We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit worse than first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second visit worse than first”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A second stay in this hotel, glad work paid the $156 bill for the one-night stay.

Very happy with the bedroom and its facilities but the shower was a nightmare. It went boiling-freezing-boiling-freezing constantly. Bit dangerous for a child or elderly person in my opinion.

We were woken a few times in the night by heavy-footed people upstairs and various doors slamming in the early morning.

I was going to tell the receptionists about the shower when I handed back the key, but they were too busy gossiping to notice me standing there.

A bit of a shame, as our first stay in July 2012 was faultless.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RailwayMotel, Manager at Quality Inn Railway Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thankyou for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your shower and your noise complaints. I would have hoped you could bring these maintenance issues to our attention on checkout. We could then have looked into the issue and rectified it for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    84
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
62
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

For our weekend stay this motel just off the main streets was ideal. Quiet enough to be away from any noise but close enough to be handy to everything. Our room was clean, tidy and all fittings were of good quality and in good condition. Staff at Reception and in the Restaurant were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Standard country motel. The rooms are comfortable and provide most things a business traveller would require but at a somewhat high price for what you get. The motel caters to the mining community so there can be some noise from early in the morning as the miners leave for work and I believe breakfast starts at about 4.30 am, but the rooms keep the noise out reasonably well. The location is very good. Close to all the pubs in the middle of town and close to supermarkets and shops but far enough away not to hear the night-life which can continue until the wee hours.
Overall a bit expensive but would stay there again because of the location.

Room Tip: Try and choose a back room to avoid some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platypusgravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having caught the train from Perth to Kalgoorlie this hotel was perfectly placed literally across the road from the station. It is easy walking distance to all restaurants, bars and shops. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff were lovely. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable, I can't comment on the evening meals as we ate out both nights. I would recommend it s an ideal base for a short stay in Kalgoorlie.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my first time visiting Kalgoorlie. Time was very limited and I was travelling with my elderly mother-in-law. As we hoped, it was painless. The train from Perth was very pleasant and just a short walk across the car park was the hotel. Very conveniently, across the street was the delicatessen. It had everything we needed. Eateries in Kalgoorlie abound and are all within an easy walk. The walls were a bit thin I noted but gratefully, our neighbors were quiet anyway. Added to our short stay was a comprehensive bus tour which is a must especially for a first time visitor who likes to ask lots of questions. Sit up front. We had a local driver / guide who's knowledge was extensive. He was engaging and made the tour extremely good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times in the last 18 months. Great location opposite train station. My traveling friend can obtain a seniors discount which is very generous and include a continental breakfast. I have stayed in the standard and superior rooms, both are good, but would choose the superior if you can afford a little more. The rooms have a sitting area, missing from many motel rooms. Also they don't seem to have a hotel smell. The breakfast is fine, as far as an evening meal goes I would try somewhere else like the Blue Monkey which is a 10 minute walk from the motel in the Main Street.

Room Tip: Go superior room, room 57 is in the back corner, very quiet spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We caught the train from Perth to Kalgoorlie and return. The motel is conveniently situated across the road from the railway and a 7 minute walk into the main part of town. We stayed for 2 nights in a superior spa room. Everything was clean. Staff were very helpful with all queries and also friendly. At the time we stayed there had been a death of a staff member from a car accident, however they did not let their loss interfere with the service they provided to the guests. There were quite a lot of mine workers staying, however the complex was quiet. Continental breakfast was basic but satisfactory. They have seniors rates which are very good and greatly appreciated.
We would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_retirees_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
1.4 mi away
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
#2 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Midas
Comfort Inn Midas
#9 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Railway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Railway Motel

Property: Quality Inn Railway Motel
Address: 51 Forrest St, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Railway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the train station and only a few minutes stroll from Kalgoorlie town centre, the Quality Inn Railway Motel is an excellent choice for the casual leisure traveller, the corporate business person, or anyone else in between.We have a fully licenced Restaurant that offers a range of food to suit all tastes, our Boardroom which seats up to 12 people for a business meeting or private dinner and the John Forrest Room which caters for larger functions, presentations, weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Railway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing