We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just Perfect"”
Review of River'esque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River'esque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a great way to spend our 25th wedding anniversary. River'ësque is just a lovely, magical place to stay. Di and Rob have covered everything, all the little touches - flowers, candles, music, incense, goodies in the fridge and pantry. I didn't want to leave. LOVED IT!!!!

Phil&Geraldine
Madora Bay

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We escaped to River'esque for a weekend getaway to relax and unwind. River'esque is such a beautiful place to stay. It's a self-contained 2 story apartment nestled in tranquil bushland near a winding river, but still only a 5min drive from the main shopping strip in MR! While it was only the 2 of us, this apartment caters for 2 couples, with a large bedroom on the ground floor (to the right when you enter), and another, ensuited bedroom upstairs. The second/main bathroom is on the ground floor which has a huge, luxurious spa, shower and toilet, and opens up to a private, heated, outdoor shower! The outdoor shower is screened by high walls and bamboo grass, which provide plenty of privacy. Also on the ground floor is a spacious, fully equipped kitchen, dining room and lounge, which includes a flat screen TV, DVD player and CD player. There are DVDs provided, as well as board games and CDs. Plenty of room for 4 adults.
The best part during our stay was the huge balcony which is furnished with 2 large daybeds, a small table, and a BBQ. We spent our mornings and evenings on the balcony, relaxing and listening to the beautiful bird calls. Althought the apartment is right in MR, it doesn't feel like it! All you can hear is nature - no traffic or people. There's even a small trail leading down to the river, with a bench if you want to stop a while.
The apartment is beautifully decorated with Balianese artifacts and furnishings, including gorgeous, rustic doors opening into the spa bathroom on the lower level, and in to the ensuite on the second level. Incense, fresh flowers and candles are scattered throughout the house, providing gorgeous finishing touches. When we arrived there was even beautiful Baianese music playing softy. So much care and pride is taken with this apartment! Everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchen has everything you could want for staying in for dinner/lunch, including plenty of serving platters. We were provided with fresh fruit, bread, milk, eggs and condiments. There were even heart-shaped chocolates on the bed pillows when we arrived!
Di is so lovely. She stopped by on our first night to show us around, and how to use the heater and various bits and pieces. We didn't meet Rob, but he and Di live a couple of houses away (you could make out the roof from upstairs), and their daughter Amber and her family are "next door", although you don't feel like anyone's close.
All in all this was a perfect place to stay when visiting the MR region. We cannot recommend River'esque enough! We'll definitely be staying here on our next visit!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NatandMarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Riveresque is a blissful Balinese Chalet 5 mins from the township of Margaret River.
We were welcomed by the owner Di who had just arrived from Bali the night before.
We walked into a beautiful chalet with Buddhas welcoming us everywhere we looked! There was Indonesian music playing quietly in the background...it gave us the sense that we were in Ubud again.
The chalet is very spacious and on 2 levels. It has a large balcony with day beds and a BBQ It is the perfect place for relaxing and listening to nature!There is a gas fire and heaters as well
Everywhere I looked there were fresh flowers, incense and candles.
There were 2 large bedrooms one with an ensuite and a 4 poster bed in the upstairs bedroom.All the beds had beautiful linen and in the wardrobes there are robes to wear on a chilly day or sarongs for summer.
The large balcony overlooks the bush and the beautiful trees surround the balcony giving you privacy .There a walking track which leads to the beautiful Margaret River.
The bathroom is large and has a large spa which overlloks the bush and there is also an outdoor shower which would be gorgeous in summer
I cannot emphasise enough in words how truly special this place is!
The owners Di and Rob had thought of everything that you would need including beautiful local produce such as strawberrys and divine Margaret River yoghurt and homemade muesli!
If you are going to Margaret River and want to unwind ,relax and love Bali and nature this place is absolutely the place to stay.
We hope to get back there one day soon 3 nights was not enough! stay for a week if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I spent a romantic three days at Riveresque with my girlfriend. The owners are lovely and very welcoming. The chalet itself is in a very private location in a bush setting, with a superb balcony overlooking the trees. It is a very big chalet, and would suit two couples comfortably (two bedrooms and bathrooms). It is very close to Margaret River for restaurants, but it has full kitchen if you want to cook for yourself. The owners provide some lovely food to make your own breakfast. There are great walking tracks nearby, which take you through the beautiful forest location. The Balinese style of the chalet is very soothing, and helps you to unwind. Overall, I rate this very highly, and for us this was the best way to see Margaret River and to relax.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at River'esque last weekend for my partners birthday with another couple. Secluded, beautiful surroundings, right in the heart of the woods. Less than 5 minute drive to town centre. Hoss Di and Bob are absolutely lovely people. Very helpful and friendly with advise for places to see and things to do. Accommadation was perfect, very clean and loved the little touches, fresh flowers everywhere, essentials in the pantry, choccies on the bed and even dressing gowns for you to use. Would thoroughly recommend her to stay. Will be telling all my friends about beautiful River'esque.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have travelled the world and have to say that River'esque is something special.
A private, two storey, Balinese style chalet that boast the most wonderful outdoor shower entices you to unwind the moment you step through the front door.

We have chosen to stay at River'esque on more than one occasion. Whether you visit in Winter or in Summer, for a weekend or week you will experience a very peaceful getaway. Rob and Di the owners never ceases to amaze us with their attention to detail. Leading very busy lives and having a beautiful chalet to run away to, really is a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at riveresque for 3 nights earlier this month and I can't say anything else other than it is brilliant. The effort Di and Rob go to make you feel relaxed and enjoy your stay is something I have never seen before. Everything is well presented and makes you feel like youre in bali! The chalet is very private, and the outdoor shower really is something else. We didn't use any of the indoor showers at all.

We will definitely be back again to enjoy and relax in Margaret River. Cannot recommend the place enough!!

Incredible...

Josh and Emily.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.5 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
686 reviews
13.8 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#7 of 51 in Margaret River
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Margarets Forest
Margarets Forest
#5 of 51 in Margaret River
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River'esque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River'esque

Address: 52 Ashton St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $231 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riveresque is a free standing luxury villa, situated on a tall tree'd block on the river, 5 minutes from the Margaret River town centre. The villa can comfortably accommodate 2 couples, with 2 king size bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, an ensuite upstairs and a large marble bathroom with a double spa and a tropical out door shower There is a fully self contained kitchen and is provided with breakfast goodies to enjoy. There is also a dining and living room and a beautiful balcony overlooking the valley. It is romantic with a peaceful ambience. Riveresque has just been awarded the top hotel in Australia in the Stellar Says Awards by Hotels Combined in 2015 with an overall rating of 10/10 through guest reviews. We endeavour to provide our guests with a relaxing and peaceful stay in a beautiful natural setting with an abundance of bird life. We are close to wonderful wineries, restaurants, caves and attractions with beautiful beaches and forest walks. We would love to welcome you to Riveresque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River'esque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`Esque Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing