We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading info on web site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Certificate of Excellence
kununurra
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Misleading info on web site”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had to overnight in Kalgoorlie on the way north, checked out most of the better quality properties. Was swayed by this property website advertisement of a weekend special for a deluxe spa room including breakfast and free wifi. On arrival found the room to be. Clean and comfortable however was advised by reception that included breakfast was only continental and if cooked breakfast was required then an extra charge was applicable, I commented that the web site did not state only continental, staff apologised but still insisted that it was only continental. When I signed in for wifi once in the room , the log in page. Stated it was only 60 minute free after that a charge applied, I double checked with reception who confirmed the charge. This was all very disappointing and I feel the whole website gave a very misleading picture to their specials. Bit sad because on the whole for a motel it wasn't to bad

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RailwayMotel, Manager at Quality Inn Railway Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thankyou for your feedback. I have checked our hotels website and it definitely states that the weekend package includes continental buffet breakfast, if you booked through a 3rd party website I will need to ask them to change their descriptions, unfortunately with the vast amount of travel websites it's hard to keep track of everyone, so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately with 100 rooms we need to limit our Free WIFI to 1 hour per day to ensure everyone has a fair and reasonable chance to use the network. The option to buy extra usage is only $1 per hour and helps support the internet and infrastructure costs to provide these services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    84
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
62
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

A group of 16 of us went to Kalgoorlie for the weekend and stayed at the Railway Motel. My roommate and I were given a lovely, spacious room with a well stocked mini-fridge. The weather was cold, but there were plenty of blankets on the bed and a reverse-cycle air conditioner. Part of the "package deal" included a tasty hot breakfast each morning. The staff were polite, and attentive. Another positive is that the motel is just across the street from the train station, so anyone taking The Prospector can walk to the motel. It is also conveniently located to the local shopping centre with a 5 minute walk to Coles, Woolies, etc. The only down side was the evening meal, I found it disappointing as did others at our table - one meal was dry and overcooked so returned to the kitchen for a replacement- which they graciously provided. All in all a nice stay, and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs_DownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We recently had a 3-night stay at the Quality Railway Motel which has many positive features but unfortunately,the room we had was very dark and airless.We did not wish to use the air conditioner as the temperature was quite mild so all we could do was prop the door open and that was not ideal for privacy.The double glazing gives absolute freedom from noise,the bed was comfortable,the bathroom clean with nice big shower(the only shower we have seen in many years of world-wide travel with no soap holder),linen very good,breakfast more than adequate and close to all facilities,shops etc.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room as we had read on Tripadvisor that it is not easy to get luggage up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We recently stayed at the Quality Inn Railway Motel in Kalgoorlie. Arriving at 9pm on the Prospector, the Inn is less than a 2 minute walk across the road. Our room had recently been completely refurbished. Double glazing meant virtually no outside noise. Easy 5 minute walk to Coles, Woolworths and Hannan Street. Reception is open 24 hours. Not luxurious, but comfortable, clean and a great place to stay. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are some upstairs rooms - and some within the quadrangle in the centre, with parking off road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We recently stayed overnight and ran a one day workshop at the Quality Inn.

Conference facilities and service better than most of the providers in Perth!
Venue room is lovely - lot of natural light and view over the old train station. Very modern datashow and helfpul "IT" support to boot.

Simple but lovely lunch and the service team acted on every request beautifully.

Room simple, extremely clean and tidy. Would not look anywhere else in Kal if running another event.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We picked to stay here on the reviews on Tripadvisor and its closeness to town. We were given a newly renovated room so there were no issues with the standard and cleanliness or the amenities. We hardly heard a train during our two nights there so don't be put off by it's proximity. It's close enough to town that we spent an entire day and night without getting in the car once. The visitors centre in the town hall (a five-minute walk away) offers a self-guided audio tour of the town and some of its most historic points of interest. If you don't mind looking like a tourist while wondering the streets it's a fantastic way to learn more about the history of the place. But back to the motel. It was clean, reasonably priced, convenient and the bed was comfortable. In short everything a motel of this rating and price should be. We'd have no hesitation in staying here again if we visited Kalgoorlie again....

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Situated on the edge of downtown Kargoorlie, it offers a good point to visit the town on foot. The nearby railroad station is in no way a hinder for a quiet night sleep. The rooms are well equipped and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
1.4 mi away
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
#2 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Midas
Comfort Inn Midas
#9 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Railway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Railway Motel

Property: Quality Inn Railway Motel
Address: 51 Forrest St, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Railway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the train station and only a few minutes stroll from Kalgoorlie town centre, the Quality Inn Railway Motel is an excellent choice for the casual leisure traveller, the corporate business person, or anyone else in between.We have a fully licenced Restaurant that offers a range of food to suit all tastes, our Boardroom which seats up to 12 people for a business meeting or private dinner and the John Forrest Room which caters for larger functions, presentations, weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Railway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing