We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover in Margaret River”

The Vintner's Retreat
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vintner's Retreat
Ranked #9 of 19 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The B&B is very comfortable and the hosts very welcoming and hospitable. The bottle of wine and cheese platter on arrival was a very welcome little touch. The breakfasts were sumptuous and one couldn't ask for better.
There was one other couple staying at the same time as us and we had no problem with noise as one other reviewer experienced.
The only down side to the experience was the shower which had very poor pressure and very slippery tiles which made us feel unsafe.
I would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to this area of WA.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie E, Owner at The Vintner's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely remarks. On the subject of the floor being slippery in the shower we provide rubber mats with suctions so you do not feel unsafe, you obviously did not use it.
As for the water pressure, yes we have he worst pressure in MR and have complained to the waterboard to no effect.
Kind Regards
Jeannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, They even organised a 10% discount at one of the wineries for lunch for us (although we unfortunately ran out of time and didnt make it as we were only there overnight). we walked into the smell of home cooking like anzac bikkies which made it feel really homely, BREAKFAST WAS HUGE!! not only was it a yummy cooked breakfast but there was cereal toast fruit salad yoghurt jams, bottomless juice and tea and coffee. hosts were really nice really lovely and helpful. Jeannie and howie took us in after an accidental issues with wrong dates booked at a previous b&b and so therefore we had no where for out next night to stay and the other B&B organised us to stay at vitners free of charge and was grateful to have jeannie and howie take us in for 1 night when normally they would be a minimum 2 night stay and were so wonderful about it. Was lovely and comfortable and we are a young couple and we enjoyed it alot. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a comfortable B&B and very pleasant hosts full of information and hospitality spirit to look after you. We enjoyed a number of nights and the challenge comes when ALL rooms are occupied (3 in total) the noise between each is annoying and difficult. Breakfast is basic and could be improved with some nice touches eg fresh Crossiant and nice bread rather than crusty old one's and what seemed to be skimping in my books to save a few pennies.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie E, Owner at The Vintner's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hello Gaslam, what a shame you say breakfast was basic,
Fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, 3 cereals, 2 eggs, 3 pieces of bacon, Hashbrown, tomato, baked beans, sausage, mushrooms, toast and conserves, tea, coffee, fruit juice. Egg done the way you reques we even do eggs benedict! we do sometimes give croissants and muffins, I can honestly say we do not scrimp breakfast a it is a joy to cook for appreciative guests.
What more can you eat!
Our guests say that they do not eat lunch as breakfast keep them going all day.
I am sorry the above was not enough for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had a great couple of day at the property , a nice clean confortable room, the hosts were exceptionally helpful and the breakfast's fantastic.They helped me with some local logistics and made me very welcome.I would go back and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Once again we have had the pleasure of staying at Vintner's Retreat and as on our previous visit we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Howie and Jeanie run a beautiful bed and breakfast with absolutely first class service. The rooms are lovely and their attention to the details that make for a memorable visit are readily evident throughout. Everything is there for the traveler; WiFi access, bottled water in the fridge, an evening cheese plate, a fine glass of Port, teas, coffees, and the most luxurious beds. The breakfast was magnificent and included fresh fruits as well as a wonderful cooked breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, toast, pancakes, warm croissants and a variety of jellies and jams, coffee and tea. If all this wasn't enough, Howie and Jeanie somehow managed to entice a local kangaroo into the garden for a friendly visit and photos!

Room Tip: There actually is no swimming pool or fitness centre, however I am quite certain that Howie would di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed here several times now, and each time has been excellent. Both Jeannie and Hywel are so friendly and helpful. We have experienced peaceful,relaxing evenings, cleanliness, excellent food and great referrals in the area. Both Jeannie and Hywel know where to go, what to see, and are simply, excellent hosts.

Room Tip: Green room is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with Jeanie and Howie for 2 relaxing nights. They were extremely welcoming and friendly hosts. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable and the furnishings throughout, very classy. Breakfast was awesome and we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day! Jeanie and Howie couldn't do enough for us and we thank them very much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Margaret River
361 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 19 in Margaret River
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#3 of 19 in Margaret River
612 reviews
2.9 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 19 in Margaret River
537 reviews
1 mi away
Karri House
Karri House
#6 of 19 in Margaret River
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintner's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintner's Retreat

Address: 25 Merlot Pl, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $120 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please be advised that we will be closing our business down as of the 26th September 2017. Please advise how to proceed forward. Kind Regards Rosemary Davies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Vintner's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing