We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stay Margaret River(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange on Farrelly(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$94
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prideau's of Margaret River(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$118
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarets Beach Resort(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$136
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Resort(Margaret River)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vintages Accommodation(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$121
$117
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Hotel(Margaret River)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
222
42
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
222
42
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush blockrammed earth cottageswalk trailseach cottagebush experiencewood firefully self containedfirst morningbird lifepots pansbreakfast packevery morninglocal birdsshort drive to margaret riversmall familysatellite tvfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 268 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I enjoyed our stay very much. My children enjoyed their stay very much. Kitchen is complete, bathroom is clean. I would recommend this place to anyone who wish to experience some quiet, aussie outback experience. We saw parrots, laughing kookabura, quokka and rabbits outside our cottage.We even spotted kangaroo in the evening and in the morning outside the porch. The manager of the cottage is friendly and very helpful.

The linen is soft, and bed is so comfortable. It feels like a hotel in the bushland.

Weak or no phone and internet signal in the cottage.If you wish to surf the internet, you can go to Settlers Tavern which is 5 min drive to Margaret River Town. You can order your meal and they will let you use their WIFI service for an hour free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieLoo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

The best experience stay, ever!!!! We like some qhere close to nature...! Thanks to the reviews here, we have made rhe right choice. We stay at Cottage 1. The back of out cottage is a big big farm, there's a lot of wild kangaroos and sheeps. The kangaroos are friendly and will drop by in the morning in front of our cottage to havibg their breakfast. The living room has a firewood place that keep the cottage warm. Very lovely stay, we sure will come back again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hueyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have stayed here on several occasions and was once again there this week. Value for money is amazing when you stay on the specials which run regularly through out the year however I have to say some bits of the cottage are starting to show wear and tear now in particular the carpet in the bedroom needs replacing.
We certainly could have done with some condiments/ kitchen essentials included. For what it costs to put some foil, tomatoe sauce etc in the cottage. We have stayed at other place that provide these. Just a little more luxury like bigger/ better towels / soaps etc even if the price goes up a little would go a long way.
Location is perfect for peace but 5 mins drive to Margaret River.
Get the feeling the owners / managers may have changed, lets hope the standards do not drop.
Will no doubt go back again but not if we notice standards dropping.

Room Tip: Choose cottages at the end 6, 7, 8 more trees and seclusion and less cars having to pass you to get to their accommodation
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianspitteler, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Let me assure you that while Gail and Mark took over as managers in October 2012, the owners are the same ones who have overseen major improvements since taking ownership in 2001. As regards the carpets, these are no more than 2-3 years old, but may have required cleaning after winter. I'm pleased to say that carpets in all cottages were steam-cleaned shortly after your most recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Newly refurvished,fantastic little cottages.nice and secluded..really loved the accomodation.Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Margaret River now we have been here.very well appointed and excellent value for money

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The only negative I could say about this place is that it could be a little bit better signposted, otherwise it's pretty fantastic. Each cottage is separately nestled into the surrounding bush and when we first pulled up there was 2 kangaroos and a joey grazing beside our cottage, which my 2 year old loved. The cottage itself is very clean and comes equipped with everything you could need for a self contained holiday except for a washing machine but they have one on site that costs $3 a load. The duvees were all very warm and considering how icy the nights were when we visited that is a very good thing! The wood heater allowed my husband to get his testosterone flowing and they put out a good amount of heat when they have been burning for a while.
We didn't see a huge amount of bird life which was a little bit disappointing but were visited daily by a ring necked parrot and two very fat bronze wing pigeons.
Bussells is located at the Cave road end of Carters but it only takes about 5 minutes to drive into Margaret River township, so you feel like you are in the middle of the bush but are actually only minutes away from a bustling little town which can fulfill most day to day needs.
Gail, the on-site manager(?) was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were in cottage one which was handy to the managers office and washing machine facilities but I think I would have preferred a cottage a bit further in as every other guest has to drive past cottage one to get to their cottages.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews