We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple good family accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppermint Brook Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Peppermint Brook Cottages over the Xmas -New Year week. We were a large family group staying in several cottages. The cottages are simple but well equipped and can easily accommodate a family group of 5 or 6 for a short stay. The beds are very comfortable and the linen and towels were of surprisingly high quality. While not large the bedrooms and the beds are actually a lot better than the photos show. The grounds have lovely large lawn areas that the kids can run around on and explore. We liked the central communal bbq and tramopline. The central location is great, with an easy short walk into the centre of town. There is a good little info kit in each cottage and the owner was unobtrusive but happy to help out with queries. It is not flash but this is simple affordable accommodation done well. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We seek to provide comfortable, affordable, accommodation and it seems that we're on the right track. There's more to be done of course and we'll keep working at it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 124 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Xmas break and had a fantastic family holiday. We were pleasantly surprised with the location, the cottages and the free bottle of wine on check in!
The cottage itself was great and immaculately clean.
The cottage was very well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was so well equipped we were able to make a full Xmas dinner for 6 people. The location was excellent, very close to town and with basketball court and trampoline for kids along with a communal BBQ and lots of wildlife. We would recommend a stay here to all our family and friends. Thanks for a fantastic Xmas break

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for your apt description of the property's charms. Peppermint Brook Cottages has been the property of choice for our daughter and family for many years...as the children are able to make friends and play (safely) on the lawns. We will continue to make changes to the fit-out as cash flow permits, so you will see further improvements when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Reasonably close to town, very green and pretty. Cottages have two rooms that can sleep up to six people and a small kitchen. Nice and quite well priced.. Chickens and ducks roaming around :) , even seen a little rabbit. Very relaxing

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymor72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We've just replaced window treatments throughout the cottages and will undertake further improvements later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in off season and were very happy with the price for a two bedroom apartment with two queen sized beds and a bunk bed. The linen was clean and of very high quality and the beds were super comfortable.

Kitchen and bathroom facilities were basic but clean and contained everything we needed. The couch was comfortable the place was very homely. Floors could have done with a wash.

It was a short walk to the town centre.

Overall we were very happy and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Since you stayed, we've had the carpets professionally cleaned and have also replaced window treatments throughout the cottages,. It;s also our intention to replace some of the living room furniture in the near future. Our objective is to continually improve comfort levels whilst retaining affordability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was disappointed with the cleanlyness and the size of the accommodation. The appliances were very small. Ok for a couple, wouldn't want to have anymore than that staying. Overall bit worth the money and would t come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I'm sorry you were unhappy with aspects of your stay. Peppermint Brook Cottages is at the affordable end of accommodation in Margaret River and we do what we can to limit expectations. That said, we have a very high repeat factor and our customer satisfaction rating, from 256 completed questionnaires, is currently running at 8.82.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for one night and was very pleasantly surprised. We arrived back from a full day wine tour, and some lovely little fairy had put the heating on as well as left a big bag of firewood, kindling, newspaper and matches for a fire.
Surprisingly comfortable beds and enough equipment to self-cater nicely for a couple of days. A 5-10 minute walk and you are smack in the middle of Margaret River, particularly useful if you want to pop into the gorgeous Settler's Tavern for dinner and a drink. Would certainly stay here again as nowhere else offers anything close in value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We're at the affordable end of Margaret River accommodation and try to give value-for-money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights but extended to 5.
For $110 per night we had a reasonable sized 2 bedroom unit (3 queen size beds!) with a FULL kitchen, comfortable lounge & beds, good quality linen, toiletries supplied and as an extra bonus, breakfast goodies (cereal, toast, spreads, tea & coffee, juice) for a day or 2 supplied. The cottage is modern, clean and nicely decorated. Great shower, loads of hot water, good water pressure. LCD tv, DVD player, reverse cycle aircon, outside bbq and even our own fire pit should we desire.
Free laundry facilities, ample car parking right next to our cottage, chooks and birds in the morning.......
You could comfortably stay here with a couple of children or even 2 couples; any more than 4 people I think would be a stretch.
Really the ONLY thing that could have made my stay nicer would have been a bigger tv and maybe foxtel, but for $110 per night, this place is a bargain without those things.
The cottages are all free standing and a reasonable distance away from each other to allow sound not to travel when inside, but close enough so if they are all full, there's not much privacy outside. They are all encircling a lawn/bbq area with big pine trees and each have their own verandah with chairs and table outside for outdoor dinning.
ALSO of note, the location. This is about a 10 minute easy walk to town - splendid really. I initially though it was a bit far, but saw some of the other cottages on the main road and realised how noisy they would be in comparison.
Peppermint Brook cottages was far enough away to be quiet and close enough to walk to town.
We had uninterrupted sleep 5 nights straight, but walked to town each day - what more could you want?
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 7, but they all looked pretty similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_David_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Our intention with Peppermint Brook Cottages is to provide affordable, comfortable, accommodation and your comments appear to be acknowledging that we're on the right track. It's a cosy property which offers comfort and convenience and that's probably why our repeat factor is so strong. Thank you for taking the time to show your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.2 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darby Park Serviced Residences
Darby Park Serviced Residences
#14 of 51 in Margaret River
438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Bussells Bushland Cottages
#3 of 51 in Margaret River
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppermint Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermint Brook Cottages

Address: 12 Mann St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $96 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppermint Brook Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 cottages spread around a lawned area. Each has 2 bedrooms (guests can choose to pay for 1 or both), a bathroom, air-conditioned living room, fully-equipped kitchen, verandah and BBQ; and there are cosy doonas and electric blankets for winter. It's just a 5 minute stroll to Margaret River's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants; and the same to the Visitors' Centre. Wi-Fi is available free-of-charge. Guests staying 2+ nights will be provided with a free bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Peppermint Brook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing