We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Trail Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Luxury at its finest!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our stay at Heritage Trail Lodge Margaret River was just perfect. From the initial booking, Helen was lovely - The Luxury Spa Suite with the Luxury Romance Package was not available on our preferred date, however Helen arranged for us to have this package in their Forest View Spa Suites for a slightly cheaper price. Our room was set up beautifully on arrival, with rose petals scattered on the bed and a bouquet of flowers, MR chocolates and some MR sparkling wine set up next to the bed. Terry was very accomodating and gave us the necessary maps of the area and went through the features of the room with us. The next two days were perfect - Helen had booked our lunch and dinner at Must Restaurant and Voyager Estate (Vouchers were included in the package!) at our preffered times and we also had Mischa from Boy Bliss arrive on Saturday afternoon for our relaxing massages - this was really enjoyed! We really liked how they also incorporated local Margaret River produce/products into their accomodation package - from the wine and chocolates, to our cereals and bread at breakfast, not to mention the wonderful spa package from the MR Natural Olive Oil Company with 4 full sized body products. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would recommend Heritage Trail Lodge for any couple seeking a romantic getaway for great value! Thanks again Helen and Terry! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domii_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    142
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
387
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Will come back again
Thank you ! Truly 5 star experience
Food, staff, rooms were great
Beautiful walks around the place Stunning views
Rooms very VERY clean and staff very helpful
Great location Very central
Beautiful walk to the town through the forest or the very quick 5 min walk on the road

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly inn-keeper, which set the tone of the stay. Nothing was too much to ask, and this feeling was felt throughout the stay. The spa in the room and the aspect of the room facing the trails lent itself to a truly relaxing setting.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 848Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over New Years as part of a holiday around the south west region. Helen was warm, welcoming and very willing to accommodate us on requests from which winey tour to take to how on earth we could get all the wine home.

Breakfast each morning was a simple affair but delicious and the automatic espresso machine was a perfect compliment to this. Add to this, a decent selection of DVDs and board games if we preferred made our New Year's Day recovery much more easy and relaxing.

The room was very spacious, clean, no complaints. We used the spa bath without any trouble, although for a tub that big, you should expect it to take some time to fill.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lamb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Trail Lodge for two nights as a getaway from Perth, and we weren't disappointed at all! We were greeted by the owners at check-in, and were made to feel welcome at once. We found the room to be big and comfortable, well appointed and with a nice view to the bushland behind the lodge. It's a short stroll into town and all the attractions there. The owners were knowledgeable about the local tours and attractions, and recommended a winery tour for us that did not disappoint. The Lodge is set in tranquil gardens that were nice and peaceful. The Bussell Highway runs in front of the lodge, which can be busy at times, but once indoors we couldn't hear it at all. The breakfasts provided were tasty, with mostly locally supplied ingredients. The owners are keen to promote local business's, and are also keen to promote an eco-friendly stay, both of which are commendable. We would have no hesitation recommending the Heritage Trail Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Margaret River.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikefran2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Trail Lodge for two nights in January 2013.

The location is within walking distance of downtown Margaret River (though be warned that the sidewalk ends and you have to cross a curving street with fairly fast moving traffic for a good portion of the walk...a bit intimidating at night). The rooms have almost a cabin-like feel to them, despite being attached. We had an end unit (#8) that faced the woods and was dead quiet since other units block the traffic noise in front.

The unit itself is incredibly large - essentially one large square room. The linens were quite nice and the mattress extremely plush and comfortable. There's a television DVD player, some chairs, a mini fridge, night stands, and rolling frosted glass windows to the bathroom.

The bathroom is also quite large and has a two-person jacuzzi tub, sink, and shower and toilet stall (also with the same frosted glass).

The back wall is all glass, with floor to ceiling windows and sliding glass doors that lead to a semi-private deck overlooking the woods (if you look straight out you see nothing but woods, but to the side you can see your neighbors deck and they can see yours).

An air-conditioning unit built into the wall helps cool the place on hot summer days.

However, despite the size of the unit and the amenities, the units are extremely over-priced for what you get. Although the bedding was quite nice, the rest of the space (carpet, drapes, laminated counter) felt dated. The bathrooms were really old-looking with the dated frosted glass, and strained grout in the tiles. The jacuzzi is a nice touch, but it takes what feels like an eternity to fill (especially if the neighboring unit is filling theirs simultaneously, as was the case with us). After all that preparation, the jets also aren't powerful enough to really make it worth the effort. The property would be better off installing a single hot tub outside on the property that is filled with water all the time versus having 10 individual units all filling tubs constantly. Similarly, water pressure/temperature can fluctuate if somebody else is using water at another sink, toilet, tub, or shower.

Breakfast was decent (self-serve), mostly cereals, fruits, yogurts, breads, and cheeses from local businesses. There is also a DVD collection you can borrow from to bring to your room, plus a handful of games (like Scrabble).

The experience was comfortable, but not even remotely luxury, as they would make you believe. For $299/night, we expected much more.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 face the woods and are quiet (even better, units 1 and 8 are end units). Two other units f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen-Terry-HTL, Owner at Heritage Trail Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review.

We are sorry you felt the suite was overpriced at $299 per night. Your stay was during the Christmas/New Year fortnight when prices throughout the Margaret River Region are at their peak. Prices are significantly cheaper at other times of the year - for example, the Forest View Spa Suites in which you stayed are only $190 per night for a three night stay during the week.

For a little extra per night, we think you would have been much happier in our Luxury Spa Suites which have been completely refurbished with new bathroom and designer furniture, fittings & décor. They have the same beautiful view directly into the forest with its huge Karri trees and abundant birdlife. We hope you can come back again outside peak periods and experience the best we have to offer.

Warm regards,

Helen & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Margaret River.

Pros: The hotel is very close to all the restaurants in Margaret River. There is also a good view of the forest. Its a bed and breakfast place. Whatever food was available for breakfast was really good.

Cons: The rooms looked very old. The amenities in the room were not up to the standard either. In addition, there were only a limited number of items in the breakfast buffet. Overall, not to the standard of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunAM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
204 reviews
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Trail Lodge

Property: Heritage Trail Lodge
Address: 31 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Trail Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Karri trees of the Bramley National Park this lovely boutique hotel is ideally located an easy 10 minute walk from Margaret River township. The ten spacious, stylish suites feature large 2 person spa baths, balcony overlooking the forest, blissful king size beds, LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel, movies, air-conditioning, free wi-fi and a host of extras. A delicious, buffet continental breakfast of local produce is included daily for all guests.Three Luxury Indulgence Spa Suites have been completely refurbished with designer decor and deluxe bathroom. Each suite is decorated with a different theme inspired by the local environment:- the Boranup Suite with the relaxing green hues of the forest; the Yallingup Suite with colours inspired by the sea and beach; and the Leeuwin Suite with its rich earthy shades of the autumn vineyards. Each Luxury suite has its own private balcony with stunning views directly into the forest with its tall Karri tress and abundant birdlife. Other extra's to make you feel completely indulged are chaise lounge, large LCD TV, plush bath robes, luxury linen and quality throughout.The five Forest View Spa Suites have the same peaceful view directly into the forest from the balcony. They are each decorated with furniture hand-crafted from a hundred year old pine tree that was originally planted on the Lodge site by Margaret River settlers last century. The two Garden Spa Suites are also decorated with furniture from the settlers pine tree. They are located at the front of the property with balcony views to the forest across the small car park and highway.Sit back with a glass of Margaret River Wine and enjoy the lush gardens, abundant birdlife and stunning forest views or enjoy leisurely walks through the tranquil Karri forest and adjoining river trails. Green Star Awarded, this environmentally friendly Lodge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heritage Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Trail Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing