We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Margaret River Guest House
Ranked #4 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

very much enjoyed our 2 day stay in Margaret River. Made very welcome by Peter who gave us some great ideas for our stay.
Very clean and homely and enjoyed the communal breakfast arrangement. So nice to exchange stories with different nationalities.

Had 2 lovely meals at the restaurant Arc of the Iris.

Very convenient location to be able to walk to the centre of Margaret River.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 14Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Janet

Great to hear you had a peaceful stay at our guesthouse. Yes Arc of Iris is one of the locals and visitors favourite restaurant. We are very lucky to have such a great selection in the main street to choose from when looking for somewhere to eat dinner.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    105
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
385
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great welcome from the owner, comfortable bedroom and lovely breakfasts. Great idea to have guests seated around a large table for breakfast as lots of useful information was shared about great places to visit. Great location within a few minutes walk to the centre of the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Pamela

Yes we generally find that everyone enjoys breakfast and as you mentioned it is a great place to meet fellow travellers and get ideas of what to see and do in the region. Thank you so much for sharing your stay with fellow guests and we look forward to meeting you again soon.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Really lovely little B&B - very friendly staff, helpful in every way. A 2 min walk into the high street means no need for a taxi. Rooms are very well maintained and have everything you need. Great atmosphere - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Murf

Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate that our property has a feel, which is hard to discribe in writing, but so many of our guests comment on, not only when they arrive, but when they leave.

Maybe it is because it was once a chapel and nunnery, maybe its all the fabulous guests we have, but whatever it is you cant help but leave feeling relaxed and refreshed.

See you next visit.
Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hosts were perfect, helpful and friendly but not interfering. Rooms excellent, good breakfast and the delicious cake was a nice touch. comfy beds. enjoyed the rabbits in the garden and the gardens in general were well kept. outstanding location, country feeling but right by the main street. common area would be wonderful for a winter's visit. wonderful atmosphere at breakfast - good idea to have common tables. good strong coffee. couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jub07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jub

Our location is certainly one of our strong points, as you mentioned we feel like we are in the country, but a short stroll and you right in the heart of the main street. Its always great when you can come home from touring and just park the car till the next morning.

I do hope you get a chance to come back again soon.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked in for 4 nights and could not have been happier. Deb and Pete were the perfect hosts. It is obvious that they take pride in their work as they could not have been more helpful. The location is fantastic - walking distance from the town centre and for a 'city girl' it was so refreshing to get back in touch with the simple things like watching a rabbit family playing on the grass. Thankyou so much Deb and Pete.

Room Tip: I had a corner room which gave me a good view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kozzi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Kozzi

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Its lovely to hear your enjoyed your time at Margaret River Guest House and especially watching the rabbit families play in the garden. Wildlife is out in abundance during spring and if it isn't the birds entertaining you then there is always a chance newly born bunnies will venture out for the first time during your visit.. Its amazing how quickly they grow, but they never eat enough grass to give Pete a break from mowing the lawn.

Till Next time
Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently spent three nights at this lovely guest house and were made to feel very welcome by Pete and Deb. The great breakfasts set us up for the day to do our sightseeing, cave walks, vineyard tours and general relaxation. The room was very comfortable with all the amenities that you want when travelling and the guest house was a short stroll to the many shops, cafes and restaurants along the main street and there was a welcoming nightcap of port available to have with coffee after dinner. Would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank coco082007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Fantastic to hear you enjoy your 3 days with us. Margaret River is a great destination with so much to see and do. If you love your wines, then there is only over 130 cellar doors to try and visit. If food is your thing, then we have so many top restaurants and chefs offering great menus featuring our great local produce, and mother natural also did her best, with some of the best beaches in Australia, giant trees in the Boranup forrest and beautiful bejewelled caves to explore. All in all you can never spend enough time down here to see it all, but your 3 days would have certainly given you a great taste of what is on offer.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights , location brilliant literally 5 min walk to the High Street with all sorts of restaurents. But so quiet, parakeets flying around in the evening , peaceful Bed are excellent , unobtrusive but always ready to help; ideal hosts. Suggested a wine tour with Margaret River Wine Tours , if you enjoy good wine don't miss it great lunch included.

Room Tip: Book a room with a veranda overlooking the "jungle" if you like to see wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear David

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes our birds and wildlife are wonderful to watch in the garden. We are very pleased to read you had such a wonderful stay at MRGH and we do hope you have the opportunity to visit again.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Property: Margaret River Guest House
Address: 5 Valley Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing