We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and professional”

Cape Mentelle Wines
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Margaret River icon established in 1970, Cape Mentelle is one of the region's founding five wineries. Cape Mentelle pioneered many of Margaret River's renowned wine styles and today is a benchmark for the quality of the region's wines. Visit us for a free wine tasting in our rammed earth Cellar Door set amongst native gardens, or book in for a Behind the Scenes Tour for $25 for 60 minutes, walking through the wine making process from the vine to the bottle and explaining what we do to make Cape Mentelle wine so unique. Or extend to an $84 120 minute behind the scenes tour that is followed by a degustation, providing a food and wine pairing experience. This private wine tasting matches a selection of delicious local produce to Cape Mentelle wines in our historic Cabernet Cellar. Cape Mentelle also screens outdoor movies under the stars during summer, complete with bean bags, a food truck and a bar, check our Movies at Cape Mentelle Facebook page for the programme and booking information.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Friendly and professional”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very amiable and knowledgeable staff, with a good selection of wines to try.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank r15xeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    5
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely service”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Good service. They do tasting and degustation tours too, which well try next time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NerissaAndJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Had to find this Estate”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Cape Mentelle has been one of my favorite Aussie wine labels for a long time and since I was in Margaret River, I had to find the estate. The estate is smaller than I expected but I got a chance to sample some of their award-winning wines and picked up a couple bottles of their latest offerings. Make it a point to drop in and visit them.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChefG-A2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent Introduction to Wine”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Cape Mentelle offers wine lovers of every level a great experience. They have outdoor movie screenings that are a huge draw, but of course it's the wine that pulls people in. The Cellar Door tasting experience is very good and for a small fee they'll open almost anything they make. If you have a chance to do one of the intensive tasting workshops with Cellar Door manager Rob Dewar, don't miss the opportunity - it's in the barrel room and excels in both content and atmosphere. And the wines are pretty fine as well.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Degustation Tour”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Guided tour of the winery followed by a tasting of local food and Cape Mentelle wines under the guidance of our tour guide. The tour was well thought out with enough detail but not too technical. The tasting was first class with local cheeses meats and a selection of wines designed too complement the food. In all about 150 minutes. One of the best experiences of our trip to the Margaret River.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hillbury32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Mentelle Wines also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cape Mentelle Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing