We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Darby Park Serviced Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and chose it because it had a pool (not many properties do in Margaret River). The pool is great, a good size and nice beds, towels provided. We had a one bedroom apartment which is a good size with a large bed. Everything you needed was supplied. My only minor gripe would be that the room servicing was not quite up to scratch. Our toiletries were not replenished and I would agree with other reviews in that they could be done more thoroughly. Other than that it really is absolutely ideally located.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 438 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed here over the Christmas period in 2007. On arrival we thought that the reception area was nice and we were very positive that the rest of the resort was going to be good. However our one bedroom apartment was extremely dirty....we moved a chair in the living area to retrieve something and the dust was really thick. The stainless steel sink was brown (stained) and there was a large blow-fly in the fridge (it had obviously been there for ages as it crumbled when I removed it.) I actually went out and bought some bleach as I couldn't have prepared any food until I had cleaned the sink area. The cobwebs hanging from my bedside lamp would have to be seen, to be believed.

It is a great pity as Quest has always been excellent in other places that we have stayed. This place is in a good location and could be really good if it was clean. The girls came in a couple of times to 'clean' the room but only changed the towels.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Stayed in a 1 bed apartment in the Quest for 3 nights. Apartment was very modern and well equipped. However what really lets this motel down is the room servicing. When we arrived we found the bed sheets were dirty (They looked like they were not changed from the previous occupants). In addition to this, our room was not vacuumed for 2 days (It was suppose to be done each day). Its a shame as the location is great.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank IrishWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights mid November. We booked a 'studio' which in fact turned out to be a smallish motel room. What made it a studio I guess is the fact that the area normally used for storage held a small fridge, a kettle, a microwave and toaster plus some crockery, any washing up would need to be done in the bathroom.

We didn't use any of the above other than the kettle for tea as there simply wasn't space to prepare even a snack really.

The building is conveniently located right in Margaret River with everything within walking distance. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. There is quite a nice swimming pool which we didn't use.

Our room was adjoining an apartment and there is 1 door leading to both, then a small entrance with 2 doors one of them ours. The people in the apartment sometimes left their door open and you could hear every word they were saying even with our door shut. Even with both doors shut we could clearly hear their tv and when they got up in the morning so did we as we could again hear them clearly talking preparing breakfast etc, the dividing wall must be paper thin. They were leaving that day so we were not disturbed the next night but it wasn't really a satisfactory set-up.

Our room looked out onto the trees which was quite nice. There were birds about and it was quiet (outside). Margaret River itself is lovely with some nice shops and places to eat and lots to do.

We stayed in other properties in the area which cost a lot less but we had more room and more peace.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

What can I say about this place, I think everyone has already said it. The only thing I can add is that I dont like the security arrangements. Firstly, a good thing. The cars are all parked behind a security gate that you need your room key to access. Secondly, when you access your room, you go through a common door to two rooms, and then your own room door. Here is where the problem starts. When ever the other room that is accessed by the common door, is accessed by the occupant, the common door slams and then the door to their room. This might not sound too bad, but at 2AM and when the occupant has no regard for the fact that you are sleeping, and goes in and out of the room about a dozen times in 1 hour, I think you get the picture.
This is obviously dependent on the occupants of the other room, and this only occurred on 1 of the 2 nights, but I did not get a lot of sleep that night. This is only a problem for the motel rooms. The apartments dont have two rooms accessed by a common door.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Quest Hotels can usually be relied upon to set a high standard.
Quest Margaret River was unfortunately let down by the low standard of cleanliness. The carpet in the living area was in need of cleaning and worse still there were hairs on the bathroom floor and in the tub. The hand held vacuum cleaner did not work and the toaster needed replacing.
This was a great pity because everything else was ideal.
Good location, spacious apartments etc.
I could only recommend them if they clean up their act.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Silvereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We had planned to stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroomed apt. We were so impressed with the spacious design that we extended our stay to 6 nights. The design of the apartment complex is great. The kitchen had everything we needed. As we had been travelling for 3 weeks it was nice to have the opportunity to wash clothes etc.
I had two small gripes [1] pool was not heated. My husband lasted 2 mins before having to get out. I saw another guest go in for a swim. He lasted one length before getting back out. We checked with reception & they stated it was heated but were not sure to what extent. [2] The bathroom was cold & clinical with a very noisy fan.
Other than those 2 issues, we were very happy with our stay. The complex is virtually on the main street, near to all the restaurants. We loved Ze Arc of Iris. We also had lunch in VAT107 but felt it lacked atmosphere. Winos was a great location for a pre or post dinner drink + their tapas were good. We had 2 wineland lunches - at Leuwin & Voyager. Our favourite was Leuwin.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mytuppenceworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.4 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Margarets Forest
Margarets Forest
#4 of 51 in Margaret River
471 reviews
5.5 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darby Park Serviced Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby Park Serviced Residences

Address: Cnr Bussell Hwy and Tunbridge St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $120 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Darby Park Serviced Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi, Free parking.Enjoy our perfect location in the town of Margaret River, on the edge of the natural forest with walk and bike trails on our border and shops, galleries, markets and restaurants on the other side of the road. Relax in a spacious studio hotel room or a one, two or three bedroom self contained apartment. All rooms are serviced daily and are well appointed, contemporary style with either forest or pool views. Take advantage of our free Wifi, free parking, Foxtel, gorgeous heated pool and tennis court. On offer are; conference facilities, lounge bar, pantry shopping service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Darby Park Serviced Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing