We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice small park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prospector Holiday Park - Kalgoorlie
Yangebup
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice small park”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here on one of the hottest days in Kal so a pool was essential. This one cost a little more than other short term parks in the area but is probably the closest to the town. Still not walking distance though especially on these hot days. The vicinity of the airport did not seem to be too much of an issue and this park had a little more shade than the other one we stayed in.
The ablutions were clean and tidy and certainly a lot close than any of the other places we stayed. The pool was small but didn't get too overcrowded on the hot day.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    9
    11
    14
See reviews for
19
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westport, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here recently with my fiance and his parents when they were over visiting from New Zealand. We were very happy that they let us check in an hour early however the lady in reception made it seem like a burden and was quite abrupt. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin and it was tiny & very dated. 2 bedrooms is a bit of a stretch as one of the "bedrooms" was actually in the kitchen/ dining area. For 4 people we were tripping over each other and had absolutely no space. Luckily Kalgoorlie has enough to do that we didn't need to spend too much time here. For the price, value for money is not evident. We would not stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Disappointing stay. One of the more expensive parks we've stayed in. Lots of concrete slabs but we weren't given one. Amenities were not well maintained. Our neighbours had little respect for others, being quite noisy throughout the night. Normally don't have an issue with pets in caravan parks, but the barking was a bit much to take. Also if you dislike smoking, avoid this place. We ended up foregoing a night's stay & leaving a day early.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyndelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I am an american who is prospecting in western australia. I have stayed at numerous caravan parks in Western australia, and after coming across this wonderful park...this is by far my favorite spot. The management is always professional, courteous, and always makes time to ensure all guests feel welcome and happy. The entire staff, especially the cleaning staff and ground/maitenance workers are extremely hard working, friendly, and are always there to lend a helping hand or a smile. The park itself is very well maintained and clean, especially the bathrooms (maintained daily), tent sites, kitchen areas, pool, and cabins. There are wonderful areas to cook your food for both tenters and the caravans, and nice clean laundry facilities (including clothes lines to dry your clothes). The tent area site is easy to set up your tent on and the cabins are immaculate with newer appliances/and clean bedding..nice fridge/oven/and bathrooms....all around very comfortable and worth the $. I would highly recommend this caravan park to anyone, they are consistent, professional, and this is one of the best caravan parks I have ever visited. If you want a hassle-free vacation at a nice caravan park, I would highly suggest you stay here. All my needs were met and I return here whenever I am in the Kalgoorlie area.

Room Tip: ***check out the cool galas that visit the park, and sunsets in the am !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Steve review sounds like it has been written by the management.....
Our dog is never off the leash. He can not walk furthur than about 10 steps as he is to very old. Whilst we stayed at the park there was only one group near us and they were in the cabin next to us, there were NO caravans in the area at all.
So i dont like to 'be made out that i have done something wrong when in fact, it was the rude so and so that would like to call her self a manager that is is the wrong.
Im sorry Steve but your description for the "convience stores"in the area is not something a vistor would be promoting.
If this was the best park in town, why is it always empty and even the people at the tourist information say they would not recommend you to stay there.
Steve you need to get your eyes checked, because the standards were not fit enough for a 3rd world country.......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed 23rd April in cabin #2. It was the last day of a 4 week trip and so as to get a hassle free start in the morning we opted for a cabin rather stay in our tent. Check in was professional and swift, and the $149 did not seem outrageous given the boom Kalgoorlie is in.

However: we had an aircon/heater that did not run (it was cold at night), a kettle that tripped the RCD (so at least we knew the RCD worked...) a microwave with a dodgy door (to heat water for a cup of tea) and a front light missing its globe. We would have been just about as well off sleeping in our tent and using a camp kitchen with appliances that worked. Next morning when we expressed our dissatisfaction to the front of house girl her response was "I only work here" and that was that. It may point toward a systemic management failure if front of house staff respond to clients this way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fourfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I dont understand the negative reviews on this place, we have stayed here numerous times as we prospect up north and stay in Kalgoorlie on the way through and we have never had an issue. The staff are excellent and the manager is always professional and courteous. The 'camp kitchen' is very good with all facilities that would be needed(no cost to use BBQ etc!). The park and facilities are cleaned daily and the staff here are very friendly.
We were actually here when the people were asked to leave with the dog, the reason they were asked to leave was that the dog was not on its leash(numerous times). I for one dont want a dog whether it be 12 or 2 being able to roam around and bite someone if it wishes, especially with young kids around. Your dog may be very friendly but a simple rule as keep it on the leash if you want to have it with you isnt hard to follow...well thats my opinion
The toilets and showers are immaculate, they are cleaned daily & i have had no issues with anything that looks "unclean".
Its very close to the supermarket with a Woolworths, 24hr IGA & SupaIGA a short drive away and a 24hr petrol station 3 mins walk away
The only reason im writing this review, as i usually wouldnt write a positive review, is because we read the reviews in and had no other place to stay so just thought "oh well it will do" but after arriving we have not experienced anything like what other people have complained about so i thought i would quickly post my experience as this park def is the best one in Kalgoorlie out of the three we have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
#2 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Quality Inn Railway Motel
#4 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Holiday Park - Kalgoorlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Holiday Park - Kalgoorlie

Property: Prospector Holiday Park - Kalgoorlie
Address: 9 Ochiltree St | Cnr Great Eastern Hwy, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Prospector Holiday Park - Kalgoorlie 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospector Holiday Park is situated approx 2kms from the Centre of Kalgoorlie. We cater for families, singles, from cabins to powered and unpowered sites. something for everyones budget. Whethers its just a night to rest the car and yourself and recharge for the next step of your journey in this great state of ours or a few days stay making it a holiday as theres plenty to see in Kalgoorlie and cant do it all in one day. Prospector has shady trees thru out the park and a great camp kitchen to socialise, we also have a pool for relaxing in after your long drive we even have a childrens playground. We are also PET friendly so your fur babies are more than welcome but unfortunately not in our cabins. Our friendly staff are only happy to help you with your booking and questions about Kalgoorlie. Safe n Happy travels to all hope to see you all soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prospector Holiday Park - Kalgoorlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing