We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were in the company of a very patient and learned friend”

The Road Less Travelled Wine Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Road Less Travelled offers the most insightful,professional and personal wine touring experience in the Margaret River region and wider SW of Western Australia. Owner/Host Dennis Mifsud is a long time resident is chef winemaker that has knowledge and practical experience to assist in your understanding of style and quality no matter what your taste and knowledge level. Relaxed and informative with access to the best wines and producers, ensures a day to remember.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
262 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“We were in the company of a very patient and learned friend”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had an absolutely great day out. There is only so much I want to tell you as I believe that each tour will be tailored to your own tastes and preferences. We started at Cape Mentelle which is handy for Margaret River and was the first chance we had to speak to Dennis about our wine and food preferences. This gave him the necessary yardstick to begin to set the agenda for our day.
And what a super time. We just let Dennis do all the work, the driving, some of the talking (!) and pick places for us to slurp and eat. We did eight wineries, had a fantastic lunch, looked at the coast and felt like we were in the company of a very patient and learned friend. I say patient as we are from the school of ‘we know what we like and expect you to be psychic’ drinkers – he did a great job.
Yes a bit expensive but because it is private we went at our own pace instead of that of a group and so achieved much more. We chose to take the tour on our first day in the area and it has imbued us with great confidence and lots of information which will allow us to enjoy the rest of our stay in the amazing Cape all the more.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a day!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Thank you Dennis for a fantastic day, showing us around the Margaret River wineries. Dennis' personalised tour was a highlight of our trip to the Margaret River region. He tailored the day for us, and we couldn't have wanted for anything more. The fantastic lunch he organised at Hay Shed Hill was a highlight, as well as visiting the wineries that weren't located on the tourism map. All in all, an amazing day!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day Out”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Thank you again Denis for such an amazing day of wine tasting. When planning our trip down to Margaret River for the first time, we really wanted an expert with incredible food and wine knowledge to show us around. Denis is exactly that man! The day was filled with incredible wineries both from the small producers to the big guns (all of whom Denis knows personally) and the most delicious lunch EVER and finally capped off with a amazing view of the ocean. This guy really knows his stuff- well enough so to plan you the most incredible day completely tailored to your likes and tastes. It really is worth investing in someone who specializes in wine and food... This is an absolute must for all you foodies and winos :)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The ultimate Margaret River wine experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is the best wine tour I have ever done. If you are looking for a personilsed and unique experience Dennis is your man. Dennis took my wife and I on an incredible day out. We tasted some great wine, ate fantastic food and learned a lot about the wines and wine makers of the region. Dennis is not just some one to drive you around, he is very imformative, resouceful and a good bloke to go with it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're serious about your wine then this is a must do tour”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I love our wine. During our trip to the wine captial of WA we wanted to go on a wine tour that was not the ordinary run of the mill tour, and we can guarantee that there is nothing ordinary about this tour. The small numbers allows for more personal service during the tour and also at all the wineries visited. Small numbers also allows time to vist more places and the freedom to choose where you would like to go. Our tour guide, Dennis, is a local of many years and has extensive knowledge of wine, food and all of the best places to go. If you are a wine lover and want to explore the best that Margaret River has to offer then this tour is for you. Do yourself a favour, you wont be dissapointed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Road Less Travelled Wine Tours also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing