We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Excellent family fun. Very comfy cottages-spa bath was a hit with my wife too. Great friendly animals and welcoming hosts made our trip very memorable. Our son loved feeding the farm animals in the mornings. Cant wait to return. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

And we can't wait to have you return. It's our mantra, keep the children happy and the parents will be happy, also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 291 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

spent 4 nights here with our 15 month old daughter and we had a great stay. the cottage (cottage 1 - standard 2 bedroom) and bathroom were clean and well-maintained, and kitchen had everything needed for self catering.
vinnie was a warm host and we enjoyed the animal feeding sessions. we loved how the animals could wander freely during the day ... my daughter enjoyed the wide open space on the farm and chasing after the chickens/ducks, sheep and alpacas. the two dogs dexter and roxy were very friendly and my daughter loved them.
location was also good - it's a quick drive to the margaret river town and also colonial brewery which has a large kids playground.
they just got wifi installed and we can access it from the cottages, so that was good for us too.
we will visit again the next time we holiday in perth.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank redpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for providing such a generous appraisal Faith. Yes, we're pleased to advise that Wi-Fi is now available from the cottages. We hope, however, that guests won't spend too much time using it but that they will, rather, get out and about. Margaret River has SO much to offer and it would be a shame to waste time on social networking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were all pleasantly surprised by the accommodation on offer. The kids absolutely loved the space they had to run around in, feeding the animals and the friendly peacock and dog.
I will definitely be recommending this place to others. With a bunch of tired cyclists staying with us it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We were delighted to see so many cycles around the property and look forward to having more visit us for ensuing competitions. Ours is a wonderful venue for relaxation after a heavy day of peddle-pushing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay ,with another couple, was all perfect. We just wanted to be at home amongst the tall trees and pastured paddocks. To have such a variety of animals roaming around made for a delightful experience. It is the first time I have ever put my right arm around a tame emu and , with our heads touching, taken a photo with my left hand. The morning feeding time was a highlight. Vinnie is such a "pied piper" with all the animals. .We stayed for 4 nights which gave us time to explore the town of Margaret River and visit a friend in Augusta. Our 2 bedroom accommodation was modern , clean and comfortable . In all, a very welcoming farmstay. Thank you Lisa and Vinnie.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

It's terrific to hear from couples who have enjoyed their stay, in addition to the numerous families who return again and again. Like you, we enjoy the eclectic "gaggle" of animals, particularly during feeding times when the joy of the children is delightful to see. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

2 kilometers from Margaret river, it is a beautiful place to stay. the cottages are well designed with a nice layout. there are in a middle of a park with a huge variety of animals roaming around. it gives a very peaceful atmosphere.
the animal feeding tour in the morning is very interesting and the kids just loved it. we stayed 2 nights there, the kids didn't want to leave the place, they were so happy taking care of the animals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Correzegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Our simple philosophy is to ensure that the children are happy as, if this is the case, the parents can be happy, also. It reminds of the young mum who said her daughter had said "she wanted to be a chicken, so she could stay here forever." Thank you for your kind comments and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just a short 5 min drive from the centre of Margaret River, Hideaway has everything you could ask for. Chickens, Murray the calf, ducks, sheep, cows, emus, peacocks.... And Dexter the dog.

Our son (2 1/2) adored the farm, and farmer Vinnie makes it a truly magical place.

The farm is well positioned and we were comfortable letting our son roam around investigating. The animals are very used to visitors.

We stayed in the studio, which was ok. Certainly not one of the nice new villas, but clean and comfortable. It was particularly cold while we stayed, so showering had to be done in double time.

There is an awesome brewery just up the road too with great beers, food and a playground for the little ones, and lots of wineries within a few minutes drive.

Looking forward to our next trip already.

Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

It's very pleasing to hear comments such as yours, particularly in relation to our managers. Vinnie is extremely fond of our animals, particularly Murray (the bull) who follows him around like a pet. We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from two days at this beautiful place. Lovely near new 2 brm cottage overlooking the paddock that contained the emus! Very serene environment with a huge variety of animals in a very guest friendly environment. Lisa and Vinnie are excellent hosts - nothing is too much trouble. Our beautiful dog thought she was in heaven making several new friends - I haven't the heart to tell her the sheep and cows weren't funny looking dogs but she'll get there! We will be back for sure. Pete and Jen and Soxy

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Poor Soxy won't know whether to moo, baa or bark. Since you visited, we've had several new lambs born and I'm told there are several more on the way. Obviously, the ram has been doing his job properly. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
705 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
2.7 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sunflowers Animal Farm and Farmstay
Sunflowers Animal Farm and Farms...
#10 of 51 in Margaret River
193 reviews
3.1 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
676 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Bussells Bushland Cottages
#4 of 51 in Margaret River
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay

Address: 225 Osmington Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $139 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a "funny" farm, with an eclectic array of animals roaming around the property. Our accommodation comprises of:- 2 X 2 bedroom (1 bathroom) cottages 1 X 3 bedroom (1 bathroom) cottage 2 X Superior 2 bedroom (1 bathroom) Studios 2 X Superior 2 bedroom (1 bathroom) cottages 2 X Superior 3 bedroom (2 bathroom) cottages For guests, we have free animal feeding every Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday & Thursday. Our objective is to make the kids happy, thereby ensuring that the adults are happy! And we can accommodate well-mannered dogs, without charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay Hotel Margaret River
Margaret River Hideaway And Farmstay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing