We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Boranup

Cafe Boranup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cute little cafe in the forest, with the stunning Boranup Gallery next door. Cafe Boranup is 4kms South of Lake Cave on Caves Road Forest Grove, keep an eye out or our sign. Please go to our website for a map and GPS co-ordinates if that helps. We are friendly, do great coffee, make our own cakes and our lunches are hearty, delicious and reasonably priced.
Augusta, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A great place for a light lunch and then aback afterwards for a cuppa and scones after looking at the gallery.
Very friendly staff, beautiful food with a great view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
What can I say? Thanks for taking the time to review the cafe, and thanks for visiting in the first place. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    63
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I just like the food, especially impressed with their laksa. We were rather surprised to see such a delectable asian food in this restaurant. The journey going there along cave road is worthwhile trip, able to enjoy the scenery in along the road in Leuwin National Park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SenMING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! It really helps us spread the word, and I love making the laksa! I learnt from a lovely lady from Malaysia- I will let her know she taught me well! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food in the Midst of the Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

You can check out an amazing gallery and then have restaurant quality food in what feels like the middle of forest far from everywhere else.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DLW112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks for your review. We love the feeling of being tucked away in the forest too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“lacks attention to detail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited the cafe in the afternoon. The service and the food was a bit iffy. The wait to get served sat the counter was slow. the food on the counter was uncovered with a few flies around. The coffees came reasonably quickly but were lukewarm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank waboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Sorry you didn't have a great visit to the cafe. As for the service, we had a staff member down sick over the weekend so I'll put it down with that. I have discussed this review with staff, and we feel we have resolved the coffee issue. Each barista prides themselves on great coffee. Thank you for your constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Always excellent food.Bush setting with birds and access to Boranup Gallery, one of the best galleries.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Sorry for taking so long to reply! Thanks for the review, and we are very happy you enjoyed your time with us. And yes, the gallery is really amazing. I love to go over for a look around - the artwork changes so often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boranup also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Rosa Glen, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cafe Boranup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing