We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llewellin's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Possibly one of the nicest accommodation experiences I have ever had. From the initial emails and booking, through to our arrival, stay and departure, Joanna and James were gracious, kind, considerate, helpful, knowledgable and happy hosts.

These guys know how to run a B&B. The attention to detail was noticeable everywhere. The rooms were wonderful, attractive and comfortable. Bathrooms modern, clean and also care has been taken in attention to the right balance between comfort and caring for the environment, whilst also supporting local producers in where they attain thing for guests to use. The porch was comfortable and the setting wonderful, we really could have just lazed around all day and enjoyed being here. But both James and Joanna gave great suggestions and advice on places to go, things to see, where to eat, drink, swim, drive or whatever you want to do. They helped with bookings and got us an amazing table reservation for lunch one day. It is obvious these guys love what they do and are well respected within the local community. Just mention their name when you are out and about, you will see people smile and speak highly of them.

James is a master chef. His breakfasts are simply amazing. Joanna is attentive, remembers how what you like and all without being over attentive or overbearing. They really do treat you with respect and as individuals, they see and listen to what different people require... So if you want to be left alone, they will give you space. But back to breakfast... The spread was amazing. Local produce, home made jams, preserves, great quality of everything and should cover most tastes... Then you get a choice of cooked breakfasts or just sit with the wonderful fruit, toast, cereals, coffee, teas, muffins and more. Plus, James and Joanna are great conversationalists.

Both my wife and I cannot thank James and Joanna enough. We loved every aspect of our stay and your beds are so comfortable. James, thank you for the cheese and tasting plates, plus all your cooking. Joanna, thank you for all your help and hard work. Keep up the great work and I hope you continue to be happy and successful for many years it come.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tigerstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
312
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My sister and I visited Margaret River for five nights at Llewellin's and could not have had a better stay. James and Joanna (and their friends) are lovely people and extremely gracious hosts. Lily is an excellent guard dog and made sure that no rabbits interfered with our lounging on the guest house porch.
The guest house porch was lovely. It was a tough call deciding whether to linger on the porch all day with wine, birds and wildlife or to visit all the beautiful sights in the Margaret River region. We were treated to excellent wine, fantastic food and the best breakfasts that could be imagined.
We were also lucky enough to go on a wine tour with James. His knowledge of the area, local vintners and wine is comprehensive. His tour is extremely good value. In fact, all of James' and Joanna's recommendations for food, wine and entertainment were excellent. If I am lucky enough to return to Margaret River, I wouldn't think of staying anyplace but Llewellin's. Thank you so much, Joanna and James!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darah12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed with Joanna, James and Lily for 4 nights while we toured the Margaret River area. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our hosts, their property, their cooking, and their hospitality. We took advantage of James' terrific vineyard tour where we were treated to wonderful, personal visits to 6 different, off-the-beaten-path, wineries, as well as a spin through a lovely olive oil, soap and gourmet shop. Every morning it was impossible not to overeat - the breakfast was so outstanding I just decided to front load all my calories for the day! Additionally, in the evening, Joanna and James were kind enough to host us for lovely nibbles prepared at the spur of the moment and when we were feeling incredibly lazy, James put together the most amazing cheese plate for dinner! Regardess of our request, Joanna and James had wonderful suggestions - from a route for me to try for a jog, to a restaurant to try in town and on the beach or even further abroad, and for activities we might enjoy both North and South of Margaret River.

The rooms were immaculate and perfectly appointed, the grounds were beautiful and the native flora and fauna (including the darling blue fairy wren and a friendly blue-tongued lizard) were easy to enjoy and appreciate. I am almost afraid to tell everyone how great their B&B is for fear we may never be able to get another reservation. I miss our time with them.

Room Tip: It does not matter which room you are in - you will have a wonderful visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our first time in Perth, Margaret River on our honeymoon trip and we stayed at Llewellin's. Their place was lovely and comfortable. The tranquility of the verandah was just beautiful. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a bottle of wine by James and Joanne when we arrived. We were hosted by them for 2 nights and they just spoilt us with their attentiveness and excellent service. I must say they became more like a close friend to everyone than a host. With James and Joanne, being a good chef and a good host, definitely made us want to even live in Margaret River. Llewellin's will give anyone who stays there, not just a beautiful experience with 5 star service but also the best impression of Margaret River! Wait for us to come back with more friends ya! Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed three nights with Joanna and James and started our trip thru WA here.
It was just the perfect start !!!
The rooms are clean and lovely decorated - all of them have seperate entrance at the veranda with a view to the garden.
The breakfast is 6 out of 5 stars - haven"t had any better breaky.
Juice and fruit salad, diffent choices of excellent bread, and ... a fully cooked breakfast from a real chef! Hard to describe different than "perfect"!
Joanna and James are full of hospitality - from the welcome drink to the evening port, from support at the BBQ to great cooking tipps :-)
If you have a chance to stay in one of their three rooms - just take it !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_OZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Lewellins Spa room for two nights for our anniversary and it was just beautiful. I actually wish we had booked a longer stay.
Jo and James are fantastic hosts and have thought of all the little things to make your stay special. The rooms are gorgeous and the beds are so comfortable.
We were offered a drink and nibbles on arrival which was so nice after our drive down from Perth. Jo showed us around the house and our room. We were given a welcome basket with a bottle of wine, there were fresh flowers in the room with a beautiful candle burning and they have put together a guest book providing you with menus and info on local restaurants and things to do.
The breakfast was amazing, my husband and I are big breakfast fans and go out every week to beautiful cafes in Perth and James' cooking is seriously up there with the best!
We have decided this is our new favourite and will be returning (hopefully soon)
Do yourself a favour and book early!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this refreshing B/B in Sept/2012. Our hosts Joanna and James made us feel so welcome in their little bit of Paradise. The breakfasts were specific to each individual choice with the most delicious muffins! The property is interesting with many native colorful birds in the bush. Traveling from here was central to the touring we wanted to do. We highly recommend this B/B if you need some pampering! James also does Tours of the Wineries. Great hosts.

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed to be lovely, some slightly larger. It is a very quiet neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel
Edge of the Forest Motel
#3 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llewellin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llewellin's Guest House

Property: Llewellin's Guest House
Address: 64 Yates Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llewellin's is a luxury guest house in Margaret River for adults. Ideally located 10 minutes drive between town, world class beaches, the golf course and famous wineries. Llewellin's is a romantic destination for couples, specialising in gourmet breakfasts created by our resident chef. Set in 8.5 acres of native bushland, surrounded by peppermint trees and wild life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Llewellin's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing