We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous Mini Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous Mini Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend at the Resort and we were very impressed as a few of the reviews were negative. We stayed in the deluxe honeymoon tower and it was sooo comfortable.
The check in was quick and efficient, room - modern furnishings, flat screen tv in both lounge and bedroom, reverse cycle air, functional kitchenette, toilet downstairs and bathroom with spa upstairs, Outside was view to die for, private balcony with table and chairs and best of all --the golf was just all there for the taking, and I mean balls as I lost quite a few to the many water hazards!! It is a beautiful and challenging course.
The best bit is the location on Old Coast Road just off the the new Forrest Hwy makes it a quick trip from Perth and you are still near many wineries and beaches to visit.
We are looking forward to returning again in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaquinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    185
    54
    14
    8
See reviews for
92
165
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

What a surprise to find that all the rooms had been renovated; new beds, fresh paint and new furnishings! We have always enjoyed our stays at the Sanctuary but it is even better now!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank escape14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We have just returned from a spontaneous new year getaway at the Sanctuary Golf Resort. Booking last minute on wotif.com we got a great deal ($) and therefore weren't expecting a lot. We got such a nice surprise when we arrived to find our room clean and cool (the bed had a lovely firm matress), the pool was refreshing and the grounds of the golf course beautifully green and full of wildlife (cute cotton tailed rabbits!)

If you are a DINK couple and don't mind sharing the pool with families then we highly recommend the Sanctuary Golf Resort for a spur of the moment trip to Bunbury (esp if you live in Perth).

We enjoyed a lower level room overlooking either the golf course or pool (which are away from the rest).

  • Liked — Pool and golf greens - quiet and peaceful
  • Disliked — Loud English tourists
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Despforbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed there last night. Great setting and reasonable service from reception desk, but the room smelt and the bed was rock hard.

It was probably the worst night's sleep I have had in a hotel ever.

  • Liked — Front desk service
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanoNorthPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at this property, what a mistake. This accomodation was booked 5 months ago. I had to ring the property on 3 different occasions regarding confirmation etc. Each time I was assured that an email confirmation had been sent ( it hadn't ). Two days before we were due to leave I rang the resort again to double check a few things. My phone call was answered by a young receptionist who made it quite clear that she really wasn't interested in me or my booking. Questions regarding check in and check out times, facilites etc were met with crisp one word responses and then complete silence. I dismissed these two incidents ( after all emails can go missing , people can be having a bad day etc ) and looked forward to our weekend away.

Check in went smoothly enough. The resorts golf course is very well maintained however the 2 bedroom apartments are not. We were met with badly stained carpet, gouges and marks over the walls ( including some questionable marks in the toilet and bathroom ) complete patches of paint missing from door frames, unswept floors, and the promised fully equiped kitchen turned out to be a tiny kitchenette which made cookinfg for a family of 4 difficult. The bedroom furniture was badly scratched and stained with many scorch marks. All the beds in the apartment were very badly made. The sitting area had a single chair and a shabby 2 seater sofa bed/ couch. This is rather strange when the apartment can sleep up to 6. This couch was virtually unusable. As soon as you sat down you sank so far into the couch that you ended up with the bars from the sofa bed sticking into your back.

This property charges 4 star prices ( $265 per night ) but delivers 3 star facilities.

To top it all off 2 cars were broken into in our carpark section, their windows completely smashed. We were very lucky as one of the break ins happened to the car parked next to us and the other to the car parked in the bay opposite us. We later found out ( from a staff member that my Husband went to school with ) that this was the 4th Sunday in a row that cars in this section had been broken into.

I feel the resort failed in it's duty of care to it's guests. It would have been quite easy to inform guests of these common break ins as they checked in. By doing this, guests could have been on the look out for suspicious behaviour, ensured that their cars were locked and that valuables were not left on display in the cars overnight.

This section of carpark was the most secluded in the resort. It would have been very easy for staff to suggest that guests who needed to park here, move their cars closer to the reception carpark ( where there was alot of spaces available) which was also closer to the Night Manager.

Upon checking out our account was mixed up with someone elses. We had to wait while they tried to " find" our account. By this stage I just wanted to see the back of the whole place.
A very expensive and disappointing weekend. I would not stay here again or reccomend it to anyone. Do yourself and your wallet a favour and stay somewhere else that actually offers value for money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — over priced, shabby, dirty.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank PerthyummyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

There is nothing wrong with the Sanctuary, but for a non-golfer it was an unremarkable place to stay. It was recommended to us by the excellent Dolphin Discovery Centre as it is fairly nearby. The Sanctuary was apparently busy but managed to appear calm and almost empty. Staff were mainly friendly and helpful, but the rooms were 2-3 star quality and the food in the restaurant was a little over-ambitious. Breakfast is not included in the price. Western Australia seems to be more expensive for accomodation than other areas, but I reckon you could find better value than this. Nice views over the golf course though.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank NMMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

Enjoyed a wonderful 3 day stay at this unique Accor Resort located a few km’s to the north of Bunbury and close to several shopping centres. The place is a Golfers Dream, has a well laid out course with very reasonable in-house fees. For non-golfers or families it has a top pool area for a more laid back stay and is well within driving distance to the many wineries to the south including our favourite Capel Vale with its prize winning restaurant. We were sorry we had not allowed more time at the Resort but intend to return next year.

Our one bedroom apartment style accommodation overlooked the 18th hole of the resort and picked up the glorious WA sunset each afternoon. Able to enjoy this from our outdoor setting while sinking the odd vino or two and only a short stroll for that game of golf.

Our apartments well appointed kitchen and lounge area was very comfortable as was the bedroom. The most enormous spa bath took pride of place in the bathroom, almost worried about the water it must use but was certainly large enough for the tallest person. The resort has pay TV and movies on demand available for a most reasonable fee but this gives you 24 hour viewing of several channels. The movies were late release and we found this to quite a treat as the actual 24 hour charge was cheaper than normal pay to view hotel rates for just one movie.

The most outstanding part of our stay was the Resorts Restaurant – an absolute beauty. The food was just so top notch that we ended up eating there for every main meal and didn’t have one lower standard meal over the time (quite a rare feat). After spending a gourmet week in the Margaret River testing out all the top restaurants we still put our meals at the Resort near the top of the list for quality and price.

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — Everything good no problems at all
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
3.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
3.0 mi away
Quest Bunbury Apartment Hotel
4.4 mi away
Bunbury Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort

Property: Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
Address: Lot 100 Old Coast Road | Pelican Point, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Sanctuary Golf Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort is located approximately 90 minutes south of Perth in the heart of the Geographe Wine Region & Ferguson Valley and is the perfect venue from which to explore Australia’s beautiful South West.Enjoy four star apartment style accommodation set amongst fifty-six hectares of gorgeous rolling green lawns, tranquil lakes and tropical gardens surrounding a freeform resort pool and heated spa. 18 hole championship golf course with picturesque, undulating fairways, manicured greens and challenging sand & water hazards. Tennis courts, well stocked golf shop, conferencing, function, wedding & event facilities and Vittoria's Restaurant all provide excitement and opportunity at this very unique resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Bunbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing