We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful old home in the heart of the town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Margaret River Guest House
Ranked #4 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This beautiful old house is wonderfully located a short stroll from the main areas of Margret River. It was great to have a veranda to sit out on, and the facilities were first rate - afternoon cake was delicious but not good for the waistline !! The breakfast selection was adequate, although the single choice of cooked food might be considered a little under par. What was served however was delicious. The temporary mangers were delightful and very helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our short time here. Our only real disappointment were the very offish younger visitors on our second morning who clearly didn't understand B&B etiquette ! Although hardly the owners fault, perhaps some friendly banter from the owners might help them understand.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with access to the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Wanderingislanders,

Thank you so much for sharing your stay with us, it is greatly appreciated and it is always nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay. We were pleased to read your thoughts on breakfast and would just like to add.
Unlike your typical B & B's which generally cooks breakfast for up to 6 guests, our average breakfast can be 15 guests. Knowing our limitations with both our cooking facilities and our own ability we decided to provide a breakfast that doesn't compromise on quality, quanity or service. We are pleased to know we hit the mark for the majority of our guests breakfast needs with a wide selection on our continental buffet, and a different advertised hot breakfast cooked fresh each day to give a variation for those with extended stays. Off course there is absolutely no problems with catering for any dietry needs and amend meals if a dislike is known.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 596 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have stayed at Margaret River Guest House a few times and we love staying there. We are made very welcome, the rooms are lovely, and the breakfasts fantastic. They always have home made, delicious cakes and biscuits available in the common area for when you want a cuppa which is a lovely touch. It is within short walking distance to the farmers market and into the main street of Margaret River.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Lynda

Its always wonderful to welcome back our return guests/friends and to know they love what we do and can just step into the guesthouse and relax. For us in WA we are so lucky to have such a wonderful region on our doorstep were you can just run away too, be spoilt and forget the everyday hassles of real life.

Till next time

Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

By luck we booked the guesthouse and what great luck it was. We were greeted like old friends ,given the run down of the place and info regarding the local area. The township and local restaurants are within walking distance. we took a wine tour with one of the companies recommended and has a fantastic day. The communal breakfast in the morning is a great way to meet other travellers whist enjoying some good food.
Would not book anywhere else

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CPDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

One of the best things about our business is making our guests stay an experience to remember and one they want to repeat in the future. We have some fantastic tour operators in Margs and it great to be able to recommend one that suits our guests wants. Great to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Deb makes you very welcome when you arrive and the delicious afternoon teas are really tempting. The ambience of the house is great and the rooms are comfortable but it is an old house so there are some maintenance issues. The only area where I was a little disappointed was the breakfast. While I realise with a large number of people staying it is difficult to cater for all diets I would have liked to be asked whether I wanted a cooked breakfast of eggs and bacon rather than just having it put in front of me. There was however, plenty of choices for a continental breakfast so I didn't leave hungry. My husband was more than happy with an English cooked breakfast.
We had a back bedroom which, although it wasn't on the verandah, was a good choice as it was quiet and overlooked the back garden.
Being set close to Margaret River means you can walk into town or the Saturday markets and don't have to worry about where to park your car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBond55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit and we are very pleased you had a great stay. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful historic guesthouse with buildings dating back nearly 100yrs and while the upkeep is an ongoing schedule there are many items that may look like they need updating, but are actually part of the historic features which cant be changed. We do however appreciate our guests informing us of anything that may need attention, as sometimes certain details may go un noticed.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the autumn room which was the last available room when we booked which may be the reason why we didn't find the room very good. If you would like to sleep past 7am and not be woken up by breakfast being prepared and tables being set right outside the room then this is not the room for you. Breakfast is served right outside this room from 8am to past 9am depending if the guests linger and chat. We are early risers so that didn't affect us much.

The toilet was clean but in need of updating. The pictures were a little misleading.

For the price and location it was a good value guesthouse. Fast wifi, walking distance into town and quiet setting. Breakfast was very good. You get different cooked breakfast everyday in addition to cereals, yoghurt and fruit salad. Very nice way to start the day.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Simbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Simbing

Thank you so much for your review. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast. Generally our breakfast tables are set the day before and not on the mornings so we dont disturb any of our sleeping guests. We also try to serve our breakfast between the hours of 8.30 - 9.30 allowing time for our guests to enjoy their meal before heading off on tours etc that normally pickup around 9.30am. If you were disturbed by any noise we do apologise

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our friends came home raving about Margaret River Guest House and we have to agree. We loved our stayed and would certainly not hesitate to stay again and recommend to our friends
Thanks for a stay to remember

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Dianne

We are very luck that there is generally not a day that doesn't go by when we dont have returned guests or referred friends or family staying with us. I think is what makes our property feel so home like. For us there is nothing more special than to great old and new friends at our front door.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I booked a one night stay at this wonderful guest house believing I was booking another B and B, but it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. My wife and I were given a veranda room with french doors opening onto the gardens. We love the history and the old world charm of this establishment which started life as a Angican convent. We especially enjoyed sitting on the veranda with a glass of wine after making the short walk back from one of the many restaurants in the main street.

Breakfast in the dining room was lovely and we enjoyed the company of other guests.

I can recommend this to anyone as a comfortable, pleasant and quiet place to stay, which is within easy walking distance of anything you could possibly want.

Room Tip: Ask for a veranda room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Graeme

So please you booked us by mistake and enjoyed your stay. Our property is steeped in history and we love sharing it past with our guests. I do hope you got a chance to see some of the pictures in and around the guesthouse of how it once looked and the nuns that use to live on the property. Till next time

Regards
Deb and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Trail Lodge
Heritage Trail Lodge
#5 of 20 in Margaret River
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Address: 5 Valley Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $141 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing