We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to find a new place to stay!”
Review of The African Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The African Reef
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Need to find a new place to stay!”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

OMG - what a disappointment! I've been staying here, on business trips, for over two years. I have to say that the restaurant was the thing that kept me coming back. What a let-down, when I went for dinner; the restaurant has changed hands, and the menu has gone south big-time. Burgers are now first on the menu, followed by Entrees which were ALL SEAFOOD. The mains selection is abysmal, unless of course you're into steaks. There is no pasta on the menu! There's no Asian worth talking about. The barramundi I had was worse than you'd get in a fish & chip shop. To cap it off, I had a cooked breakfast this morning and the bacon was off!
Now that I've started to wind up, I have to say the place is in need of a lot of attention. I stayed three nights, and the same long, dark hair was lying in the shower cubicle for the whole time. The showers must have been designed for "verticall-challenged" individuals, as I had to bend my knees to wet my face and head. The kitchen sink was crawling with ants. I opened the kettle and a big, bloody spider shot from inside it. The roadway around the place really suited my 4WD. I'll be looking elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abberlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
24
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

At AUD135 per night you would expect more than this. Yes the views are OK, but rooms 61 and 62 views interrupted by the main complex and are noisy as the refrigeration plant opposite kicks in frequently. But they wer roomy and comfortable enough.
Rooms are old but clean with tea/coffee and a kettle, bar fridge and a reasonably comfortable bed. Good shower tho! And iron and ironing board if you are a fussy traveller. Friendly staff. The aircon unit on the balcony looks like it shouldn't work as it is nearly rusted out. The continental breakfast is cereal, tinned fruit, some juice and on the 2 days we stayed white toast only as "the wholemeal hadn't arrived". For the money it should have been much much better and had it been the rating would have improved.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Beautiful sea views from grounds and solid structured rooms(we slept though storm). Outdated, dark, dinghy rooms wouldn't want to spend anytime at all in them. Very basic, not worth the money. Continental breakfast limited...very basic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greggs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geraldton hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We had a so-called deluxe room which was scruffy and not clean, especially the bathroom. On the balcony there was a rotting air con unit, which was still in service. The stairs up to the room looked as if they were about to come apart. The fridge only had one shelf which was broken, and also bar on the door shelf had been broken so we could not keep anything in there. The floor was only hoovered once in our three day stay. This was "deluxe" remember - they ought to look up the word. No-one in their right mind would use the dirty looking swimming pool or the dirty and untidy laundry room. The views from the restaurant were lovely and the food fine, just don't stay there. The verandah from the restaurant back to the accommodation was never swept and was full of cigarette butts, spilled liquids and general detritus. The area seemed to be a smoking area for staff who were completely unfazed that you were trying to pass through there. Never ever go there. It gives Geraldton a bad name.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FormerAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Nice location near to the beach with some great views from the restaurant and some of the rooms. Plenty of parking.
I think we were lucky, we booked a standard room and we got one up on the first floor which gave us good views. We got to see inside a deluxe room which was smaller and less well equipped and didn't have such a good view so I don't know why it was more expensive than ours?
The main room was okay in size and had a sink, fridge, toaster, kettle and microwave in the kitchen. Table and chairs, sofa, ancient TV, a small heater/aircon unit and a broken telephone.
Bedroom had a queen bed which was uncomfortable. The door was falling apart.
There was also a sliding door that I assumed was meant to open onto a balcony, however the balcony was either missing or never built so it just opened to a big drop to the ground! Very odd.
Bathroom was very run down, discoloured grouting, yellow stained toilet seat, window sill thick with dust and grime.
The general cleanliness was decidedly average. Daily Housekeeping basically made the bed and emptied the bins.
The cost of the room included a buffet continental breakfast i.e. toast and cereal or you could pay extra for cooked.
The restaurant has great views, we only eat there once as it seemed very expensive. The portions were huge but you can ask for half size or have an entree as a main.

We stayed here for a wedding and the reception was held in the main function room.
The general setup looked quite nice and the starter I had was quite tasty. The main I had was two large slabs of beef which was dry and tasteless, one lady on our table decided to wrap it up and take it home for her dog. I heard that the chicken was also rather dry.
Table service was poor, our table didn't get served with the salad or drinks until we waved down the waiter.

On the whole the location was nice and the staff seemed friendly, but we seemed to be paying a lot for that view. the rooms definately need a good makeover and the food was very average for quality but high in price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sectorcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

For a "resort" that has the best views in Geraldton from its Dining area, the accommodation does not, unfortunately match it! Run down, poor security, hot water system dodgy - taps broken and redirected to another tap (this is a resort?!), back yard area unkept and overgrown, toilet that kept running...I know I sound like a whinger, but christ, pay good money and this what you get. Not good enough in my books. Needs an overhaul badly. The bed was comfy though!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leafy Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have never come across a motel more in need of an overhaul
Whilst the location looks OK I was given a smelly room, a television that was so old that it was almost impossible to operate, and worst of all, a toilet seat that was so stained it looked as if it had never been cleaned - and all this for $120
The restaurant was equally bad - the fact that there was only one other table taken for dinner should have been a clue - $70 for a two course meal for one person that any self respecting cafe would baulk at serving
Never ever again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherishport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geraldton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Geraldton
Ibis Styles Geraldton
#5 of 9 in Geraldton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Geraldton
2.4 mi away
Mantra Geraldton
Mantra Geraldton
#1 of 9 in Geraldton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Centre Hotel
Ocean Centre Hotel
#2 of 9 in Geraldton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geraldton Motor Inn
Geraldton Motor Inn
#6 of 9 in Geraldton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Holiday Park
Sunset Beach Holiday Park
#3 of 15 in Geraldton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Reef

Property: The African Reef
Address: 5 Broadhead Avenue | Tarcoola Beach, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Geraldton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Geraldton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning location with the ocean as a back drop. A warm welcome from all of us working here. Whether you are here to dine, drink or dream, it will be a relaxing and enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The African Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing