We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travelers have booked this property
The Straw House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Straw House
Massive dining table Cosy in Winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Straw House
Massive dining table
Cosy in Winter
The red room
Rural peace. Beautiful deep window recesses.
The downstairs lounge
The upstairs lounge.
One of the bathrooms.
Happy guests!
Artist's rendition of The Straw House
Surfing at Redgate Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Margaret River, Margaret River Region, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Skye D
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the straw house. It was nice to watch the children run around outside in the freedom that only a large property can allow. The house was also very spacious and there was so many bedrooms to chose from! We have decided that we will be back next year with the extended family :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful countryside.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthites...
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for a big group”
Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We had two families with adult children and their partners as well as singles. It suited our purposes perfectly and we took our small dog. Which it is basic accommodation it is a true farmhouse style and was comfortable. The table tennis and pool table were very popular. We took a tether and a pet pen fir our dog and enclosed part of the verandah as I'm sure the sheep and kangaroos would have been too much of a temptation for her! The only thing we would have liked was an outdoor patio area where we could all congegrate. The cake and wine were a nice touch and the caretakers very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous three days”
Reviewed April 13, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Had the most magical time in this wonderful house, got to show off the best of the region to the new son in law. Family loved the atmosphere of the place, and we got them all off there phones and electronic games for a while. Would highly recommend the Strawhouse this place has everything that you could want. Thanks Carolyn and Mark

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness that the surrounding bush gives you.
Liked least: The dirt road comming in to the property.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewed December 20, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bunbury
Reviewed December 17, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth
Reviewed December 16, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth
Reviewed December 15, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing