We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llewellin's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional Guesthouse”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We have just spent a wonderful mid week winter break at Llewellin's. James and Joanna are such wonderful hosts, so naturally friendly and warm that you immediately feel relaxed. Breakfast as everyone has said before me, is amazing. Everything about Llewellin's is first class and not forgetting of course little Lily who is one luckly little dog. Thankyou James and Joanna for making our break down South such a memorable one.
Jill and Dean

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
322
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Read the review titled "Simple the best, the very best" from April 2010. We are the Canadian couple mentioned and we think that the review very well captures the essence of Llewellin's Guest House. We were in the Verandah room which is the most modern in style and suited us perfectly. The sitting area outside one's room can be either private or shared with fellow guests; we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know our British neighbours and in most cases James and Joanna joined in, often providing snacks and drinks. The town of Margaret River is an easy drive, even at night, and it was lovely to see many kangaroos in their natural habitat. The hosts were outstanding and had many ideas for restaurants, beaches, interesting drives, wineries with great gardens, unique shops, etc. so that we felt we used our 4 days there very well. The only downside is that Llewellin's is so far away from Canada that I don't know that we will ever get back. But I do hope you do go, as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDFOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Had a wonderful experience staying in Lewellins for 2 nights in June. Joanna & James are very friendly and charming hosts and James makes exceptionally delicious breakfast. They also provide a very wide range of DVDs to keep us entertained at night as well.

Rooms are clean, beautifully furnished and ultra comfy. Full marks for them and a return visit is definitely on the cards. I just hope i will still be able to get a room there..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junhongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We spent 3 wonderful nights in Margaret River on our recent honeymoon. By far our favourite accommadtion of the whole trip. Thank you James, Joanna and Lily for being such wonderful hosts, we hope to visit again in the future. I am still raving about your breakfast James to anyone who will listen!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyandChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed there for 3 days during the last week of May with my wife. Was looking for a peaceful and quiet getaway and we got it here. Happened that we were the only ones there during the period.

Really loved the place. Peaceful and quiet. With lots of birds to accompany the sumptuous breakfast prepared by James every morning. And the home made jam is good.....

What really made the day? We told James and Joanna after the first night that the pillow is too soft for our liking, they immediately got us new firm ones by that night. They really go the extra mile to make our stay more pleasant.

Will definitely recommend anyone to this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eng98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

After we had spent 4 weeks in New Zealand staying at some superb B&B's, I had given up hope of finding anything in Australia that could even come close. Until we arrived at Llewellins. First and foremost Joanna and James are such a lovely couple, they make looking after you appear to be so easy and relaxed, that you just KNOW they work so hard to achieve this.The rooms are lovely,eveything looks as if it has been chosen with extreme care, a good mix of taste and comfort. A basket with a bottle of Margaret River wine also waits for you in your room.
On arrival you are sat down to a glass of wine and nibbles, ( I still yearn for those huge green olives!) while you meet the other guests. There are 3 rooms in a terrace ajoining the main house, and as we were travelling with friends, there was just another couple there, a Canadian couple who were also happy to sit and chat a while, do all their guests get on so well?, they must be hand-picked!!!
Breakfasts as everyone else has said was a delight, our idea of having lunch out at a couple of vineyards during our 3 day stay went straight through the window!
To add to our entertainment there is an almost tame Magpie who also waits for his breakfast, parrots,rosellas, kangaroos, but best of all their little dog Lilly. She has the perfect life.
I could go on and on about this place, but then you wouldn't have to go and find out for yourself, and you deserve a stay at Llewellins. Everybody does.
James and Joanna, thank you
Lorraine, Malcolm Stephen and Jenny x

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I could say that Llewelin's Guest House provides superior accommodation and wonderful food but that would be an injustice. Joanna's room are cleaned to a level that is palpable - you feel clean just by walking in to them. And the rooms contain every thing that you need. Nothing superfluous and everything of quality. I have been in alot of 5 star hotels that were not as welcoming. James's food is well - extraordinary. I had to force myself sometimes to have lunch. I have never had breakfasts that good.

But superior rooms and food that comes easy to Joanna and James. What they do that is special and what you wont find everywhere is geniune warmth & hospitality. Nothing faked. Nothing cliched. The breakfast session were like the best dinner parties that you have ever had . Great conversations and great food! You are made to feel like old friends.
Their local knowledge was felt to be more worthwhile because you felt you knew why Joanna & James liked this or that.

Their location is good because it is away from the bustle and late night drunks of Margaret River and on Caves Road which is the main artery for the wineries and the beaches. And you share your stay with the friendly wildlife that including the exquisite wrens and kangaroos.

I would without hesitation recommend Llewellin's Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davout47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
2.9 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
499 reviews
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
579 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llewellin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llewellin's Guest House

Property: Llewellin's Guest House
Address: 64 Yates Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llewellin's is a luxury guest house in Margaret River for adults. Ideally located 10 minutes drive between town, world class beaches, the golf course and famous wineries. Llewellin's is a romantic destination for couples, specialising in gourmet breakfasts created by our resident chef. Set in 8.5 acres of native bushland, surrounded by peppermint trees and wild life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Llewellin's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing