We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hungry”

Margaret River Hotel
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Margaret River Hotel is a local landmark... A meeting point for friends, a comfortable place to rest your head for the night, a busy restaurant and a popular drinking hole. A true local pub right in the heart of town. Step outside our front door and you will find Margaret River's vibrant selection of cafes, restaurants, bars, shops and galleries. A short stroll may take you to the weekend farmer's markets or down to the peaceful walking trails along the river. Jump in your car and within 10 minutes you will find a vast selection of world famous vineyards, stunning caves and untouched beaches to explore.
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hungry”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Limited menu for non dairy diets, would have loved to have ordered something more than fish and chips.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    230
    83
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In the words of the waitress... " a s?!$&y table"!!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sadly this place has gone down hill. We tried to have a meal last Saturday night with great frustration. Apparently you can't have a table for 4 seated on a table for 4 people. Despite asking for a outside table we were offered a inside table 3 different occasions! The waitress with 3 teeth missing and dark hair then told us our table was a "s@&$$y table" because it was close to the door! OMG on the professional image.. Real shambles!! .. Food was actually nice but spoiled by backwardness by the floor staff and poor management! Won't be back again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sutherlinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
376 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant in Margaret River town”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our hotel in Margaret River was not offering dinner so we were recommended the restaurant of the Margaret River Hotel. We were very pleased with the food, wine and service.
The restaurant seems to be successful and busy as many other hotels do not serve dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Tried to get a local brew”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I guess because they are owned by one of the large companies it restricts what you can carry in beers, but being in a beer and wine region we thought there would be more choice of local brews.

Alas, they can't rely on exactly the same every year so they don't bother.... I would love a place in town where I could try all the beers and wines I missed out on - cause there is no way you can fit all the wineries and brewhouses in one short trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked a two night stay,(SPA ROOM) Arrived on Friday afternoon we were told that we could use the car-park at the rear of the hotel which has a stairs to the rooms in the main building.
Halfway up the stairs we noticed the smell rising from the kitchen bins that were in the back yard, the first thing I noticed which I did not mention to my wife was the two cockroaches sitting on the stairs having an afternoon siesta.
We then entered the hotel through an unlocked door which lead to our room which was also unlocked.
Inside the room was dusty and unclean and had no door between the bathroom and bedroom just a glass partition where you can be seen sitting on the loo, and the smell was pretty bad in the room we were sure there was something dead in the bedroom or bathroom,
We did not stay on the Friday night but could not find alternative accommodation for Saturday night so we had no choice but to use the room,
We went out for something to eat had a few drinks and went to bed around 12.30am then almost immediately the crack started, Doors banging shouting screaming running down the corridor then the punch up that lasted for about 1 hour then calmed down for a while and started up again and lasted until dawn, were we the only survivors of a zombie invasion, Then at 9am somebody tried to get into our bedroom, it was time to go.
On checkout I mentioned the nights activity's to reception and the lady said that some of the guests had to much to drink and that was that.
So my advise is simply don't stay at this hotel

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River Hotel also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing