We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment and Education”

Eagles Heritage Wildlife Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertainment and Education”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a wonderful experience for all ages. View many, many species of Australian raptors while contributing to extremely important wildlife preservation work. The large enclosures allow visitors to appreciate the majesty of these birds and the twice daily flight sessions highlight the aerial skills. Having four Black Kites flying and swooping above and around you, picking morsels of meat out of the air was particularly thrilling.
The 'handler' was obviously very passionate about his calling and communicated this to everyone present. He took time to answer every question posed and gave everyone (not just a chosen few) the opportunity to get up 'close and personal' with a raptor. His talk was peppered with interesting and unusual facts and he gave us insight into how our actions around the home effect the health and survival of these fascinating creatures.
The entrance, cafe and toilet facilities are modest and this is how it should be as the very reasonable entry fee is channeled into saving, rehabilitating and breeding raptors for release back into the wild. The Eagles Heritage Wildlife Centre believes it can have it's biggest impact via education and delivers this with integrity, passion and humour. Our group was approximately 25 people strong and ranged from very small toddlers to obvious grandparents - every one of us learned something new and were captivated by the birds on display.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Damahu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    13
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

LOVED this 'attraction' - a rehab centre for raptors, the free flight sessions at 11am and 1pm are engaging and educational. Please make a donation on the way out to support the work that is being done to save our endangered eagles, owls and other birds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trinnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

There is no elaborate entrance here, but you would rather the modest entry fee be utilised for care of the animals. It is a 1km walk around the property to view all the birds on display, and the cages are surrounded by natural bushland setting. The wedge tailed eagle is very majestic and the boobook owls in particular were very cute. We watched the flying display and were lucky enough to be able to hold Ivy the Barn Owl on the glove...a definite highlight. There was a group of 60 school kids present at our presentation and 20 out of the 60 were given the chance to hold Ivy. Phil gives a very informative and interesting about the birds during the display. Quite amazing to watch the black kites swooping for food during the flying display. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Eagles Heritage Wildlife Centre surprised us with a variety of eagles and owls that we could see up close. The highlight was donning a glove and having an owl sit on our arm. We learnt a lot about owls and eagles that we were unaware of before. We loved this visit,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to support the work they are doing!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

It has been a few years since we have visited Eagles Heritage and we must admit that it appears that not a lot has been done to the physical aspects of the Wildlife Centre since then. However the birds appear to be well-looked after (I noted the dishes of very clean water in the enclosures) and we wanted to support the work of the Centre. It is a non-profit organisation. and the admission costs are reasonable.
http ://www.eaglesheritage.com.au/about.html.
The displays at 11am and 1.30pm are well-presented. The barn owl with the option of having this magnificent bird sit on your arm for a closer view and then the flying black kites having some exercise and food were the highlights.
We believe anything to educate the public about the much maligned Wedged Tail Eagle truly needs supporting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank laced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagles Heritage Wildlife Centre also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Eagles Heritage Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing