We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
Nearby Hotels
Riverview Tourist Park(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grange on Farrelly(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$123
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$109
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarets Beach Resort(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$178
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stay Margaret River(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$114
$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Trail Lodge(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
$250
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarets Forest(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
251
49
4
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
49
4
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimal feedingfarm animalsfarm stayfeeding sessionssuperior cottagethe cottagesfree roaming animalscolonial breweryhighland cattlefarm managerloved the animalsguinea fowlfresh eggs for breakfastfriendly animalsstayed nightsworking farmrun around
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 312 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in January. Found the place very clean with all the mod cons we needed. Well located in forest land surrounded with sheep, peacocks, apacacs and even emus. Margaret River located 10 min drive from accomodation but our wine tour bus picked us up from front door. BBQ facilities and full kitchen allowed us to literally hideaway from all the bustle of the town but still be close enough to enjoy the numerous bars and shops of Margaret River. New management made our stay most memorable and I only wish our stay was longer.

Room Tip: Varoius cottages had various sizes. Give yourselves a treat and go big as all are laid out in aussie open plan. Some have a fold up bed if you need it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightyearely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianspitteler, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, particularly with regard to new managers, Vinnie and Lisa, who took over in mid-December 2012. They and their 4 girls have settled in well and have added another dimension to this family-friendly farm stay property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having stayed in farm stays in other countries before, have to say this is a really clean and easily accessible farm retreat. It was better than what i had expected. The family including our two children looked the animals and the morning feeding sessions with all the animals. A wonderful location in a wonderful region especially in the period we stayed in mid November 2012.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom apartment we stayed in was perfect.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Found the place clean, pleasant, friendly and cosy, is better than the picture. Wished the holiday was longer, felt very welcome and Julian has been a great host.

My children love the animals especially feeding them.

Stayed from 6-8 Nov 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very unprofessional. Dishonest. Extremely poor customer service.

AFTER having booked a room with Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, I received a call from them advising me that they would NOT be able to honour the booked cottage at the price listed on THEIR internet website - and the price and days confirmed when making the booking. I was to pay an additional $70 per night.

Needless to say, I was disappointed and canceled my booking. Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay did not seem bothered or concerned by this in the least.

After experiencing Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay's "hospitality" and still somewhat perplexed by their unusual style of business, I can not recommend this farmstay to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Trisha D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianspitteler, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

I'm sorry that you were unhappy, however it seems the manager responded to a "glitch" within the booking system (this being a very rare event). There was no dishonesty involved, however I can understand your discontent at being asked to pay what was, in fact, the correct tariff. As to hospitality, our property is a farm stay and we do our best to keep guests engaged, whilst never imposing on their privacy. Fortunately, the vast majority of our guests appear to enjoy their time with us and our Guest Books are filled with complimentary comments. We can always do better, of course and new managers, Vinnie and Lisa, are determined to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the hideaway at the beginning of September, our family of 6 ( 3 children aged 5, 3 and a baby) booked a two bedroom cottage.

My children loved the cottage, the fire helped keep us warm during the rather cold spring nights. Animal feeding was great fun, my daughter loved the sheep and alpacas as well as carrying the chicks.

The cottage is well maintained with everything you need. Julian thoughtfully provided a travel crib for our baby as well as an extra rollaway bed. The breakfast starter pack was a welcome seeing as we arrived close to 4am.

Julian is a man of few words but he was lovely with the children and made us feel very welcomed. My children keep talking about the cottage and the property so we definitely have to make another trip back. Thanks for a fantastic family holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_familyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews