We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be knock out top notch easily” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be knock out top notch easily”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place has everything going for it - location check, pool, jacuzzi, sauna check, in room spa check ocean view room almost check. Below standard housekeeping and some really ugly things mar the experience. To be fair though they are doing the place up. So, what's wrong with Bunbury? Why isn't packed out over a long weekend? Don't know, don't care more space and choice for us. Back to the hotel - Why do you have to navigate a maze from the pool to the reception desk for pool towels? Why are the ashtrays not emptied and hey, why isn't there a separate smoking area - haven't seen so many half full ashtrays in years and left outside since we checked in to our non-smoking room and when we left still there. Over a breakfast outside smelly ashtrays. Private outside areas from the rooms would be great instead of a communal space and some nice outside garden chairs to sit and soak up the amazing sunset in private mmmm...dreamy. Front desk could be more positive about the place they are obviously disgruntled with something going on they almost suggested we stay somewhere else. Weird? Maybe it's a bunbury thing. The resaurant guy was miserable too. Well bang for buck quite good. This place could be 5 star with very little effort and some trained staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for providing your honest feedback.

We have just completed Stage One of a multi million dollar refubishment and will commence Stage Two in the coming weeks which will address many of the issue you have raised.

I'm disappointed that you had issues with our housekeeping and our staff and I have addressed these concerns with the staff.

We are looking forward to our next Stage in the refurbishment program which will include our Reception area and the block of Spa rooms.

I look forward to seeing you return to the property as more of the refurbishment is competed

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    82
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
37
98
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Carnamah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Love the newly renovated rooms, have been coming here every year for the last 4 for the speedway, if I had to pick a downside it would be there is nowhere to hang your bathers/towels after a great swim & also nowhere to sit outside your room. Tried the room service this year & that was the disappointing part!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Lisa, thanks for the great review, the new rooms are great but unfortunately not all of them have a balcony, but as we progress further with our plans we will have more room types that will suit your family needs.

I have passed your comments about room service to our Chefs.

I look forward to seeing back here again soon.

Kind Regards
Christina Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Lovely side view of both ocean and the town. Obviously recently refurbished room- very modern and relaxing décor (room 55). Clean. All room amenities. Lovely tasty food in restaurant (includes fantastic ocean view and sunset). Restaurant and reception staff pleasant and appear very helpful and polite to tourists. Staff gave room upgrade without prompting. Very satisfied. Stayed 17.2.2014.

Room Tip: Cannot compare rooms only stayed once. Room 55 was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Rita

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We love all the feedback we are getting on our new rooms as it is helping us to plan for the next group of rooms to be refurbished. We have a great team here and I have passed your comments on to our Chef's and restaurant staff.

Guests' input is very important to us and it helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here recently for the first time for a change as I usually stay at the Mantra. I paid extra for an ocean view room and to be honest the view was worth the extra dollars. However the room itself was drab and badly in need of a makeover. The room I stayed in looked as if it hadn't been dusted for a while as the exposed brickwork had an accumulation of dust and cobwebs. In fact there was a ramset screw hanging 50mm out of the wall at chest level which was pretty hard to miss. The bed was comfortable and the location is good but to be honest if you take away the view the place is a dump.

Room Tip: Try the Mantra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your honest review.

Unfortunately we have not been able to refurbish our Ocean View Rooms to date but they will be included in Stage Two of our renovations that will commence shortly (late April). I do hope that you will return to our property so that you can enjoy our magnificent views when we have completed these rooms.

We have currently renovated all of our City View rooms and I highly recomend anyone to book these rooms.

Kind Regards
Christina Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a family group for a wedding. Would not have been my preference, there are nicer hotels in Bunbury, but the wedding was on the premises so it was convenient. The good news was the food, it was excellent and for functions it is a good choice. The bad news was our old, dated, shabby room. Hideous bathroom, noisy a/c, chairs that are falling apart and uncomfortable bed. The old unrenovated rooms would barely be 3 star, and hardly worth $170 a night, so if you prefer a better finish try the Mantra. But the food was great, hence the third star in my rating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your honest review.

Yes our unrefurbished are "old, dated, and in need of refurbishment". As you would have experienced our Function Rooms were included in Stage One of the renovation and are second to none with over $1 million being spent in the Grand Ballroom alone.

As we move forward with our plans for the property you will see vast improvements and I ask all of our loyal patrons to be patient as we continue to build a property that everyone will be proud to stay in.

Kind Regards
Christina Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel over the Australia Day long weekend. We stayed in one of the deluxe city view rooms which have been renovated.

We liked our room, was very modern and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings adequate. The only criticism is that the water pressure was far too low and the walls are paper thin... you can hear everything (I mean everything) going on next door.

We also had buffet breakfast here which wasn't too bad, but it is far better getting breakfast in town at the many cafes they have.

They have a great spa, pool and sauna which we enjoyed.

The service was ok, but they were understaffed on check out because the hotel owner didn't want to pay penalty rates.

Overall it was a good stay, and we will no doubt be back again... just don't book a non-renovated room as they are quite run down and grotty

Room Tip: book a renovated room!!! and get a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Timothy, thanks for your honest review.

I'm glad you enjoyed staying in our new rooms and I have taken onboard your comments with regard to the water pressure and noise and we can address these issues as we move forward with our renovations.

The Australia Day long weekend is always an extremely hectic weekend for us and unfortunately we were understaffed but we have since rectified this problem.

I will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
Christina Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Over priced and outdated with misleading advertising. The photos of the rooms are not what you find upon arrival. The rooms are old and in desperate need of a refurbishment. The bathrooms are something you would expect to find in an old cheap rental not a 'resort'. The hot water in the shower ran out very quickly and The shower curtain was dirty and we found a bug in our bed. The outdoor area isn't private and there is nowhere to sit and enjoy the view that they rave about - instead you open your door to a small communal grassed area.

$220 for this is daylight robbery.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura131177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, Laura and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and experienced less than acceptable standards in any of our rooms.

As we are less than half way through our renovations, we have new rooms and old and it is difficult to accurately manage guests expectations, however I have taken onboard your comments and will revisit our photo content on the websites.

I do hope that you will visit again and stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind Regards
Christina Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
1.6 mi away
Bunbury Motel & Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Quest Bunbury Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Lighthouse

Property: Quality Hotel Lighthouse
Address: Carey Street, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia (Formerly Lighthouse Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the highest points in Bunbury, the Quality Hotel Lighthouse enjoys panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, Koombana Bay and the City Centre. We have recently completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment program, resulting in 59 modern, stylish hotel rooms and 4 brand new function rooms. . When booking online please clarify the room type you have booked as to determine if it has been refurbished or not. Current room types that are refurbished are: Deluxe City Views, City Rooms or Poolside Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Hotel Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Beach Hotel Bunbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing