We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be Better for What They Charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Trail Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Should be Better for What They Charge”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Trail Lodge for two nights in January 2013.

The location is within walking distance of downtown Margaret River (though be warned that the sidewalk ends and you have to cross a curving street with fairly fast moving traffic for a good portion of the walk...a bit intimidating at night). The rooms have almost a cabin-like feel to them, despite being attached. We had an end unit (#8) that faced the woods and was dead quiet since other units block the traffic noise in front.

The unit itself is incredibly large - essentially one large square room. The linens were quite nice and the mattress extremely plush and comfortable. There's a television DVD player, some chairs, a mini fridge, night stands, and rolling frosted glass windows to the bathroom.

The bathroom is also quite large and has a two-person jacuzzi tub, sink, and shower and toilet stall (also with the same frosted glass).

The back wall is all glass, with floor to ceiling windows and sliding glass doors that lead to a semi-private deck overlooking the woods (if you look straight out you see nothing but woods, but to the side you can see your neighbors deck and they can see yours).

An air-conditioning unit built into the wall helps cool the place on hot summer days.

However, despite the size of the unit and the amenities, the units are extremely over-priced for what you get. Although the bedding was quite nice, the rest of the space (carpet, drapes, laminated counter) felt dated. The bathrooms were really old-looking with the dated frosted glass, and strained grout in the tiles. The jacuzzi is a nice touch, but it takes what feels like an eternity to fill (especially if the neighboring unit is filling theirs simultaneously, as was the case with us). After all that preparation, the jets also aren't powerful enough to really make it worth the effort. The property would be better off installing a single hot tub outside on the property that is filled with water all the time versus having 10 individual units all filling tubs constantly. Similarly, water pressure/temperature can fluctuate if somebody else is using water at another sink, toilet, tub, or shower.

Breakfast was decent (self-serve), mostly cereals, fruits, yogurts, breads, and cheeses from local businesses. There is also a DVD collection you can borrow from to bring to your room, plus a handful of games (like Scrabble).

The experience was comfortable, but not even remotely luxury, as they would make you believe. For $299/night, we expected much more.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 face the woods and are quiet (even better, units 1 and 8 are end units). Two other units f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen-Terry-HTL, Owner at Heritage Trail Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review.

We are sorry you felt the suite was overpriced at $299 per night. Your stay was during the Christmas/New Year fortnight when prices throughout the Margaret River Region are at their peak. Prices are significantly cheaper at other times of the year - for example, the Forest View Spa Suites in which you stayed are only $190 per night for a three night stay during the week.

For a little extra per night, we think you would have been much happier in our Luxury Spa Suites which have been completely refurbished with new bathroom and designer furniture, fittings & décor. They have the same beautiful view directly into the forest with its huge Karri trees and abundant birdlife. We hope you can come back again outside peak periods and experience the best we have to offer.

Warm regards,

Helen & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    140
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
384
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Margaret River.

Pros: The hotel is very close to all the restaurants in Margaret River. There is also a good view of the forest. Its a bed and breakfast place. Whatever food was available for breakfast was really good.

Cons: The rooms looked very old. The amenities in the room were not up to the standard either. In addition, there were only a limited number of items in the breakfast buffet. Overall, not to the standard of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunAM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The location is fantastic, the view into the forest is fabulous and the peace and quiet wonderful.

But...
The cabins are frankly not luxury, it feels as though you are staying in a DIY caravan construction in the bathroom especially with flimsy odd opaque screens, bad grouting, cracked tiles, it feels like it was done on the cheap 20 years ago. The rooms is large and some the furniture is lovely and hand crafted but there's no storage, it's badly designed, no draws, little wardrobe space with few hangers, awkward spaces.

Overall we had a good stay but we were disappointed in the cabin itself for the money we paid. It would be easy to add a few luxuries which would help overlook the negatives.

Staff were nice, good and informative welcome, and I'm sure if you wanted info and help would be very helpful.
Gardens around the rooms were brilliant, perfectly maintained and had a touch of brilliance in the planting, if the insides matched the outside it would be amazing.
The bird life on the balconies and forest was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightredangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen-Terry-HTL, Owner at Heritage Trail Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry the stay was not up to your standard. Our original suites are rated 4 star and thus it seems did not offer all the luxuries you expected. In addition, you were staying in the peak period when prices in the region are at their premium.

We think you would have been much happier in one of our Luxury Spa Suites which have been completely refurbished to a very high spec with with deluxe bathroom, designer furniture, fittings & décor. They have the same beautiful view directly into the forest with its huge Karri trees and abundant birdlife. There are also many extras in the Luxury Suites to make you feel indulged such as chaise lounge, bigger TV, and bath robes.

We would love for you to return and experience our Luxury Spa Suites which we think would exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,

Helen & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We loved our stay here- the room looked out to the rainforest and we had parrots peering in! There was a huge big spa bath which we enjoyed and the included breakfast was fantastic. The hosts were most accommodating, we only wished we could have stayed more than one night. We were expecting that the resort was a little closer to the main restaurants etc- it's not far but we felt it was a bit too far to walk at night as you had to go through a park so we had to drive to dinner ( then fight over who would be designated driver!). We had a wonderful dinner at Must restaurant. We definitely recommended this lovely resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Heritage Trail Lodge just last week and can say that out of all the accommodation we had during our visit to Perth region this was certainly the most comfortable, most tranquil setting, spacious spa room that backed onto beautiful bush land and very enjoyable continental breakfast. The owners were extremely helpful, easy to communicate with, added extra personal touches and gave excellent advice on surrounding attractions and maps and guides that made exploring the surrounding district easy and enjoyable. Thank you Helen and Terry for a truly wonderful stay. We will certainly be recommending you. Rosalyn & Geoff

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back offer complete quietness and the beauty of the bush from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

From the warm and friendly greeting when we arrived for our two night stay, to the wonderful room, to the tasty breakfast – nothing disappointed.

Our room was very clean and spacious with a very comfortable double (king sized) bed and choice of pillows. It had a large bathroom with double spa bath and separate shower cubicle, there was a plentiful supply of hot water and toiletries provided

The buffet style breakfast had a wide choice of cereals, breads, cheese, jams etc with most items being locally sourced. There is a coffee machine and good choice of teas as well as fruit juices – all to help yourself to.

Lots of information is available on local attractions, wine tours etc and the welcoming hosts are very happy to help with advice and local knowledge too.

The lodge is in a good location, just a 10 minute walk to town along the main road, although once inside the property you wouldn’t believe you were on a major road.

I’d thoroughly recommend the Heritage Trail Lodge for peaceful luxury in this lovely area.

Room Tip: Some of the garden rooms overlook the carpark, I'd recommend going for a forest view room for pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We had been to Margret River before, but after much research decided to try here. What a great choice. Stayed in a spacious spa room that backed on to the forest which was an absolute delight. The rooms were comfortable and serviced daily with foxtel and wireless. There was a continental buffet breakfast provided each morning, showcasing the local produce. Maps of the local attractions were available and the owners local knowledge gave us suggested routes and recommended highlights.
With the forest on your doorstep I definitely recommend doing the short walking trail, an easy stroll to enjoy the bush. With all the positives, including the short walk into the town allowing easy access all the restaurants, we'll definitely stay at the Heritage Trail Lodge again and recommend it to all friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Trail Lodge

Property: Heritage Trail Lodge
Address: 31 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Trail Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Karri trees of the Bramley National Park this lovely boutique hotel is ideally located an easy 10 minute walk from Margaret River township. The ten spacious, stylish suites feature large 2 person spa baths, balcony overlooking the forest, blissful king size beds, LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel, movies, air-conditioning, free wi-fi and a host of extras. A delicious, buffet continental breakfast of local produce is included daily for all guests.Three Luxury Indulgence Spa Suites have been completely refurbished with designer decor and deluxe bathroom. Each suite is decorated with a different theme inspired by the local environment:- the Boranup Suite with the relaxing green hues of the forest; the Yallingup Suite with colours inspired by the sea and beach; and the Leeuwin Suite with its rich earthy shades of the autumn vineyards. Each Luxury suite has its own private balcony with stunning views directly into the forest with its tall Karri tress and abundant birdlife. Other extra's to make you feel completely indulged are chaise lounge, large LCD TV, plush bath robes, luxury linen and quality throughout.The five Forest View Spa Suites have the same peaceful view directly into the forest from the balcony. They are each decorated with furniture hand-crafted from a hundred year old pine tree that was originally planted on the Lodge site by Margaret River settlers last century. The two Garden Spa Suites are also decorated with furniture from the settlers pine tree. They are located at the front of the property with balcony views to the forest across the small car park and highway.Sit back with a glass of Margaret River Wine and enjoy the lush gardens, abundant birdlife and stunning forest views or enjoy leisurely walks through the tranquil Karri forest and adjoining river trails. Green Star Awarded, this environmentally friendly Lodge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heritage Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Trail Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing