We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil bliss in superb surrounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax and rest. From our arrival to departure we, like all guests, were treated like the proverbial 'lord and lady' of the manor. Staff were professional, ever friendly and always helpful. This included all personnel employed at or by the Manor including gardeners, cleaning , house staff and even the contractors who were there building a retaining wall. The Devonshire Teas are a must (they're calorie free) scones large, light & luscious, tea hot & strong. If you need a genuine rest in peaceful surrounds where you are able to walk beautiful gardens, rest and read on the shaded benches or take a swim in a heated pool to relax tired muscles in blissful tranquility - Basildene Manor is the perfect place. What a holiday!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oswie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Oswie,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. All staff at the Manor are take a great pride in their work and will be thrilled with your comments. The Devonshire Teas are a firm favourite with all guests.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 723 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you are looking for a tranquil escape then DON'T consider Basildene Manor. Road noise is constant. Being put up in a suite right next to one that contains a screaming infant is strike 2. Having a speedway meeting virtually next door is strike 3. As if that doesn't strike it out we get notification that as at 8:30am the next morning the car park will have construction equipment demolishing and rebuilding a retaining wall - and guess what our room overlooks - yep, the car park - well that's the end. Will never come back. Rubbish.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Genghis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Genghis54,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are pleased that the General Manager was able to move you to a room overlooking our beautiful gardens the very next morning. It is unfortunate that you were unable to accept our offer of a complimentary extra nights stay and one of the Manor's wonderful Devonshire tea's. We do hope that despite the noise disturbance from the local annual race meeting, you did enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

On Saturday afternoon February 23 we heard loud motorcycle noises coming from over a nearby hill. Turns out this is a regular occurrence every other Saturday until 10pm over the summer. This is a real jewel of a place and it is a shame to have this lovely peaceful and beautiful location ruined by the blasting noise of race cars and motorcycles nearby. They are really loud! Whatever you do please call ahead and see if the racetrack is running when you plan your visit or plan to stay out until after 10pm.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WMSMEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear WMSMEDIA,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. As explained by the General Manager upon check out, the local annual race meeting has been established since the early 1960's. It was requested that an official come on site to provide a noise report to the local council.
We are pleased that despite this disturbance you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Despite reading the excellent reviews I was still pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the house and grounds were just beautiful. We were greated by a lovely receptionist who took us on a guided tour of the hotel explaining were everything was, how it worked etc. The room was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, the bathroom great with nice toiletries, and the view from the window was fabulous. However it was all of the little touches that made it so special, complementary laundry facilities, a fridge by the pool, numerous seats in the beautiful grounds, barbeques and outdoor dining if you wished to self cater. Free wifi was available with your own password, and there was complementary tea, coffe etc not just in your room but also in one of the three communal lounges. Excellent value for money, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here if you wish to visit Margaret River.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear DebCEssex,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted given the fabulous reviews The Manor gets, we still managed to exceed your expectations. We are extremely proud of the excellent service all of the staff give and will ensure that this is passed on to the individual is made aware of the lovely feedback. Again, we thank you for your wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartTravellerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Basildene Manor and were absolutely thrilled with the accommodation, location and helpfulness of the staff. The grounds and gardens are spectacular, the breakfasts delicious and the complimentary laundry facilities a nice touch.

There is a lovely pool and tennis court on the property and you are within walking distance of town, and a short drive to the beach.

We stayed in the Shiraz room (all the rooms are named after wine varietals) which was spacious and had a large bathroom with rainforest shower head.

Found the reading room relaxing and the espresso machine made excellent cappuccinos. One of the nicest accommodations we have stayed at in our travels to date. Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a special getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear adventuringone,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor. It certainly is a very special place to stay.
Again, thank you for your review - we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time here and we stayed for 3 nights. This time our room was very small although clean and well presented. Unfortunately our air-conditioning was not working on a 26c night. Staff were apologetic but only after we asked them if it worked. They offered us free use of the BBQ for the inconvenience! I understand it was beyond their control, however, the very least they could do was to offer us something more substantial than a $10 hire if the BBQ! Despite this, we still had a pleasant stay and would come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbro_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear asbro_com,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so sorry that the air conditioning was not working in your room and that you were dissatisfied with the offer of complimentary BBQ hire. The staff at Basildene Manor work very hard to meet all guest expectations and needs and it is disappointing to hear that on this occasion we did not.
We are pleased to hear that this did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay too much. Again, we thank you for your post and look forward to welcoming you back again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
697 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: $244 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing