We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in this charming B & B - too short!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Margaret River Guest House
Ranked #4 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I were travelling last March to Australia for the first time - Perth and Margaret River, together with another couple. We had chosen this guest house on the internet using the local on line travel guides and were most pleased with our stay. Friendly welcome, clean, cosy and well appointed rooms and public areas, great location, super breakfast. We hope to be back to Australia one day and if we do, this place will be on our list.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, it was lovely meeting you all and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other. Hopefully you will get a chance to visit again and get an opportunity to see more of our lovely Margaret RIver Region.

Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Margaret River Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 582 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed previously as a couple n we loved the place ;)
Came back this time with our extended family (9 of us), and once again, it was a fantastic stay! Everything about the guesthouse was great, with friendly hosts who were very helpful and excellent amenities...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Marie

Was lovely to welcome you back again with your family this time, We missed catching up with you this time and look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home after a 7 week holiday in Nz and Oz and can honestly say Margaret River Guest House was up there with the best of the holiday. Deb and Pete were on holiday but their 'stand in' hosts Paul and Sue did a grand job. There was plenty of food for breakfast and although the hot food menu was fixed they were very accommodating with personal tastes. We felt quite exhausted after a hectic schedule beforehand so the house, in it's quiet location and peaceful garden, was a welcome refuge. Also afternoon cakes are a great idea. We had room 7 which had a King bed and was very comfortable but I did look around at some other rooms, when the guests had left, and think on balance the rooms on the other side of the house were brighter and had a better outlook over the garden. Room 3 looked nice but you had to share the verandah, which I don't think would be a problem, in room 7 you had your own private area. It depends what's important to you, larger bed versus light room and shared sitting area.

The house was in a great location, we walked to the town every night, the pub did good beer and food but became very noisy after about 7. We heard Albany and the surrounding areas are worth visiting, we love the galleries up in Dunsborough and Yallingup, Prevelly beach area is worth a drive and the caves are fantastic if you don't suffer from claustrophobia! We didn't get to any wineries this time round but we thoroughly enjoyed them last time.

All in all a fantastic stay, we would most definitely stay again, if the exchange rate improves, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Room 7 has its own verandah and a king bed some of the others rooms have queen beds and overlook mo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLinda05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Linda

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the region. We were sorry to miss you this time around, but I hope we get a chance to meet you on a return trip.

You are quite correct each of our 5 King rooms and 1 Queen/family room offer something a little different from each other, but that adds the specialness to those that return wanting their favourite room.

Till next time

Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Could not have asked for more, wonderful place to stay and would highly recommend to all our friends and family. In actual fact we already have. Great location close to town, attractions and beaches, Guesthouse is very modern and clean and the food as mentioned in many other reviews is a real treat. Deb's cakes are something you look forward to coming home to. Our only advice is make sure you stay long enough to see all Margaret River has to offer, our 2 days were not enough, but oh well, we will just have to return. Thanks Deb and Pete you are the best.

Room Tip: Stay at least 3 days if not more, so much to see and do
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeohmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Mike

Thank you for passing on the word, we love having our return guests or our recommended family and friends, and its very rare when there isn't someone here that fulls in those catagories.

Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After much research we choose mrgh for its location and price, what we got was so much more. From the first email till the day we left we were treated as VIPS by Deb and Pete. On their recommendation we arranged to stay in Perth over the weekend and travelled to margaret river mid week. Perth prices skyrocket during the week due to fly in fly out workers so this info saved us heaps. We also booked for 3 nights but ended up staying for 5 due to the amount of activities to see and do. Not to mention Debs cakes and cooking, that alone was worth staying longer for. We can not thank you enough for a fabulous holiday and one we wont forget. Our advise to anyone reading this. Stop looking you have just found the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Greg

Thank you for taking the time to write your helpful review. We are pleased our advise helped you save money and that you enjoyed yourself so much you stayed longer in the area. We are very lucky that our region has so much to offer and hopefully you review will encourage others to see more of it.

Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Margaret River Guest House, this is the first time I have booked a B&B and it was fantastic! The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and Deb & Pete were very accommodating. We loved the cooked breakfasts and afternoon teas. For anyone looking for a great place to stay within walking distance to town I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Summer room great for the extra space
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Lily

It was lovely meeting you and your partner and hearing that your first stay in a guesthouse has been such a great experience, hopefully it wont be your last.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here while we visited Margaret River for a couple of days. It was amazing. The guest house is beautiful and very comfortable. The room was lovely and it felt like being at home. The cooked breakfast in the morning was very tasty and I felt like I was in a restaurant. The homemade cakes in the afternoon are a really wonderful treat and I really liked the idea of this. We would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Ruth

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you had a great trip to Margaret RIver and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Address: 5 Valley Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $150 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing