We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Arc of Iris

Arc of Iris
Reserve with
Arc of Iris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Australian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're the quirky little gastronomic delight that has been delighting both locals and visitors for over 26 years! Our look is old and eclectic, still referencing the restaurants humble beginnings when tables,chairs,crockery and cutlery Were bought from the local op shop or donated by regulars.'Miss matched tables and chairs add to the now famous character. The focus is all on the food serving luxury cuts of free range meat with local wines, fresh seafood and Italian pasta as well as that famous duck and venison and that sought after 700g prime ribeye steak With a reputation for excellent food and welcoming service, you'll find us at the top end of the main street in Margaret River and open EVERY NIGHT from 6pm. We are Fully licensed and our great wine list is drawn from Margaret River local wineries. If you're looking for an exceptional dining experience to bring you back time and time again join us at The Arc of Iris and discover why we have been around for 26 years when so many others come and go.
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Did not like the food. Found the fish very dry as I had the thin end of the fish it was crisp. Not impressed with the restaurant either.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localrestaurant, Owner at Arc of Iris, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your harsh words....I am quite disappointed to hear this after I spend a considerable amount of time with you to make sure that we cater for your special requirements regarding your allergy. I checked if everything is alright with you and that should have been your opportunity to tell us IF there was anything wrong, but you and your husband said it was all OK.
I even offered two desserts to you, but was rudely dismissed by you when you knew better than I if it was suitable for you. Come on.!!...
I wish you happy traveling and stick to the truth when writing reviews.
Kind regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    238
    59
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
2,829 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,820 helpful votes
“Friendly good local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Andrea certainly runs a very efficient restaurant.
Locals seem to love it and there is a constant stream of people coming and going.
Staff are very professional and friendly and whilst the food quality isn't innovative and doesn't rise to any spectactular levels, it still makes for a very enjoyable night.
It is expensive by east coast standards but then so is everything else in the region and western Australia.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth (Tasmania), Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It doesn't get any better than this, really.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have eaten many meals in many places and really, the Arc is as good as the best of them. We shared about four entrees and all were fresh, appetizing and beautifully presented. The venison was definitely special. The wine glasses sparkled so we were happy to pay corkage and we took the wine we really wanted..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best service and sensational food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Andrea and Staff know how to make this experience one to talk about in a relaxing setting.
Many signature dishes are on the menu with great Gluten Free options available which are delicious! The home made GF bread is also a winner of which Andrea has perfected. (My friends who are not gluten intolerant enjoy it too!)
Being a local, I love to eat there on a regular basis as you never get a bad meal. It's hard to say what is the best to choose from the menu as all starters. mains are deserts are just so tasty.
I must admit I love the squid or venison carpaccio for starters.
The Duck is a signature main that is hard to go past and I always laugh when at times the whole table order the duck!
The chef will assist where needed if a special request arises which makes the experience all the better.
Being BYO is excellenbt as you can bring the wine of choice to complement a fine dining experience. Until next weeks visit! Enjoy... Oh - Bookings highly RECOMMENDED as you may miss out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Visited for the first time tonight with some friends, had the lamb for a main which was fantastic, friends raved about the duck and pork belly, we also had a nice choc and hazelnut cake to share which was presented lovely. Such yummy food and fast service, friendly waitresses and loved the pretty lights through the restaurant, made it very relaxing. A tad pricey but the food is so worth it, will definitely be back, can't wait to try the seafood platter !

Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arc of Iris also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Arc of Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing