We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunbury Golf Resort...good location for business...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bunbury Golf Resort...good location for business...”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A business trip to Bunbury led me to the Sanctuary Golf Resort.
Location is great being only four kilometres from the CBD and eight kilometres from the regional and SJOG hospital.
The apartments are three star however the staff that maintain them are top notch. They are attended to daily and cleaned to a professional standard.
The restaurant tries their best however falls short of the mark. The service while well meaning does not live up to the prices that are evident for the courses. This is after all a resort! With hindsight, perhaps the venues within Bunbury would have worth the effort however professional commitment precluded their assessment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_EOS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary G, Director of Sales at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sanctuary Golf Resort.

I am pleased to hear you found the servicing of your room "top notch" and disappointed to hear you were less satisfied with our restaurant. Visitors to Western Australia are often surprised by the prices on menus here and I can reassure you that our prices are competitive with other restaurants in our region. Sad but true that food is expensive out west.

We hope that you will consider us for your next business trip to the Bunbury area.

Kind regards
Ann Lifshen
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    205
    58
    15
    10
See reviews for
100
179
14
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just enjoyed our second visit to All Seasons Sanctuary Golf Resort. The Resort is in a perfect location about a 2 hour drive from Perth, Western Australia. Close to the City of Bunbury on the coast. And close to local wineries. The rooms are maintained well. The staff are excellent - very warm and friendly! The golf course looks superb even though we did not have time to try it out! Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary G, Director of Sales at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your return visit to the Sanctuary and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you had a second great experience with us and will pass your positive feedback about our staff on to them.

We hope that next time you come you might have time to have a hit! Our pro-shop rents out gear if you need it and our golf pro Mark gives great lessons if you're interested. We also have an Aqua Driving Range if you don't have time for a full round but fancy a swing :)

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards
Ann Lifshen
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wasnt sure what to expect when we booked to stay at a golf resort, but was very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and airy with effective air conditioning. The grounds were lovely with rooms overlooking the golfcourse, very peaceful with lots of birds and butterflies. There was a very nice clean pool with plenty of sunbeds and did not get to busy as most people came to pay golf. We used this as a base for visiting attractions in the area and it was well located and easy to find. There was nowhere to walk to if you wished to go out for dinner, however we had two really good evening meals at the onsite restaurant. I was worried that theatmosphere may be a little snooty (as non golf players) but staff and regulars were all extremely friendly. The continental breakfast was fine, nothing special but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary G, Director of Sales at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Sanctuary Golf Resort. I'm really pleased that you found our location convenient to the other great attractions in our area and that you found us easy to find.

I'm also really pleased as non golfers that you enjoyed the other facilities the resort offers. Our pool is always high on guests lists of reasons to come again and our grounds, views and birdlife are very special.

Thank you also for dispelling the myth that a Golf Resort is a snooty place to stay. We receive lots of great feedback on the friendliness of our staff and we're glad that you had a great experience here.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards
Ann Lifshen
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quairading, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good , clean rooms nicely appointed. Good value for money. Bathroom perhaps a bit dated but fair for the price. Everyone we dealt with at the resort was so friendly and helpful. From the girl who greeted us upon our arrival to the staff at the bar and the breakfast staff. Great service and a smile really mean alot when you've been travelling all day. So pleasing to find such service in Australia !!

Room Tip: single storey rooms are the nicest and allow some access outside to either the pool or views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary G, Director of Sales at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our property. We have an amazing team of staff here and feedback like yours about the great friendliness and customer service you received during your stay make our day. I'll be sure to share you feedback with Reception and our Restaurant team.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ann Lifshen
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Rooms were clean and well-equipped, but service was bad; poor experience overall. When extra towels were requested, I was asked to come to the reception to pick them up. When asked for advice on tourist activities in Bunbury, we were simply pointed towards a brochure shelf; it's not like there was a mile long line behind us waiting for the reception. Breakfast was so over-priced that we decided to stick to free poor continental breakfast. Not to mention the real breakfast went to waste instead of pricing it more affordablly and reducing food wastage. If this is the kind of service we receive while buying the deal from Scoupon/Catch of the day kind of deals, there's no way we're paying full price for this third grade place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBK628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary G, Director of Sales at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Sanctuary Golf Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience.

As we are a small property (38 apartments) we do not keep a member of the housekeeping team here around the clock which means that outside of these times our Reception staff take care of guest requests such as yours for additional towels. During quieter times of the day and evening we often have only one team member in Reception which means they are not always able to leave the desk to deliver items to the rooms. While we endeavour to deliver towels where possible it appears in this instance that our staff member was unable to leave their post. I apologise that we were unable to do this for you.

I am very concerned with the response you received when you requested tourist information as usually our staff receive glowing feedback about their friendliness and helpfulness. I will certainly look into this further.

In regard to your comments about breakfast, our breakfast upgrade from the complimentary breakfast to the "All you can eat hot buffet breakfast" is $16.50 for in-house guests and entitles you to as much as you can eat of both the continental and hot buffet breakfasts. This is priced at $25 for visitors to the resort. I also share your concern at food wastage but have researched our competitor pricing and find that we are offering a very fair price given the quality and quantity of food being offered. I'm sorry you found this disappointing.

Thank you again for your comments about our property.

Kind regards
Ann Lifshen
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was an excellent resort to stay for a relaxing time. The pool was beautiful and the rooms were very clean, roomy and comfortable. I would stay there anytime in the futureand recomend it highly to my friends and family. The only one thing we found was that the mattress was very firm and most people probably find that great but for my husband and myself it was a bit on the firm side. However, this is only a small thing as there as the rest of the stay was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast we had in the restaurant was excellent. Thanks Trudy and Brian Patterson

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatres0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary G, Director of Sales at Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Trudy & Brian

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Sanctuary Golf Resort. Nothing makes us happier than hearing our staff are friendly and helpful and I'll be sure to pass on this feedback.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the firmness of the bedding and have passed this feedback to management. As we work through the continuous refurbishment cycle this is something we will consider but I understand that bedding is selected to appeal to the majority of sleepers and as such will likely not differ drastically from your recent experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sanctuary and thank you very much for your positive comments.

Kind regards
Ann Lifshen
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
3.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
935 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
373 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
3.1 mi away
Bunbury Apartment Motel
3.0 mi away
Quest Bunbury Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort

Property: Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
Address: Lot 100 Old Coast Road | Pelican Point, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Sanctuary Golf Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort is located approximately 90 minutes south of Perth in the heart of the Geographe Wine Region & Ferguson Valley and is the perfect venue from which to explore Australia’s beautiful South West.Enjoy four star apartment style accommodation set amongst fifty-six hectares of gorgeous rolling green lawns, tranquil lakes and tropical gardens surrounding a freeform resort pool and heated spa. 18 hole championship golf course with picturesque, undulating fairways, manicured greens and challenging sand & water hazards. Tennis courts, well stocked golf shop, conferencing, function, wedding & event facilities and Vittoria's Restaurant all provide excitement and opportunity at this very unique resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Bunbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing