We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely lovely”
Review of The African Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The African Reef
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutely lovely”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

our family came through Geraldton at the start of september, extremely tired and needing of a decent feed......we turned up where the manager - Susan - gave us a free upgrade to a lovely ocean view room, 2 rooms in total as well as giving us some tips of where to swim, as it was a hot day.....the room was lovely, the view amazing!!! We went to the restaurant and had dinner there, where my husband and i ordered the seafood plate for 2 and my son and his girlfriend ordered the staek with prawns......we had travelled through WA, and this was the best place we had eaten on our 3 week journey.....the receptionist on checkout was lovely, Susan was in the restaurant (multi talented- we where impressed) and the other waitress just always smiling. We met the General Manager Jackie, who was just as lovely as her staff.......Which must be why we enjoyed our stay immensely. We will be recommending this place to our family and friends,

Room Tip: The sunset from the restaurant was devine!!! the rooms need a little updating, but we were informed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui J, General Manager at The African Reef, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
So delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at The African Reef. My staff are fantastic, they are our best asset :-) as that is what people remember the most, we are just lucky enough to have such an amazing view to go with it. Hope to see you again next time you are in Western Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    19
    13
    10
See reviews for
25
31
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had booked the Saturday Night to stay at the African Reef Resort in Geraldton, as we were also organizing a Dinner for the extended Family.
When I realised we could leave Perth on the Friday Evening (and needed an extra Night to stay) I had nothing but pleasant help in arranging to pickup the Room Key after hours.
we had a 2 bedroom Apartment with a Balcony. The Master bed was very hard, which I like, but my partner does not.
the Apartment was clean and tidy, without any Fuss or Fanfare.
I had a lovely relaxing time.
Although the Pool was having repairs, the whole place was neat and Tidy.

I will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: some rooms have Ocean Views - however also have the Sea Breeze blowing at you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecollorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui J, General Manager at The African Reef, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the honesty of No Fuss or Fanfare, because that is exactly what it is :-) We are slowly but surely making our way through to give the rooms some TLC, but clean and tidy and friendly service is something we can ensure everyday. The pool repairs are almost complete, so when you next visit you will be able to enjoy a swim in the pool or the ocean. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a couple of times in the past as well as eating at the restaurant on numerous occasions and have been very happy with the service and the food. The rooms in the accommodation section need a bit of updating , however the owners have been making an effort to address this as well as the grounds.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui J, General Manager at The African Reef, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our restaurant and understanding of our "work in progress" :-) Wish I could have it all completed yesterday, but these things always take longer than anticipated and hopefully you will see even further improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A group of us decided to go to this restaurant for a friends birthday last week......Great food and the service was amazing!! Not what any of us expected. The view of the sunset over looking the ocean was just gorgeous! A big thank you to Suzie and Katie who really went out of there way to make our night a special one.......We would reccommend this place to anyone who is interested in a great dining experience!

Room Tip: We didnt stay at this hotel, just visited the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui J, General Manager at The African Reef, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review, I have passed it on to Katie & Suzie who were absolutely thrilled that they were mentioned. Encouragement and praise for my staff from guests is such an inspiration, confirming that we are getting it right :-) Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

wow!!! my wife and I absolutely loved this restaurant!!! The views were amazing, the staff so friendly. we went to this restaurant on a friends suggestion....well worth it!!! the new menu they had on offer was really good. so much to choose from. Overall, a great night.. Really impressed!! Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: we didn't stay here - but the restaurant is really just awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui J, General Manager at The African Reef, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
THANK YOU :-) We are all so delighted that you had such an amazing experience, and enjoyed our new menu, it is sensational. I know I am certainly enjoying the taste testing and quality control. It is also very inspiring that you came on the recommendation from friends. Word of mouth is definately the best form of advertising. So thank you again and please tell all your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Along with service taking 45+ minutes, us being the only people in the place, the waitress telling us that entree, which only half the group ordered would arrive with the mains...the portion sizes were small, food was bland, dull and expensive. When raising this with the assistant general manager, we were greeted with a confrontational style and a statement that 'Jamaican chicken should not have spice- the flavours should be mango and pineapple'!!! Despite the menu advertising the dish as 'with Jamaican spices'...
I am left hungry, out-of-pocket, disappointed and quite frankly amazed that this place is actually open to the public. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dori_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui J, General Manager at The African Reef, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I was genuinely shocked to see such a harsh review, when reviews on either side of yours were so complimentary. It concerned me so much that I questioned my staff and checked our records. The restaurant has in fact been almost fully booked out over the past two weeks, and I am sincerely sorry that you had to wait 45 minutes for your meal. I am more than happy to discuss with you further, your concerns, so please call me on 9964 5566
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geraldton hotels

Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We looked for a restaurant with views right on the ocean, with a reputation for good food, and with reasonable prices. This restaurant was just right! The 4 of us ordered 3 different dishes and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food. On the whole we are quite fussy about food but each of us was happy. We had only 2 nights in Geraldton,and for the second night after trawling through all the online reviews and menus we have unanimously decided to go again for our second and last night in Geraldton. By the way the service was friendly and prompt and attentive!
After we have gone a second time, we intend to write a second review, just in case it was a fluke that we really enjoyed it last night!! By the way we were not staying at this place, but elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui J, General Manager at The African Reef, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
WOW ! Thank you so much for your awesome review, We have been and still are working very hard to ensure our guests have an amazing experience when dinning at The African Reef. Our new spring Menu is out now and would so love for you to come back and give us your opinon.
Thanks again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geraldton hotels
2.4 mi away
Mantra Geraldton
Mantra Geraldton
#1 of 9 in Geraldton
535 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Centre Hotel
Ocean Centre Hotel
#2 of 9 in Geraldton
497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Geraldton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean West Holiday Units
Ocean West Holiday Units
#7 of 9 in Geraldton
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zebras
Zebras
#1 of 16 in Geraldton
107 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Holiday Park
Sunset Beach Holiday Park
#3 of 16 in Geraldton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Reef

Property: The African Reef
Address: 5 Broadhead Avenue | Tarcoola Beach, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Geraldton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Geraldton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning location with the ocean as a back drop. A warm welcome from all of us working here. Whether you are here to dine, drink or dream, it will be a relaxing and enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The African Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing