves overlooking the manicured gardens and thoroughly enjoyed our pot of tea and scones.

The building is lovely heritage home and the accommdation has recently been renovated to a high standard and the staff were so friendly and helpful in showing us around and serving afternoon tea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Nonny16,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your visit to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Should you need any further assistance with arranging a venue for your wedding please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the Manor.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This has to be the nicest please for afternoon tea and breakfast in Margaret River and I know because I live there ! Afternoon tea consists of hot scones (straight from the oven ) Margaret River preserves and after this wonderful tea you can stroll around the lovely gardens..pure heaven !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janefoxAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear janefoxAlbany,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. The Devonshire Tea certainly is a firm favourite with all guests.
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macksville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Margaret River area. The bed was comfy BUT there was little clothes storage, no table to sit at and to watch TV you had to sit on or in the bed. The manor is a few Kms out of town and has no dining facility. We didn't even have a balcony - just a room with a bed, large TV and nicely appointed bathroom. Laundry facilities are at no additional charge. Overall - nice place to spend a night but no longer.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and maybe a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Wendy B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are sorry to read that you were a little disappointed with your room. Being a building built circa 1912, and not a purpose built hotel, we do have rooms of different shapes and sizes. The same high standard of decor, fixtures and fittings, furniture, and cleanliness however runs throughout this beautiful Manor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the night you spent with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel
Edge of the Forest Motel
#3 of 10 in Margaret River
401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing