We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed there last night. Great setting and reasonable service from reception desk, but the room smelt and the bed was rock hard.

It was probably the worst night's sleep I have had in a hotel ever.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DeanoNorthPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 454 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at this property, what a mistake. This accomodation was booked 5 months ago. I had to ring the property on 3 different occasions regarding confirmation etc. Each time I was assured that an email confirmation had been sent ( it hadn't ). Two days before we were due to leave I rang the resort again to double check a few things. My phone call was answered by a young receptionist who made it quite clear that she really wasn't interested in me or my booking. Questions regarding check in and check out times, facilites etc were met with crisp one word responses and then complete silence. I dismissed these two incidents ( after all emails can go missing , people can be having a bad day etc ) and looked forward to our weekend away.

Check in went smoothly enough. The resorts golf course is very well maintained however the 2 bedroom apartments are not. We were met with badly stained carpet, gouges and marks over the walls ( including some questionable marks in the toilet and bathroom ) complete patches of paint missing from door frames, unswept floors, and the promised fully equiped kitchen turned out to be a tiny kitchenette which made cookinfg for a family of 4 difficult. The bedroom furniture was badly scratched and stained with many scorch marks. All the beds in the apartment were very badly made. The sitting area had a single chair and a shabby 2 seater sofa bed/ couch. This is rather strange when the apartment can sleep up to 6. This couch was virtually unusable. As soon as you sat down you sank so far into the couch that you ended up with the bars from the sofa bed sticking into your back.

This property charges 4 star prices ( $265 per night ) but delivers 3 star facilities.

To top it all off 2 cars were broken into in our carpark section, their windows completely smashed. We were very lucky as one of the break ins happened to the car parked next to us and the other to the car parked in the bay opposite us. We later found out ( from a staff member that my Husband went to school with ) that this was the 4th Sunday in a row that cars in this section had been broken into.

I feel the resort failed in it's duty of care to it's guests. It would have been quite easy to inform guests of these common break ins as they checked in. By doing this, guests could have been on the look out for suspicious behaviour, ensured that their cars were locked and that valuables were not left on display in the cars overnight.

This section of carpark was the most secluded in the resort. It would have been very easy for staff to suggest that guests who needed to park here, move their cars closer to the reception carpark ( where there was alot of spaces available) which was also closer to the Night Manager.

Upon checking out our account was mixed up with someone elses. We had to wait while they tried to " find" our account. By this stage I just wanted to see the back of the whole place.
A very expensive and disappointing weekend. I would not stay here again or reccomend it to anyone. Do yourself and your wallet a favour and stay somewhere else that actually offers value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank PerthyummyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

There is nothing wrong with the Sanctuary, but for a non-golfer it was an unremarkable place to stay. It was recommended to us by the excellent Dolphin Discovery Centre as it is fairly nearby. The Sanctuary was apparently busy but managed to appear calm and almost empty. Staff were mainly friendly and helpful, but the rooms were 2-3 star quality and the food in the restaurant was a little over-ambitious. Breakfast is not included in the price. Western Australia seems to be more expensive for accomodation than other areas, but I reckon you could find better value than this. Nice views over the golf course though.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank NMMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2006

Enjoyed a wonderful 3 day stay at this unique Accor Resort located a few km’s to the north of Bunbury and close to several shopping centres. The place is a Golfers Dream, has a well laid out course with very reasonable in-house fees. For non-golfers or families it has a top pool area for a more laid back stay and is well within driving distance to the many wineries to the south including our favourite Capel Vale with its prize winning restaurant. We were sorry we had not allowed more time at the Resort but intend to return next year.

Our one bedroom apartment style accommodation overlooked the 18th hole of the resort and picked up the glorious WA sunset each afternoon. Able to enjoy this from our outdoor setting while sinking the odd vino or two and only a short stroll for that game of golf.

Our apartments well appointed kitchen and lounge area was very comfortable as was the bedroom. The most enormous spa bath took pride of place in the bathroom, almost worried about the water it must use but was certainly large enough for the tallest person. The resort has pay TV and movies on demand available for a most reasonable fee but this gives you 24 hour viewing of several channels. The movies were late release and we found this to quite a treat as the actual 24 hour charge was cheaper than normal pay to view hotel rates for just one movie.

The most outstanding part of our stay was the Resorts Restaurant – an absolute beauty. The food was just so top notch that we ended up eating there for every main meal and didn’t have one lower standard meal over the time (quite a rare feat). After spending a gourmet week in the Margaret River testing out all the top restaurants we still put our meals at the Resort near the top of the list for quality and price.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msekiya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryGolf, Manager at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OO7Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary G, Director of Sales at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
3.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
1,014 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
376 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
3.1 mi away
Bunbury Apartment Motel
3.0 mi away
Quest Bunbury Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort

Address: Lot 100 Old Coast Road | Pelican Point, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Sanctuary Golf Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range: $94 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort is located approximately 90 minutes south of Perth in the heart of the Geographe Wine Region & Ferguson Valley and is the perfect venue from which to explore Australia’s beautiful South West.Enjoy four star apartment style accommodation set amongst fifty-six hectares of gorgeous rolling green lawns, tranquil lakes and tropical gardens surrounding a freeform resort pool and heated spa. 18 hole championship golf course with picturesque, undulating fairways, manicured greens and challenging sand & water hazards. Tennis courts, well stocked golf shop, conferencing, function, wedding & event facilities and Vittoria's Restaurant all provide excitement and opportunity at this very unique resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Bunbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing