We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend - great value”
Review of Ocean Drive Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Drive Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bunbury
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The position, across the road from the beach, is perfect. Very clean and quite comfy even though it's not the most modern. The rooms have all you need (microwave, fridge, toaster, plates etc) and there's access to a kitchen and laundry. You can see there is care in how it's run. For the price, an excellent basic motel. Only problems were noisy aircon, the free WiFi wasn't always strong enough to connect & limited hanging space.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very comfortable bed, clean and tidy, decent sized room. Only downside was the flatscreen TV did not work too well and it was a bit of a walk from the main cafe and shops area. It is right across from the ocean though, and you can hear the waves at night. The road noise was not noticeable. If they got rid of the horrid fluoro tube lights and put in some nice downlights it would look like a nice hotel room!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed in a two bedroom unit. The furniture may be old but the room has its own charm. It has a homely feeling to it and you don't feel like you are staying in a motel. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed overnight in a two bedroom apartment which was just off the main site. They are an older style building but are refurbished with basic modern amenities. They were clean, tidy & perfect for overnight or a few days. They have all the facilities to self cater, parking (is quite tight) and an open living area which was great for us & two kids. Great walking distance to the beach and shops.

These are a basic apartment but good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for bottom level if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This motel is located on the coast road south of Bunbury town centre, and about 3 mins drive to shops and amenities. The coast road is moderately busy, but road noise wasn't particularly intrusive.
This is an older, traditional, single-storey motel-style property with free off-road parking outside the rooms.
We stayed here on two separate nights. For the first, we stayed in a large family room containing a queen bed and three single beds, as well as a table and five dining chairs. There was a small ensuite with shower which had tired tiling and fittings, light fittings with missing or dead insect-filled covers, and cobwebs on the ceiling. Why can't the cleaners sweep away the cobwebs and remove the insects? Small job, big impact! The ceiling in the bedroom area seemed to be water-damaged. The room decor was neutral, but like the ensuite could do with a refurb. The furnishings were functional and in reasonable condition.
For our second night, we stayed in a smaller room at the front of the property with a lovely ocean view. The room had a queen bed and one single bed, plus a table with three upright chairs. The ensuite shower room was in better condition - seemed to have been refurbished. Whilst obviously regularly clean, the scuff marks on the walls and the dirty windows spoilt the general appearance of the room. The decor and furnishings were neutral, functional and in reasonable condition.
Both rooms were equipped with wall-mounted, flat-screen TV, kettle and microwave, but no iron or ironing board. Free WIFI Internet was available in both rooms and worked fine for us, but we understand that some rooms furthest away from Reception may struggle to get a strong WIFI signal.
The management of the property we met were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My partner and I visited his parents in Jan 2012 in Bunbury. This motel was only 1km up the road from their house and was very handy to go back and forth.

We were originally booked into a 2nd floor unit but as I had a broken foot and couldn't manage the stairs the lady owner changed our room to a first floor room which was very appreciated.

The room was extremely tide and clean. The air conditioning was fabulous and it was so quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was very small but didn't matter really. The bed was comfy and the TV was wall mounted and easy to view from anywhere in the room.

The view was all ocean and very pleasant. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarlett2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

All this has going for it is the view.

The room was grubby and could do with a good clean.

The sheets and towles were clean as was the fridge and microwave but the rest of the place is in need of either a good clean or better still a complete re furbishment.

It came with free wi fi but neither of us could log on and the staff were most unhelpful about this.

I don't think I am over fussy and having been travelling for 7 weeks this was the worst place I stayed.

Room Tip: I was in room 1 and it was awful so steer clear of this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Admiral Motel Bunbury
Admiral Motel Bunbury
#5 of 10 in Bunbury
89 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Lord Forrest
1.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bunbury
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bunbury Apartment Motel
Bunbury Apartment Motel
#4 of 10 in Bunbury
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
0.4 mi away
Bunbury Welcome Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Drive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Drive Motel

Address: 121 Ocean Dr, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range: $74 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Drive Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to Bunbury for business or pleasure, we can offer clean, comfortable & cost effective accommodation for short or long term. Fantastic Beachfront Location, overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean, just a stone's throw to the beach. Start the day with continental breakfast served in your unit! Enjoy the spectacular sunsets, walks along our beautiful beaches, or do a spot of fishing, all at your doorstep! Watch the sun go down over the Ocean while you enjoy a meal next door at the popular Hungry Hollow Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Drive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing