We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guest House & Food Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Margaret River Guest House
Ranked #4 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Guest House & Food Ever!”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Amazing service and breakfast! However, some of the doors are abit cranky, they are hard to open and close. Overall its an awesome guesthouse and I love the food. Thanks alot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkai44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
2010 has seen our guesthouse undergoing major renovation to all rooms, bathrooms and living areas . So no more cranky door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    105
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
74
378
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We were due to stay at the Margaret River guest house at the end of April for two nights. Unfortunately due to the volcanic ash cloud over the UK we were unable to fly out to Australia in time for our booking. A local relative contacted the guest house on our behalf to move our booking forward by two weeks, if possible. Unfortunately there was no availability for our new holiday dates and therefore we had to cancel the booking. We understood we would lose our deposit (one nights’ accommodation). To our disappointment when we returned to the UK our credit card had been debited with the second night’s accommodation as well. Despite two e-mails and a telephone call with the guest house we have been unable to rectify the situation.

We found the Margaret River Guesthouse on Trip Advisor and felt we had made a good decision in making this booking from the reviews submitted. We feel however that potential customers should be aware of the situation we found ourselves in and the disappointing outcome under impossible circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyHill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
This booking was cancelled on the morning the guests were due to arrive. This did not allow enough time for us to resell the room so it remained empty. The guests chose to use a relative to manage their bookings and it seems that there was a communication breakdown between them as everyone knew they were not arriving except us.
It seems unfair to us that the guests expect us to be out of pocket because of their failure to keep us informed of the situation.
An email prior to the arrival date cancelling the booking would have been wise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We spent two nights at the guesthouse felt like we were staying with friends. Peter and Debbie make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. The bedroom we had was large, airy and impeccably clean - our beds were incredibly comfortable and both had electric blankets. Debbie's breakfasts are delicious (when we were there: perfect scrambled eggs on toasted English muffins with roasted cherry tomatoes and grilled lean sausage one day and egg souffles wrapped in lean bacon on creamy mushrooms the next) - you must try her afternoon tea cakes too!
There's a great range of books and DVDs to freely borrow in the library, board games and magazines in the lounge (perfect to keep you occupied whilst you enjoy the real wood fire) - and lots of information on the local sights and attractions.
Margaret River high street is literally a 2 minute stroll away - it's the perfect location. If you've never thought of staying in a guesthouse before - you will be hooked after staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We, 2 friends from The Netherlands, were in the Margaret River area for 5 days in
April 2010. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Guest House with it's beautiful surroundings close to the centre of Marg.River. The owners Pete & Debs made us feel very welcome. Debs specially cooked breakfast each morning was very nice as well as her freshly baked cakes every afternoon! I would definately return to the Guest House if I were to visit Margaret River again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Had a lovely time at this Guest house, would have no hesitation in recomming.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RonChim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights 14,15,16 March 2010.what a great place. thanks Deb and Peter for an enjoyable 3 days , the breakfasts were incredible ,commencing with fresh fruit ,cereal and then a different hot breakfast each morning ! .could never eat lunch!..Deb's home made slices in the afternoon were also welcomed.highly recommended , would stay no where else in Margaret river ,easy 2 min walk to town .room was comfortable and clean ,king size bed ,ensuite was a bit dated but very clean.B& B was originally a Nunnery years ago
Lorraine and John
Sydney NSW Australia

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lllsydney54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

First stay in a B&B and a great experience. Deb and Pete offered great local advice and made a super breakfast on the 3 mornings that we were there. Our room was the court yard so we had a side access and it was extremely quiet. The room was cozy with a nice big TV and the bathroom was a little dated but very functional. It is 50 metres from the main street in Margaret River and only 8 minutes to the beach at Redgate. Paid $160 AUD a night and felt it was worth the money when compared with other accommodation options.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benched1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
244 reviews
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Property: Margaret River Guest House
Address: 5 Valley Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing