We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Beautiful and unexpected

This cathedral built in 1915 by Monsignor John Hawes. It’s style is a cross between Californian... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
nickjenkins
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Very interesting architecture

Although I’m not religious I was intrigued by the architecture of the cathedral in Geraldton. To me... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2019
gregfrankel
,
Seymour, Australia
via mobile
Read all 124 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Geraldton
from $160.50
More Info
from $219.81
More Info
from $163.99
More Info
from $153.52
More Info
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
67
48
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
48
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building stained glass windows old church amazing architecture well worth a visit heritage centre twin towers priest lewes restoration worship forecourt catholic judy history hints nave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

Although I’m not religious I was intrigued by the architecture of the cathedral in Geraldton. To me it had a very Spanish feeling and would be more at home In The Phillipines. A very interesting and Unexpectedly beautiful church.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank gregfrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller255365, Manager at St Francis Xavier Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Thank you for visiting our iconic cathedral. I hope you had time to visit the nearby interpretative centre to learn about the famous priest/architect Monsignor John Hawes who designed and built the cathedral, along with many other churches etc. in the Mid West and Gascoyne region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

Great old church built by a bloke who was both a man of God and a man of architecture. We had the place to ourselves when we visited so it was very quiet and peaceful. I believe they do tours but just walking around on your own is good enough.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 2Ad2Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller255365, Manager at St Francis Xavier Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Thank you for visiting St Francis Xavier Cathedral. It is well worth seeing and is lovely to wander in on your own however those who take the tour also get to visit the crypt beneath the main altar as well as learn a little more about its special features as well as the famous priest/architect who designed and built it. His story is told in the nearby Monsignor Hawes Heritage Centre Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

This was a real surprise to us. The building is not huge but sits well in a degree of isolation from its surrounds. The interior reminds of Byzantine decoration, the exterior hints at Florence and Rome and Mexico.
There is an excellent museum close by, which tells of Monsignor Hawes, parish priest and architect from England. It is a well-spent hour. In the precinct is a labyrinth and an unexpected bistro. When we were there, the bells lay before the towers awaiting installation.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 76BramleyWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller255365, Manager at St Francis Xavier Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Thank you for spending time in our St Francis Xavier Cathedral Precinct. There is certainly a lot to see and learn. We hope the bells will be installed by the end of August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

Go to the free museum first and then visit the church. What a back story! Should be a movie. Quite surprised to see a cathedral in Geraldton. The interior decor is quite unique.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 954jeanneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller255365, Manager at St Francis Xavier Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thank you so much for your comments. Yes the story of John Hawes and his achievements as a priest and architect in the mid-west of Australia as well as the UK and especially The Bahamas, is definitely movie material. Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This historical building designed by Monseignor Hawes of the Benedictine order, is something to see. If you are interested in architecture or history, the cathedral is worth a visit. It is accessible - in the town centre - and when you have soaked in all the that wonderful history, next door is a cafe and a museum with all the history and stories of the Hawes buildings throughout the region - also worth a visit.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank sufromgeraldton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller255365, Manager at St Francis Xavier Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our iconic Cathedral and its famous architect. We certainly recommend a visit to the Hawes Museum next door as well as the Cathedral. Both are open to the public every day and tours which include a visit to the crypt beneath the cathedral are available on Sundays, Mondays and Wednesdays at 2:30 and Fridays at 4:00. ($5)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews