We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottages for a winter weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed with my wife and baby daughter on a wet and windy long weekend in Margaret River. Warm welcome on arrival, great cottage that was as new in fixtures and finish and a great wood stove to feel toasty in front of. This place has real bush charm with parrots and kangaroos freely roaming around the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilerneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a beautifully tranquil place to stay. Birdsong wakes you up in the morning, and the only traffic past your door is a mob of kangaroos! We stayed in a standard cottage which was perfectly in harmony with its native bush setting. It was comfortable but nothing fancy inside, and reasonable in price. Every evening we did the perimeter walk and absorbed the peace & quiet, before we lit a roaring fire. One morning we took advantage of the invitation to attend a free animal feeding session at their sister property - 'better than Rottnest!' said my daughter. We also came away with some freshly laid eggs. Bushlands feels like it's miles from anywhere, but Margaret River town centre is only 10 mins drive in one direction, with all the Caves Road wineries in the other. This is a totally peaceful destination to enjoy the best of the Australian bush, whilst keeping the attractions of Margaret River within easy reach. There is extensive information in the cottage about the best places to go in the area. This was our second stay here, and we would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in Cottage number 6 for 3 nights, was in awe of the wildlife visiting our doorstep daily especially our little possum !! Accommodation excellent for the money, only paid $117 pn, in an ideal world would have loved a bath and dishwasher, but couldn;t really fault it. Log fire was great, bed really comfy.
We complained about log choppers waking us at some ungodly hour the first morning and the owners sorted it, it never happened again.
Great walks, great location for Margaret River
Would visit again.

Room Tip: Don;t book the family cottages, must book superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Amazing. Beautiful. Cosy. Clean. Modern with a touch of character. Secluded. Bush experience. Loved the little things that make your stay that much more special: the bird feeder outside on the tree from which fed beautiful parrots and other birds, the extra bird seeds left in the kitchen, the bird poster on the wall for reference, and small candles inside the cottage. We got some great video footage of 2 large kangaroos that came right up to the cottage. Loved the place. So relaxing. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Our second visit. Planning our third here. Fantastic cottages. Location and facilities are amazing. Can't say enough about Bushland cottages. We love it here!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

A truly wonderful place to stay. Waking up to the prolific bird life that abounds and having your own trails around the area is remarkable. The cottages are well equipped with everything you would need for your stay. You have a feeling of being close to town but in the bush. The cottages are far enough apart for a feeling of privacy. Truly wonderful and we will be using them again for future stays.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Wonderful quiet location - all cottages are separate from each other so very private. Loved the wildlife at your door. Possums, kangaroos and so much bird life. Spacious, immaculate and very comfortable with everything thought of. Centred to everything so easy drive north and south. Wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
2.9 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Peppermint Brook Cottages
Peppermint Brook Cottages
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Margarets Forest
Margarets Forest
#4 of 51 in Margaret River
471 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bussells Bushland Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussells Bushland Cottages

Address: 447 Carters Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $104 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bussells Bushland Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 rammed-earth cottages are fully self-contained, with each having 2 bedrooms (see note), fully-equipped kitchen, air-conditioned living / dining room and (shared) bathroom. Cottages are randomly scattered on our 20 hectare (50 acre) bush block and we're within easy driving (5kms) distance of Margaret River township, beaches, wineries, cafes, restaurants, shops and the region's best tourist features. All cottages have been completely refurbished and we're the equivalent of a 4-star rated property (4 gumnuts in our terminology). Wi-Fi is available in all cottages and (following a great deal of effort) can now support streaming. Note: Our lead-in tariffs are for 1 or 2 persons occupying 1 bedroom. If guests wish to use the 2nd bedroom, we charge an extra bed fee in order to cover the additional costs of linen and cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bussells Bushland Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing