We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location, delightful hosts - stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaret River Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margaret River Guest House
Ranked #4 of 21 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fab location, delightful hosts - stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

This guest house was recommended to me by a friend for our trip down to Margaret River in April. I went with 2 friends and had a triple room organised for us with ease. It's a beautiful old nunnery with lovely hosts who provide afternoon tea with delicious home cooked cakes and port in the evening. The location couldn't be better, just a stone's throw from town but still very peaceful and quiet. Would absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    100
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
71
356
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

This guesthouse, is cosy & warm. We stayed last winter & thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace in the evenings, sipping on port & resting after a day out & about. We also treated to ourselves to a massage, done at the guesthouse, lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Excellent position in Margaret River, good breakfast and quality accommodation including evening port!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tojo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

For me, accommodation is a big part of my travelling. I spend a lot of research time looking for somewhere unique, welcoming, clean, comfortable, well located, reasonably priced, peaceful and relaxing. It's a big ask and I am pleased to say that Margaret River Guest House and their generous hosts, Deb and Pete, provides all this and more.

We stayed in the Autumn Room for 3 nights with our own entrance off the huge verandahs that boasted many comfortable armchairs and tables (to eat Deb's delicious daily afternoon tea from). There are plenty of places on the verandah, lounge room or in the gardens to relax, or chat or watch the sun go down with a glass of the lovely port available in the dining room for guests.

Deb is a self confessed foodie and her hot breakfasts are legendary for a reason. Breakfast is also a great way to meet other guests or pick up great travelling trips. Deb and Pete's recommendation to go to Arc of Iris (one of the best seafood platters we've ever had) was perfect for our last night and we are eternally grateful for this memory of Margaret River.

We really loved our stay here and can't wait to return.

Suzie and Mike

Room Tip: Try the port and afternoon tea-delicious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieSioux72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

The guest house is located within easy walking distance to the town of Margaret River and several great restaurants. Deb & Pete had great recommendations for things to do and places to go. Breakfasts were wonderful and we met great people, including a couple from London that will be lifelong friends. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

My sister and I enjoyed a lovely two-night stay at the MR Guesthouse. It was a perfect, brief getaway. The guesthouse is a short 2 min walk from Margaret River but located in a quiet street. The afternoon treats and delish hot breakfasts, fresh from the kitchen were something we looked forward to every day. Deb and Pete's warm and gracious hospitality put everyone at ease and we look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Pete and Deb are gracious hosts, and Pete serves a good breakfast.. An afternoon snack is available..Rooms are somewhat small but adequate for 2 people. Plenty of good DVD'd and CD's for your listening and viewing pleasure.. The shower in our room was small and lacked a non-slip mat. This could eliminate the possibilty of slipping on the slippery floor of the shower.. Everything considered, a pleasant stay..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawg_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest
Edge of the Forest
#3 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 21 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 21 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Property: Margaret River Guest House
Address: 5 Valley Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing