We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arc of Iris

Arc of Iris
Reserve with
Arc of Iris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Australian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're the quirky little gastronomic delight that has been delighting both locals and visitors for over 26 years! Our look is old and eclectic, still referencing the restaurants humble beginnings when tables,chairs,crockery and cutlery Were bought from the local op shop or donated by regulars.'Miss matched tables and chairs add to the now famous character. The focus is all on the food serving luxury cuts of free range meat with local wines, fresh seafood and Italian pasta as well as that famous duck and venison and that sought after 700g prime ribeye steak With a reputation for excellent food and welcoming service, you'll find us at the top end of the main street in Margaret River and open EVERY NIGHT from 6pm. We are Fully licensed and our great wine list is drawn from Margaret River local wineries. If you're looking for an exceptional dining experience to bring you back time and time again join us at The Arc of Iris and discover why we have been around for 26 years when so many others come and go.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slightly overrated”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Food 8.5/10
Ambiance 6/10
Service 8/10
Value 8/10

Rated as one of the best restaurants in the region on sites like this - We would say its not quite at that level. The decor is slightly odd and not consistent. But the food was quite enjoyable as others have said. Garlic prawns - only four prawns but came with a delicious creamy garlic sauce and salad. Pork belly again great - crispy crackling and succulent meat. My feedback would be that the food was slightly over zealously seasoned - it was just slightly too salty. Decent value $30-37 mains. BYO alcohol.

Verdict: Enjoyable meal, odd decor, good but not the best.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    238
    59
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely the BEST casual restaurant in Margaret River.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We frequent the area and have tried many of the restaurants here. This is one place we return to again and again. The food and service is consistently good, great menu and value for money. The seafood platter is a must-try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcrawford11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The restaurant is very small, so they do try and turn the tables over, if you book early you might feel a bit rushed. described as "funky" (not sure about this bit, it seemed a bit tired and dated in some ways, i did like the mismatched very second hand furniture) Food is terrific, really tasty and as described. Servings are generous. We saw plenty of people without a booking politely turned away, so I do suggest you book. The open kitchen might make inside a bit hot on a really hot night, but don't be put off. Great food and friendly staff. People were waiting for our table, it was their fourth visit....says it all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatung01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Swordfish”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great place, nice staff, food fantastic, really excellent, the chefs here are really talented, the only minor niggles are that the time between course was far too quick. Small town Aus seems to eat earlier than some other towns (not unusual) but we needed a longer natural pause between courses..
The swordfish was brilliant. I'd order it and eat it for eternity.
Service was lovely, thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brightredangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a 6 30 made by phone on a Saturday night just before Christmas. We have been on 3 previous occasions and really looked forward to a 4th. However, we arrived promptly at 6 30 and were greeted very rudely by the waitress who tapped her watch and said that she was expecting us at 6 15! We then wanted to confirm if it was BYO and received a very snide comment as to whoever had made the booking should have listened in the first place!! One entree of squid was very expensive for 5 small pieces of squid despite the generous heap of salad. The venison was tough , fish average and generally it has all gone seriously downhill since our last visit. We are sorry we didn't turn around after that rude greeting which really did not create a good start.
NEVER AGAIN

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localrestaurant, Owner at Arc of Iris, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
It is very disappointing that you write a revenge review for being told politely by myself that you were indeed running over 25 Minutes late.
For a small and busy restaurant this is very important, we usually have two sittings and this is mentioned when you make a booking. If you are going to be late, please let us know!
So I hope that you could take that into account when you go out for dinner next time!
Have a happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arc of Iris also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Arc of Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing