We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Margaret River Guest House
Ranked #4 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“would come back”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

First rate, that is how we would discribe this guesthouse. We loved the history and beautiful gardens. If you want accommodation Close to town where you can walk the main street without driving, then this is for you. Also we noticed that while accommodation on the main street would be good after Walking up and down we really appreciated our quiet Location, where the only noise you here is the birds.

Rooms were large and ensuites clean and had everything you would Need. Our host were helpful and at all times our privacy was respected.

Room Tip: Great Areas to just sit relax and read a book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
What a lovely title. Thank you for your kind review, we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the bird life. We are very lucky to have the forrest very close so we are never short of wildlife around, but a short stroll to town should you require a bit more shopping or eating.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    105
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
74
382
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a great time. The room was clean and spacious with a modern ensuite, and even though the door opened onto the dining/breakfast area it still felt private enough and was very quiet. The hosts were fantastic - plenty of advice and local knowledge but not too 'in your face' if you know what I mean. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and great quality; just the start you need when you've got a busy day exploring. The area itself is beautiful too, and there are a few nice restaurants and places to grab a drink within walking distance for in the evening. Overall, a really pleasant weekend away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie_pangie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Angie

Thank you for your review, we are very lucky that our guesthouse is set up to give our guests their space and privacy and as host we are also very mindful this is your holiday.

I have to agree with you on the room that come off the dining room, I personally think these rooms are the most secluded and private rooms as the dining room isn't use at any time accept for breakfast.

We are always on hand to give helpful advise to the best kept secrets, so never be afraid to ask.

Regards
Deb and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our time immensely. We were given a warm welcomed and shown around this lovely guesthouse. The room was very comfortable and clean with a modern ensuite. Breakfast was a real treat. The food was absolutely delicious, and eating around a large breakfast table facilitated conversation among the guests. The whole experience was exceptional. Our hosts were always helpful and accommodating and it was due to them that we had a wonderful experience in Margaret River. I would highly recommend Margaret River Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Rob

Breakfast is always a highlight and many of our guests enjoy the experience of speaking to fellow travellers from all around the globe and in somecases neighbours.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with others and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Deb and Pete

ps thanks for the great cake recipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was only able to stay one night at the Margaret River Guest House, and I wish I was able to stay longer!

The room was well appointed with a nice bathroom, wardrobe and tea and coffee making facilities. The communal lounge room was a relaxing place to sit and unwind.

The location is great, walking distance to the main part of town, but far away enough from the hussle and bussle of the traffic.

The breakfast was lovely and it was nice to have eggs and bacon cooked to perfection! A lovely place to visit for couples.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Joeygirl

1 day is never enough, but we are so pleased you got a chance to experience Margaret River Guest House and our region. Hopefully this will spur you on to come again and for longer next time.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your views.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We often take the little things for granted but what we noticed most about our stay above all our other hotels was the little things Deb and Pete did and offered. As mentioned in below review, Pete never forgot what we drank at breakfast or that I didn't eat mushrooms. Tours were recommended to suit us and were again no trouble to book, as was dinner recommendation and bookings. Its amazing that we take the service offered in guesthouse and B & B's as normal, but honestly you wont get a better personalized holiday unless you stay at these places.

Deb and Pete you have converted us, no more hotels. Everything about the guesthouse was spot on. The rooms where clean and very comfortable. great lounge with fire and the food was amazing.

Thank you Deb & Pete for a wonderful stay in Margaret River

Room Tip: We stayed with family from Perth, great enviroment for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joytwobehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words, we try to anticipate the needs of our guests and while we cant always place everything you may need in your room, we generally always have those overlooked item like power adapter, chargers etc close at hand when needed.

Its always great to hear when people enjoyed their stay and we have introduced them to a new experience.

Regards
Deb and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at Margaret River Guest House. From the moment we drove in the drive we knew this was the perfect place for us. Beautiful gardens in a quiet little side street just around the corner from town we found the location and property to be all we could ask for and more.

Our host Deb & Pete were spot on, there when you need them and your privacy is always respected, We both commented that Pete's attention to remembering your tea or coffee preference each morning was a nice touch and something you dont get in large establishments. We also noticed that those with special breakfaat needs were serviced without fuss again always remembered, so they didn't need to ask or want for anything

The property itself is heritage but with great modern touches. Deb and Pete have thought about everything you could need and if it isn't in the room you just need to ask, as we found out and it will magically appear.

All in all we had one of the best holiday experiences at the guesthouse and would no hesitate to recommend anyone to stay. Most importantly, town is a short stroll from the guest house so after a long day touring, it was great to come home leave the car in the car park and walk to dinner and enjoy a drink ot 2 or 3.

Thank you Deb and Pete we hope to see you both again soon.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Brian

It was wonderful to hear you had such a great stay at Margaret River Guest House and our region. It was a great pleasure meeting you both and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a great stay at the guest house. Comfortable rooms and a comfortable king size bed, we slept well. The guest house is in a quiet side street yet is just a 5 minute walk to the main street of Margaret Rier where there are plenty of dining choices. The guest house has a cosy lounge with a slow combustion wood heater which was a pleasant place to relax. Freshly baked goods were set on the sideboard each day for guests to help themselves to morning or afternoon tea. Breakfast, served at 8.30am, was a bit early for us and we only got there once, but was a lovely home cooked hot breakfast with continental items as well to choose from. Lovely friendly and helpful hosts. Have never stayed in a guest house before but based on this experience would do so. And would happily stay at this House again on a return visit to Margaret River - and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Our room had access to the verandah which was a nice place to sit and have a drink or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Susan

Thank you for a great review, it was lovely to hear that your first stay in a B & B has left you wanting more. We totally understand that sometimes sleep is more important than breakfast and with such wonderful places to have Brunch/Lunch in the region there is no shortage of restaurants to sit and enjoy fabulous food, wine and views.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Property: Margaret River Guest House
Address: 5 Valley Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing