We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Day to Remember'”

Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours
Ranked #2 of 52 Tours in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Margaret River's #1 rated wine and adventure tours for "people who don't do tours" with Western Australian Guide of the Year - Sean Blocksidge. Get behind the tourist facade, away from the masses and discover people and places you won't find on your own. The No 1 Margaret River guide/tour on Tripadvisor since 2008. No minivans, no crowds. Personalised touring at it's best.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“'Day to Remember'”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Sean rocked up to our accommodation and there was an instant connection. We knew we were going to have a great day. Time spent in the 4WD was minimal and exciting when it needed to be. It was what we had hoped for - 'a day to remember'. Sean had the personality and the charisma of a true professional at what he did. It was a laugh a minute and it was like we had known him for ages. Oh and by the way the wine was some of the best you will ever try in the Marg - and the scenery, well you just wouldn't know how to find it like that without local knowledge and being a firee in his spear time makes for interesting conversation. We loved it and the couple with us also! On the side we actually leant a lot. That reallty makes it worth while. 5 hats for a Day to Remember. Thanks Sean don't change a thing. Best Wishes Chris & Jan Cowan (nee Rogans) (BNE) & John Rogans (RSA).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nawoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks so much for the awesome review!

I don’t ask people to write the reviews and I don’t normally respond (but I always read them and get a kick out of knowing you had a great Margaret River experience). Yours is extra special because we just hit the magic 200.

It really means a lot that you enjoyed the day so much and I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone that has taken then time to write and review and share their experience. I have so much fun hosting these tours that it really doesn’t feel like work! I love meeting such interesting and diverse people and showcasing the best of the region. Here’s to another exciting year of touring.

And here’s hoping we beat you South Africans in the Test cricket series that starts today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL DAY OUT”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Sean is brilliant. It is the best tour we have everdone.Local knowledge is amazing.
Tasted beautiful wines which we would not have had access too. Lunch was very interesting the matching of the wines to food was outstanding. The costal tour was breathtaking. Sean shared his abundance of knowledge with us including the best food and wines in the region which we visted and were not dissapoint - excellent tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LitzaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Out”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a day - we thoroughly enjoyed The Best of the Best Wine Tour. We were very well looked after and educated by Sean and his associates along the way. He has very good contacts, which opens up doors that the ordinary tourist wouldn't have access to. We will be recommending this wine tour to our friends, particularly those, who like us, don't do the normal 'tourist tours'.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour, Great for families”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked a private tour in early September for our family which included our 3 children aged 5, 3 and 6 months. I was very worried that the kids would get tired or bored on an all day tour but they ended up enjoying the day as much as we did.

From the time Sean picked us up, the children took to him immediately. He's friendly laid back manner put everyone at ease. We started off canoeing down the Margaret River which was definitely the highlight for the kids. The water was very calm and even my mother who is petrified of water soon relaxed and enjoyed herself. Sean made sure everyone was safe at all times, my older kids had a blast, the baby slept through the entire canoe ride in his carrier.

Sean answered all the questions that my kids had with endless patience. He even made an impromptu stop at a local fire station just for the children.

I'm not into wines but I still enjoyed the trip to the vineyard and the scrumptious lunch. We then hiked along the coastline where we were treated to breath taking views. My daughter couldn't stop picking up flowers as she walked. Sean has such an easy going manner that you feel like you're hanging out with a friend for the day, a very informative friend at that. His love for the region is obvious.

We have been home a month and the older children still talk about their day out with " Uncle Sean". Both kids would be more than happy to go on the tour again, it was an amazing day out for our family.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J_familyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing tour!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a spectacular day out with Sean. It was a complete pleasure to spend the day with someone who imparted so much interesting information in a relaxed and informal way. He was a mine of information on so many topics from wildlife to wines to local geography. Our 7month old daughter came with us for the day and she thoroughly enjoyed herself too! It was an amazing day!

Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing