We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay for a long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a long weekend”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel over the Australia Day long weekend. We stayed in one of the deluxe city view rooms which have been renovated.

We liked our room, was very modern and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings adequate. The only criticism is that the water pressure was far too low and the walls are paper thin... you can hear everything (I mean everything) going on next door.

We also had buffet breakfast here which wasn't too bad, but it is far better getting breakfast in town at the many cafes they have.

They have a great spa, pool and sauna which we enjoyed.

The service was ok, but they were understaffed on check out because the hotel owner didn't want to pay penalty rates.

Overall it was a good stay, and we will no doubt be back again... just don't book a non-renovated room as they are quite run down and grotty

Room Tip: book a renovated room!!! and get a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Timothy, thanks for your honest review.

I'm glad you enjoyed staying in our new rooms and I have taken onboard your comments with regard to the water pressure and noise and we can address these issues as we move forward with our renovations.

The Australia Day long weekend is always an extremely hectic weekend for us and unfortunately we were understaffed but we have since rectified this problem.

I will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
Christina Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    83
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
101
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Over priced and outdated with misleading advertising. The photos of the rooms are not what you find upon arrival. The rooms are old and in desperate need of a refurbishment. The bathrooms are something you would expect to find in an old cheap rental not a 'resort'. The hot water in the shower ran out very quickly and The shower curtain was dirty and we found a bug in our bed. The outdoor area isn't private and there is nowhere to sit and enjoy the view that they rave about - instead you open your door to a small communal grassed area.

$220 for this is daylight robbery.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura131177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, Laura and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and experienced less than acceptable standards in any of our rooms.

As we are less than half way through our renovations, we have new rooms and old and it is difficult to accurately manage guests expectations, however I have taken onboard your comments and will revisit our photo content on the websites.

I do hope that you will visit again and stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind Regards
Christina Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We took advantage of a special for $289 that included a room upgrade (king size bed), a two course meal for two at the restaurant, buffet breakfast and a late checkout.
The room (55) was elevated and had views back towards Bunbury and the ocean. Whilst not the biggest room,the bed was comfy and room very clean.
The food was impressive, entrees and mains were generous, well presented and tasty. The breakfast was good value, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and bacon and eggs etc from the Bain Maree.
Not a 5 star resort, but good value and well located.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonofWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Location fantastic.
Views fabulous.
Pool area relaxing and spa great temperature.
Reception staff friendly and helpful.
However:
Bathrooms still are 70's style (old).
Major refurb is needed in rooms.
Curtins have holes.
Wifi wasn't working.
Restaurant staff are rude and the food terrible.

Definitely not value for money (over priced)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexsandra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We travel a lot & this was the best four night decision I have ever made! We were delighted by the newly renovated room..so comfortable, all seaside colours, fresh and a great space. I have never slept so well on any holiday! Perfectly snug beds & soft pillows, I felt really pampered. The buffet breakfast is terrific value & healthy alternatives with delicious fresh fruit selections, home made brioche & muffins. We had dinner in the restaurant every night because the menu was varied and the meals were superb. Special thanks to Glenn & Sandra who made the eating experience excellent & were so helpful. The pool, spa & sauna were a joy after a day of wineries & sightseeing, so much to do & see. Would recommend this resort and locality to anyone travelling down South.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BossybootsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was clean. However, expensive and the photos definitely didn't match what we found. The room was outdated and the bathroom was cramped and old. If you pay the premium - $230 for a resort room, you'll be disappointed. We've paid less than $100 for similar rooms in Victoria and don't mind staying in same. But if you are paying a good price for the rooms you see in the photos, you expect to at least find a similar room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Park n walk by the ocean cliffs to the lighthouse watching ocenliners passing by..so picturesque. The strong winds n we cld smell the fresh ocean breeze..I guess it was an awesome experience. Nearby township you shld try the mouthwatering waffles n varieties of icecream flavors..can't remember the icecream parlour's name. .but its a to die for.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank norrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Bunbury Motel & Serviced Apartments
1.8 mi away
Bunbury Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Lighthouse

Property: Quality Hotel Lighthouse
Address: Carey Street, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia (Formerly Lighthouse Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the highest points in Bunbury, the Quality Hotel Lighthouse enjoys panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, Koombana Bay and the City Centre. We have recently completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment program, resulting in 59 modern, stylish hotel rooms and 4 brand new function rooms. . When booking online please clarify the room type you have booked as to determine if it has been refurbished or not. Current room types that are refurbished are: Deluxe City Views, City Rooms or Poolside Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Hotel Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Beach Hotel Bunbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing