We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing flash but great location”

Margaret River Hotel & Holiday Suites
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margaret River Hotel & Holiday Suites
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night last week (stayed here years ago too). This is a motel type accommodation, the "suites" word is not suited. Its a basic motel, in a fantastic location at the back of the Marg River Hotel on the main street. Very quiet, no noise from the hotel. Everything you need, comfortable beds, bathroom (note shower curtains not screens), flat screen TV. If you are going for a quick trip to Marg River & just want to walk in town this is the place to stay. To check in you go to reception at the hotel on the main street, then drive around to your motel room. Reception was very friendly/helpful. Take note of the map our rooms were easy to find but there were other people wandering around trying to find their rooms. Price was $130 for the basic motel room, we had two rooms, one had a queen bed, the other had 3 singles. Unfortunately the room with the 3 singles which was a disabled room which was fine, hadn't been used for a while so it was a little smelly until we aired it out, other than that perfect stay would definitely stay here again for a quick trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked the night before we drove down. Great location right in town, stayed in the hotel suites so it was back from the hotel/pub so no disruption from that which was good.
When we first got into our room I thought it was quite nice, some art work, a welcome sign on the bench, bright and fairly modern duvet cover, separate lounge with TV. Perfect for the one night stay, that is if you don’t mind showering in jandals. The shower was filthy! Black slimy mould growing in the shower base, it honestly just needs a really good scrub, it’s not that hard. Then I got into bed and the bedding smelt a little of cigarette smoke, strange considering it was a non smoking room and they’d made a point to mention that.

It doesn’t matter what you pay, accommodation should always be clean but at $160 a night the cleanliness was hugely disappointing. If it was clean I wouldn’t have a problem staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank lavuedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked queen room suites here as there was very limited to nil 'reasonably' priced accommodation in the Margaret River over the Christmas period.

The Holiday Suites suited our needs perfectly, as we were out both days and just needed a comfortable bed for the night. The location is ideal for exploring Margaret River town, the high street is literally a 2 minute walk away (depending on which suite you have!), stumbling distance from all the restaurants and bars anyway! We were satisfied with our accommodation, the bathroom was quite basic, but adequate. There did seem to be a lot of chatter outside the bathroom side of our suite late at night, which would have been annoying if we were staying any longer than a couple of nights.

Checking in was friendly and efficient. For the price and location, this was a great option for a very short stay. Parking directly outside the room was also handy.

Book online as supposed to inquiring directly with them... the price was a lot less for some strange reason!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked our room in the Holiday Suites the morning we drove down to Margaret River. There was a special on their website for the King Spa room. The front desk staff was cheerful and helpful. Their lounge had a large collection of brochures which helped us plan our day trips.

The room was very clean, spacious and well-appointed with a kitchen sink, fridge and microwave. We were glad the unit had its own air con/heater since the nights were cool. The spa bath was a treat. The shower had plenty of hot water and the toilet is in its own closet which speeded getting ready in the morning.

The hotel has a bottle shop attached to it which was handy since the restaurants we dined in were BYOB. The location is great with sufficient off-street parking. It was a short walk to excellent restaurants. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We recommend the spa king room if you like to use a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wow. I've stayed in MR many times and always been dissatisfied that previous accommodation has been too far away from the central hub and therefore unwalkable and a pesky car ride away.

My travelling companion booked the "Margaret River Hotel" which, once we read the small print translated into the Margaret River Holiday Suites which are actually motel rooms behind the main and established hotel.
n.b. Hotel peeps makes this clearer on your website pls as it was easy to think that one was booking a hotel room within the main building..

But for our purposes, and at AUD99 per night for a twin room, we were delighted to find that actually this was not a hotel room and therefore much bigger than we'd expected, with a car park right at the door and a convenient verandah area at the front. .

It's basic accommodation but that's all we required being busy with Cine Fest Oz activities.

The pillows were, it seemed brand new and luxurious, and the beds comfortable. But best of all we were in cooee of the main drag (Bussell Hwy) and therefore easy walking distance to the restaurants, shops and other high street attractions.

I'll be back again and again. Reccomend.

Room Tip: We were travelling in a group that had also checked in. All rooms seemed similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoodly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The suites are in the middle of town, a short stroll to the shops and restaurants. They are located to the rear of the hotel so we were able to enjoy a quiet night's sleep even though the hotel bar was busy and noisy. The King Suite which we had was clean, spacious and comfortable. The room was slightly musty but not a real problem. Check in/out was efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed here with a colleague during a business trip. We hired a family suite and both slept in separate rooms as this was cheaper than getting two separate hotel rooms anywhere else.
We were very pleasantly surprised at the value for money. We had everything we could need, it was very clean and in good condition and located right in the heart of town, across the road from the pub.
I would stay there again, and my colleague concurred. In fact, she mentioned that she would stay there with her family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiebijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darby Park Serviced Residences
Darby Park Serviced Residences
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Margaret River Resort
Margaret River Resort
#10 of 10 in Margaret River
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Hotel & Holiday Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Hotel & Holiday Suites

Address: 125 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia (Formerly Margaret River Holiday Suites)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $100 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaret River Hotel & Holiday Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Margaret River Hotel is ideally located in the heart of town. We also manage the Margaret River Holiday Suites which are located directly behind the Margaret River Hotel . Whether you prefer traditional country style accommodation or modern motel rooms; they both offer excellent value and a perfect base from which to make worthwhile use of the hotels wining & dining facilities and or explore the region during the day and have the convenience of the main street restaurants on your doorstep at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Margaret River Hotel & Holiday Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Margaret River
Margaret River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing