We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee break”
Review of Cafe Boranup

Cafe Boranup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A cute little cafe in the forest, with the stunning Boranup Gallery next door. Cafe Boranup is 4kms South of Lake Cave on Caves Road Forest Grove, keep an eye out or our sign. Please go to our website for a map and GPS co-ordinates if that helps. We are friendly, do great coffee, make our own cakes and our lunches are hearty, delicious and reasonably priced.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had coffee and cake here after visiting the gallery, well worth the trip. Delicious cake. We were only sorry it was too early for lunch!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catriona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Mmmm...cake....
Our philosophy - Eat cake,as it's someone's birthday somewhere...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2018

It was just a cafe next to the Gallery. Turns out it was as good as the Gallery in its own way... First thing we noticed was the Mushroom Latte sign (worth asking about, btw) so we guessed it was going to be different. The non-standard coffee orders were handled with aplomb, and we loved the sign saying ‘Nursing mothers welcome, enjoy a hot drink on the house too’ - have already sent pics to the daughters-out-law. All set in colourful gardens with native trees, shrubs, and flowers everywhere.
And don’t forget this is all set in the Boranup Forest, with all those endless tall eucalypts in dappled sunlight, which we had to walk in or was just breathtaking.
Worth a long visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank barnardc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your lovely review. The mushroon latte, and the pumpkin latte, are very popular!
And we just love our forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

We arrived in the UK and was taken here for breakfast on our first morning. The cafe is tucked away if it wasn’t for word of mouth you would have no idea it was there! Lots of walkers around (with dogs too) so i take it that theres lots of good walks around! The breakfast was lovely! So filling! I also thought it was a nice idea that breast feeding mums got a free drink! Would recommend for a decent breakfast! There is also a gallery next door you can have a browse in after!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hellymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for finding us! Yes, we hide well in the forest, but we like that ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Not quite sure why we ended up here for lunch, but think it had something to do with the gallery next door.

After a drive through forested countryside reminiscent of the above film, you arrive at the gallery and the Café, reached up a slope from the car park.

The place itself looks a little rough and ready, but in a nice way, and the young enthusiastic staff are keen to please. Menu options are pretty standard for the area, with calamari,fish and chips and burgers. We chose a couple of the daily specials - the pumpkin soup and the Massaman curry, with the others in our group going more standard fare like the all day breakfast and the vegetable soup.

First nasty shock was the absence of a beer or wine license and having to settle for ginger beer or water. Then the service became erratic - extremely so, with a long wait for our soups, and an even longer one for the mains.

The food itself was very good, but the staff seemed in desperate need of an organising hand. Not a place I’d hurry back to.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Banker_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Thanks for your review. My only explanation for your lack of timing for soups is we have had a very busy long weekend and the staff were flat out catching up!
As for the liquor licence, we are a family friendly cafe, BYO, and don't feel the need to have alcohol with a relaxing breakfast or lunch, but take your feelings on board.
Cheers
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

A really good find - worth stopping for a bite. Food was fresh and home made -
BIG portions ! Staff really welcoming too.
(Gallery next door underwhelming- rude in comparison)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank peterfR6657CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boranup also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cafe Boranup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing