We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Nearby Hotels
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stay Margaret River(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$114
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange on Farrelly(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintages Accommodation(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$149
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarets Beach Resort(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Resort(Margaret River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Hotel(Margaret River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveler rating
652
96
22
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
96
22
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesdevonshire teamanicured gardensparting giftchampagne suitebeautiful hoteltrip homereading roombreakfast roomold world charmbutter and jamtennis courtsking suiteprivate courtyardlovely touchbeautiful roomcoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 782 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Basildene Manor (originally built 1912) is what made my trip a complete success. The interesting history and warmth of Basildene gave perspective to the Margaret River region of which Basildene and it's inhabitants have been such a big part for over a century. Have you seen an old photo of Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse with a man standing on top? Who do think that might have been?
Basildene also made a perfect base from which to reach out to regional places of interest, then come back to at the end of the day. A walk in the exquisitely manicured gardens and a sit by the pond with a glass of wine & cheese at the end of the day prior to dinner cannot possibly be bettered. I would have to rate this one of the best stays I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: I think pretty much all the rooms are awesome - no chance of getting one that would disappoint.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear David S,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that the Manor made your trip to this beautiful part of the country so enjoyable. I agree, what could be better than wine and cheese by the pond pre-dinner.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed on the weekend and found this very beautiful old house a wonderful place to base ourselves for touring the wineries. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the grounds are gorgeous and we loved the breakfast room and view, and also the brekky. Make sure you ask for a valley view room when you book. Now, if they only got rid of those awful purple Mercure Accor rugs on the floors the place would be pefect!

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Rosa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful property. The breakfast is certainly very popular with many guests.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I went here for breakfast with a group of friends as one was celebrating her birthday it was fabulous ! It cost us $29 each and you have to book we took our own champagne and had a fantastic morning. The stewed and fresh fruits we lovely as were the breads and yoghurt but the cooked breakfast I had vennison sausages, herbed scrambled eggs and it was all delicous ! The staff were really lovely and made our day extra special...thanks once again and we will be back perhaps for afternoon tea this time ?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janefoxAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We found Basildene Manor a peaceful, high quality resort with beautiful grounds and amenities, and a high standard of furnishings and fittings. Friendly helpful staff added another pleasant touch.

It was so wonderful we only wished we could stay longer!

Room Tip: We had, and would definitely request again, a Lake View Room overlooking the exquisite gardens and lake.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dear Myra C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed a peaceful break with us. All feedback is extremely important to us, as it assists with the constant monitoring of satisfaction, service and quality.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I needed a real break from the stressful corporate world and finding Basildene Manor on the net, I rang to make a booking. They assured me they would take care of me and I would enjoy my stay. Understatement - it was fantastic. The staff went way above and beyond, the manor was beautifully refurbished and the gardens a real treat to wander in, sit by the pool and read a book. The best home baked scones ever and after a week, it was a real effort to return to normal life.
I would highly recommend Basildene Manor and would certainly return. Paddling down to the conservatory in my jodpurs before I headed off to Jester's Flats for horse riding, a great breakfast every day.
Do yourself a favour....book to stay here. I am a pretty fussy traveller and it ticked all the boxes and more. The history also fascinating. And a great location.
Well done to Basildene and all the staff that really do care.

Room Tip: Cabernet is a nice room - very spacious. Malbec was cosy and windows on two sides overlooking the garden. Prefer upstairs rooms overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Linda R,

Thank you so much for posting your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, and that the staff there looked after you so well - the scones at the Manor certainly are popular!

All feedback is greatly appreciated as it assist us with the constant monitoring of guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews