We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star accommodation with 5 star service !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Trail Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Will come back again
Thank you ! Truly 5 star experience
Food, staff, rooms were great
Beautiful walks around the place Stunning views
Rooms very VERY clean and staff very helpful
Great location Very central
Beautiful walk to the town through the forest or the very quick 5 min walk on the road

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 525 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly inn-keeper, which set the tone of the stay. Nothing was too much to ask, and this feeling was felt throughout the stay. The spa in the room and the aspect of the room facing the trails lent itself to a truly relaxing setting.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 848Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here over New Years as part of a holiday around the south west region. Helen was warm, welcoming and very willing to accommodate us on requests from which winey tour to take to how on earth we could get all the wine home.

Breakfast each morning was a simple affair but delicious and the automatic espresso machine was a perfect compliment to this. Add to this, a decent selection of DVDs and board games if we preferred made our New Year's Day recovery much more easy and relaxing.

The room was very spacious, clean, no complaints. We used the spa bath without any trouble, although for a tub that big, you should expect it to take some time to fill.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lamb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Trail Lodge for two nights as a getaway from Perth, and we weren't disappointed at all! We were greeted by the owners at check-in, and were made to feel welcome at once. We found the room to be big and comfortable, well appointed and with a nice view to the bushland behind the lodge. It's a short stroll into town and all the attractions there. The owners were knowledgeable about the local tours and attractions, and recommended a winery tour for us that did not disappoint. The Lodge is set in tranquil gardens that were nice and peaceful. The Bussell Highway runs in front of the lodge, which can be busy at times, but once indoors we couldn't hear it at all. The breakfasts provided were tasty, with mostly locally supplied ingredients. The owners are keen to promote local business's, and are also keen to promote an eco-friendly stay, both of which are commendable. We would have no hesitation recommending the Heritage Trail Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Margaret River.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikefran2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Trail Lodge for two nights in January 2013.

The location is within walking distance of downtown Margaret River (though be warned that the sidewalk ends and you have to cross a curving street with fairly fast moving traffic for a good portion of the walk...a bit intimidating at night). The rooms have almost a cabin-like feel to them, despite being attached. We had an end unit (#8) that faced the woods and was dead quiet since other units block the traffic noise in front.

The unit itself is incredibly large - essentially one large square room. The linens were quite nice and the mattress extremely plush and comfortable. There's a television DVD player, some chairs, a mini fridge, night stands, and rolling frosted glass windows to the bathroom.

The bathroom is also quite large and has a two-person jacuzzi tub, sink, and shower and toilet stall (also with the same frosted glass).

The back wall is all glass, with floor to ceiling windows and sliding glass doors that lead to a semi-private deck overlooking the woods (if you look straight out you see nothing but woods, but to the side you can see your neighbors deck and they can see yours).

An air-conditioning unit built into the wall helps cool the place on hot summer days.

However, despite the size of the unit and the amenities, the units are extremely over-priced for what you get. Although the bedding was quite nice, the rest of the space (carpet, drapes, laminated counter) felt dated. The bathrooms were really old-looking with the dated frosted glass, and strained grout in the tiles. The jacuzzi is a nice touch, but it takes what feels like an eternity to fill (especially if the neighboring unit is filling theirs simultaneously, as was the case with us). After all that preparation, the jets also aren't powerful enough to really make it worth the effort. The property would be better off installing a single hot tub outside on the property that is filled with water all the time versus having 10 individual units all filling tubs constantly. Similarly, water pressure/temperature can fluctuate if somebody else is using water at another sink, toilet, tub, or shower.

Breakfast was decent (self-serve), mostly cereals, fruits, yogurts, breads, and cheeses from local businesses. There is also a DVD collection you can borrow from to bring to your room, plus a handful of games (like Scrabble).

The experience was comfortable, but not even remotely luxury, as they would make you believe. For $299/night, we expected much more.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 face the woods and are quiet (even better, units 1 and 8 are end units). Two other units f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen-Terry-HTL, Owner at Heritage Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are sorry you felt the suite was overpriced at $299 per night. Your stay was during the Christmas/New Year fortnight when prices throughout the Margaret River Region are at their peak. Prices are significantly cheaper at other times of the year - for example, the Forest View Spa Suites in which you stayed are only $190 per night for a three night stay during the week.

For a little extra per night, we think you would have been much happier in our Luxury Spa Suites which have been completely refurbished with new bathroom and designer furniture, fittings & décor. They have the same beautiful view directly into the forest with its huge Karri trees and abundant birdlife. We hope you can come back again outside peak periods and experience the best we have to offer.

Warm regards,

Helen & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Margaret River.

Pros: The hotel is very close to all the restaurants in Margaret River. There is also a good view of the forest. Its a bed and breakfast place. Whatever food was available for breakfast was really good.

Cons: The rooms looked very old. The amenities in the room were not up to the standard either. In addition, there were only a limited number of items in the breakfast buffet. Overall, not to the standard of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArunAM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The location is fantastic, the view into the forest is fabulous and the peace and quiet wonderful.

But...
The cabins are frankly not luxury, it feels as though you are staying in a DIY caravan construction in the bathroom especially with flimsy odd opaque screens, bad grouting, cracked tiles, it feels like it was done on the cheap 20 years ago. The rooms is large and some the furniture is lovely and hand crafted but there's no storage, it's badly designed, no draws, little wardrobe space with few hangers, awkward spaces.

Overall we had a good stay but we were disappointed in the cabin itself for the money we paid. It would be easy to add a few luxuries which would help overlook the negatives.

Staff were nice, good and informative welcome, and I'm sure if you wanted info and help would be very helpful.
Gardens around the rooms were brilliant, perfectly maintained and had a touch of brilliance in the planting, if the insides matched the outside it would be amazing.
The bird life on the balconies and forest was awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightredangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen-Terry-HTL, Owner at Heritage Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry the stay was not up to your standard. Our original suites are rated 4 star and thus it seems did not offer all the luxuries you expected. In addition, you were staying in the peak period when prices in the region are at their premium.

We think you would have been much happier in one of our Luxury Spa Suites which have been completely refurbished to a very high spec with with deluxe bathroom, designer furniture, fittings & décor. They have the same beautiful view directly into the forest with its huge Karri trees and abundant birdlife. There are also many extras in the Luxury Suites to make you feel indulged such as chaise lounge, bigger TV, and bath robes.

We would love for you to return and experience our Luxury Spa Suites which we think would exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,

Helen & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
699 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Trail Lodge

Address: 31 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $147 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Trail Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Karri trees of the Bramley National Park this lovely boutique hotel is ideally located an easy 10 minute walk from Margaret River township. The ten spacious, stylish suites feature large 2 person spa baths, balcony overlooking the forest, blissful king size beds, LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel, movies, air-conditioning, free wi-fi and a host of extras. A delicious, buffet continental breakfast of local produce is included daily for all guests.Three Luxury Indulgence Spa Suites have been completely refurbished with designer decor and deluxe bathroom. Each suite is decorated with a different theme inspired by the local environment:- the Boranup Suite with the relaxing green hues of the forest; the Yallingup Suite with colours inspired by the sea and beach; and the Leeuwin Suite with its rich earthy shades of the autumn vineyards. Each Luxury suite has its own private balcony with stunning views directly into the forest with its tall Karri tress and abundant birdlife. Other extra's to make you feel completely indulged are chaise lounge, large LCD TV, plush bath robes, luxury linen and quality throughout.The five Forest View Spa Suites have the same peaceful view directly into the forest from the balcony. They are each decorated with furniture hand-crafted from a hundred year old pine tree that was originally planted on the Lodge site by Margaret River settlers last century. The two Garden Spa Suites are also decorated with furniture from the settlers pine tree. They are located at the front of the property with balcony views to the forest across the small car park and highway.Sit back with a glass of Margaret River Wine and enjoy the lush gardens, abundant birdlife and stunning forest views or enjoy leisurely walks through the tranquil Karri forest and adjoining river trails. Green Star Awarded, this environmentally friendly Lodge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Trail Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing