We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Railway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were pleased with our overnight stay at the Railway from the time we booked in. The staff where so friendly and very efficient.We where pleasantly surprised with our spa room with plenty of space to move around and nice decor.Room felt fresh and clean.Perhaps the only negative was the height of the shower head,a little low than normal. Had dinner and breakfast in restaurant and was most enjoyable and reasonable.Would stay again.

Room Tip: deluxe spa room has parking in front of your room and are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliek920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    77
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
57
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed two weekend nights (arrived by air, left by train).
Right opposite the railway station (across the usual very wide road that is) but of course a little walk into the 'centre'. Plenty of eateries around if you don't want the restaurant which is pretty good.
Room was well equipped and clean although neighbours easily heard.
Staff helpful, and got a late checkout.
Breakfast: forget the 'continental' unless you have an early start. It's an basically overpriced cornflakes, toast and yoghurt.Had cooked breakfast too (to order, on Sunday), and that was delicious. Shame I got double-charged for the continental one.
Getting to/from the airport:
I used car rental but: Not easy to find out about car rentals and it seems the only place to get for the weekend is the airport, and in limited hours too. So I dropped car off at the deserted airport, with no taxis and had a pleasant (but 5km long) evening walk back to hotel rather than getting robbed for a call-out taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A simple motel opposite the railway station and about 400 meters from the main road running through the centre of town. The motel is fairly large (coach tours stop here and miners live here during their stints at the gold mine) but is clean albeit not of the most modern standard. Our room was large, the bed a bit too soft but generally OK and the shower integrated in the bath tub. The bathroom was small and old fashioned. Two armchairs in the room so that once can look at the TV without having to get into bed!
We ate dinner once in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal greatly and were well looked after by the ladies serving.
Breakfast was OK.
Wi-Fi is only available in the Reception Area but is free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived on Skywest ex Perth at Kalgoorlie airport. By taxi for the city is the only choice in the afternoon. The fare was ok with 15.00 Dollars, exactly what the hotels receptionist told me.
A room on the upper floor was requested and prepared for us when we arrived.
A nice welcome from the young woman at the desk. This is a motel style property with open walkways to the rooms. Sure ok with a temperature up to 35 degrees during our stay.
The room clean and spacious, the bathroom with a bathtub/shower combination.
Everything not on the bright modern design side, but anyway well maintained and functional.
No wifi in the room but free with an acceptable connection at the lobby.
There is an supermarket just around the corner and when you arrive just after 6.00 pm like we do, there is also fast food on offer some more meters down the road or the liquor store with something to drink.
Most important for us was the location just opposite the train station with an 7.00 am departure on the Prospector back to Perth. Breakfast was buffet style, available from 4.30 am, with also one of these pancake machines on offer, sure ok with 25.00 Dollars for the two of us.
A good nights sleep here.
Downsides?: No window and no real light in the bathroom, to dark from my personal opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Reasonably modern motel, literally just over the road from the station and well placed for a stroll around town. Very clean and well maintained, comfortable bed. Extremely comfortable leather arm chairs in room ( we were upgraded from a basic room due to choice privileges card). Nothing to complain about and a competitive price even without the upgrade. BTW the Prospector from Perth is a really good service and good value - too often over looked by locals.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed two nights and we were 'lucky'that we stayed in the weekend so the lady made us a deal. We found it still expensive for a motel, but we found WA more expensive than 3 years ago when we last visited. Room was OK, there wasn't much light but we found that not a worry since the sun was cooking outside. Overall a good stay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I (Americans) visited Kalgoorlie to see the Super Pit, WA Museum and the town where it all started. The town did not disappoint, and the motel was as expected from the reviews that I had read here on trip advisor. The beds are comfy and the location is great. As stated before, the shower (water pressure) was erratic, and the complementary breakfast was mediocre. The staff were very nice and the room was clean. This was nice as "K" is a dusty place and I was not expecting a lot. I give the place only Average rating as: 1) the A/C was right over the bed and blew directly down onto our faces. We could not sleep like this so we had to turn it off and undress a bit to sleep and 2) there is no reliable WiFi unless you pay an exorbitant fee. For what they charge for a room, it should be free and reliable. But except in the big cities of Australia, I found all of the WiFi service to be deficient. The location is good if you arrive by train (across the street) and just want to walk around town. There was a nice lady to greet us when we arrived on the 9:00 train. We figured that we would walk the town and do tours as I do not like right hand drive, but eventually we succumbed and rented a car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airmike943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
#2 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Midas
Comfort Inn Midas
#10 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Railway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Railway Motel

Property: Quality Inn Railway Motel
Address: 51 Forrest St, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Railway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the train station and only a few minutes stroll from Kalgoorlie town centre, the Quality Inn Railway Motel is an excellent choice for the casual leisure traveller, the corporate business person, or anyone else in between.We have a fully licenced Restaurant that offers a range of food to suit all tastes, our Boardroom which seats up to 12 people for a business meeting or private dinner and the John Forrest Room which caters for larger functions, presentations, weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Railway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing