We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaret River Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at a few B&Bs in Margaret River in the past couple of years and I would have to rate this as the pick. While most B&Bs have pleasant and helpful owners who choose hospitality as their life, there's a fine balance being intrusive and helpful. Dirk is helpful. I think the standard of the rooms sets Loaring Place above the rest. They are more spacious and well appointed. I'm over the quaint Laura Ashley country look! These rooms are muted, tasteful and contemporary and the bathroom facilities are excellent - easily a good 4.5 star hotel standard. The common areas are lovely - a quibble, it would have been nice to have the fire going in mid-winter for ambience and to invite you into the main room. I will most definitely be back, this place takes sleep comfort very seriously - great beds, linen and a mattress topper. Like sleeping at home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRiverBnB, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thanks for your great review. It is much appreciated.
The gas/log fire is fairly easy to light yourself and we agree it does add an lovely ambiance to the lounge room when it is on. We also have an R/C airconditioner which does a better job at warming the whole room.
When you return I will show you where the instructions are and you can warm yourself in front of it as much as you like.
Best Regards,
Dirk and Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    84
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
331
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Loaring Place over the weekend as it was my wife's birthday. Dirk and Pam are lovely people and are great hosts. Their dog Bella is adorable and greeted us when we arrived. The rooms are very clean and well appointed and in particular I thought the bathroom/toilet/spa were spotless. Dirk provided us with great tips after asking what we were looking to do...we even did some bush walking which was awesome. The breakfast was really nice and Pam made a birthday cake for my wife so thank you again as it was yummy!!
Can't go wrong with Loaring Place so a big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed there in late January 2013 over a couple of nights. The rooms are comfortable, and the bathroom with the spa is lovely. The hosts are extremely welcoming, and the owner, Dirk, is extremely knowledgeable about the local wineries and sights. Definitely listen to Dirk's recommendations -- he didn't steer us wrong. He's also a pretty great breakfast cook. Loaring is in a prime position to act as a base whilst you explore the Margaret River Region.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We've just landed home in Sydney after having spent a blissful two days at Loaring Place. This is the perfect place for a getaway...surrounded by native bushland but only a few minutes drive from the town centre of Margaret River. We chose this B & B from the photos on their website and then were pleasantly surprised to find the accommodation, service and atmosphere exceeded our expectations. Our room was large and clean and looked out across the lawn to the bushland beyond. The bed was so comfy! The guest lounge was warm and well provisioned. The cupcakes with afternoon tea were scrummy! Breakfast was plentiful and the eggs benedict were greatly appreciated. Dirk and Pam gave us good tips for bush walks in the area and otherwise left us to do our thing...just the way we like it. A definite recommend from us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PipR34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRiverBnB, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks PipR34. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Pam & Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Enjoyed a three-night stay at Loaring Place B&B in early July 2013. The B&B is surrounded by lots of thick bushland and tall trees, in a quiet side-road off Caves Road, close to the Wallcliffe Road junction - too far to walk in to Margaret River but only a five minute drive, which suited us. The room we had was clean and nicely appointed and the spa bath was a nice feature. Breakfast provided a good start to the day and our hosts were able to provide useful suggestions to us and other guests on how best to spend time in the area. We appreciated the hospitality of Dirk, Pam and Belle (the dog) and are happy to recommend Loaring Place B&B to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marksj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRiverBnB, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Marksjo1, Thanks for your recommendations. Pam & Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very snug and well situated B&B only a couple of minutes from the entre of Margaret River yet quiet and peaceful. The owners were very friendly and had great tips about what to see and do locally which really added to us having a great weekend. Brekkie was very good in the large and beautifully appointed living area overlooking the bush. Spotless bathroom with hot tub (+champagne glasses), two basins and a towel warmer! We'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Realgurl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRiverBnB, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Realgurl56, we appreciate the review that you have given. Pam & Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Of course the room and amenities were top class, it's a 4.5 star B & B! However, the water was not hot enough - did not have to use the cold at all. And I don't like having dogs walking around the room I am going to sleep in or come to the table while I am eating. I don't hate dogs or anything, but strange dogs I don't welcome being so over friendly. Also, Eggs Benedict has simple but delicious sauce over it. I ordered Eggs Benedict cos I love'm. What I got was poached eggs on ham (with toast base), but no hollandaise!! Sort of made a plain breakfast. Yes, it's picky, but this was a big treat for us for two nights and so ... ... ... Dirk was most helpful, pointing out places to see in the area etc., however Pam, whilst very kind and helpful, seemed a bit frazzled getting breakfast for 8 people??

The room was a good size and the spa worked well and was enjoyed. The gardens are lovely and natural. Would I recommend it? Not if you don't like barking little dogs and are picky about your Eggs Benedict!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mauraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRiverBnB, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We apologise that some things were not perfect. We had a problem with water pressure that resulted in insufficient hot water. That has been fixed. Bella our labradoodle does sometimes follow us into the rooms and into the lounge. We are working on training her to keep out of the rooms.
We make our own hollandaise sauce with eggs from our own hens and tarragon vinegar with tarragon from our herb garden. We are sorry it got missed being drizzled on your poached eggs. That is very unusual as it was there ready warmed up. We would have given your poached eggs a good dollop if you had mentioned it was missing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 21 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 21 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Bed & Breakfast

Property: Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Loaring Pl, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia (Formerly Loaring Place B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Margaret River Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 Star guesthouse set in beautiful gardens and forest centrally located 5 minutes from town. Four luxurious queen suites, private courtyards, peaceful forest outlook each with large en-suite, double spa-bath, large separate shower, separate toilet, spacious common lounge/dining room with gas log fire and an alfresco area secluded in 9 acres of pristine forest. TV, free WiFi and all modern facilities. Experience our gourmet Australian breakfasts with freshly home-made bread and muffins. Central to restaurants, magnificent coastal scenery with beaches for swimming or surfing, vineyards, breweries, golf, caves, chocolate, cheese, nougat, olive oil, fudge, candy cow and many other attractions all close by. Escape, indulge and relax. Call or email for specials and longer stays or use our Book Now button for instant confirmation. Take a Margaret River Nature Tour for an all day excursion to see the most scenic locations in the region with the rocks, soils and plants explained, visit some wineries etc and enjoy a scrumptious lunch and afternoon tea in a forest of giants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Margaret River Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loaring Place Bed And Breakfast
Loaring Place Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing