We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

The Vintner's Retreat
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vintner's Retreat
Ranked #9 of 19 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited Margaret River for the Gourmet Escape food festival and stayed three nights at the Vintners Retreat. The proprietors, Hywel and Jeannie, were very welcoming, looked after us and gave us lots of tips etc for what to do and helped us organise transport to the food festival.

Room was very well made up and the breakfasts were amazing and very filling, served on a huge dining table, whch I think Hywell made.

From the B and B you can quite literally see millions of stars due to virtually no light pollution.

There is a lit way into town which takes 25mins or so or Hywell and Jeannie suppled us with a LED torch for the shortcut which took less than 15mins, which we took everynight.

If I go to MR again I wouldn't bother looking for anywhere else to stay and would definitey stay here,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Littlest_Hobo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

My partner and I wanted a base for the weekend whilst exploring from Augusta right through to Dunsborough and thought a bed and breakfast would suit our needs. Not only were Hywel and Jeannie a fountain of "local" knowledge ensuring we "maximize" our days, they made sure we started our day off with a very hearty breakfast. Our lockable bedroom was very clean and consisted of our own shower and toilet. There are 3 bedrooms which lead out into a lounge area so be prepared for some interaction with fellow travelers... so much so that you may end up sharing a glass of local wine and some local cheeses..... Parking is on site and the bed and breakfast is conveniently located a short distance from the center of Margaret River (approx. $8-$10 taxi ride away). The house is surrounded by bushland and is abound with wildlife from birds through to kangaroos. All in all, we had a lovely experience and were overwhelmed with the hosts attention to detail and enthusiasm that our stay exceeds our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itioonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had the same experience as the other review writers, a warm welcome, great suggestions on what to do, lovely breakfast. Rooms were perfect, can't think of anything else we would have wanted. Great tea selection! Good location and Hywel and Jeannie are wonderful hosts. If you are 4-6 friends/ family on holiday in the Margaret river, this would be an ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, each opens out to a patio or garden area. The photos loaded by the hosts are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had such a warm welcome from Jeannie and Hywel. The room was comfortable with a decent sized shower and a nice sitting area with fridge and foxtel tv. It was in a very quiet location with the dawn chorus the only noise to be heard. The food as previously mentioned was memorable in the portion size, certainly didn't need lunch until much much later. They were a font of knowledge of the area. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Best breakfast I've had in a hotel... made to order with anything you want. The hosts are lovely and a great resource for local tourist information. The rooms are large with all services provided. A++

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiixed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had 3 nights staying with Hywel and Jeannie and would endorse what everyone else has said. What a delightful couple who have the gift of making a stay in their home so memorable. The location of their house is quiet and perfect-an easy 15 minute walk or a short drive into town. The rooms are perfectly thought through, the breakfasts are a feast and we enjoyed the company of the other guests at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mature-traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went to visit Margaret River for 3 days for some surfing and sailing and saw this place online which was very near to surfers' point. Hywel and Jeannie greeted us when we arrived and the place was really nice. The room with an ensuite was very clean and there is a nice living area to sit and to relax. Breakfast cooked each morning was a feast and we had a wonderful time chatting and laughing with the other 2 couples who were also staying there. Hywel also gave great advise on what to do around the area. A fantastic trip in all thanks to this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Margaret River
359 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 19 in Margaret River
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#3 of 19 in Margaret River
611 reviews
2.9 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 19 in Margaret River
536 reviews
1 mi away
Karri House
Karri House
#6 of 19 in Margaret River
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintner's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintner's Retreat

Address: 25 Merlot Pl, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $119 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please be advised that we will be closing our business down as of the 26th September 2017. Please advise how to proceed forward. Kind Regards Rosemary Davies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Vintner's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing