We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice walk to the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice walk to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed in the Clifton with my wife for a few weeks as we were starting a new job and we were in the transition faze between moving into our own place.

loved going for walks along the beach at night and the main street/Cinema's are only a stones throw away.

central location and great staff.

we had a luxury suite, in room spa and there was a pool avaliavle..

would stay again, thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
66
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The motel is just a few minutes walk from the main part of town. On arrival we were given a cartoon of fresh milk for our tea or coffee. Our room was located on the upper floor at the rear of the property with a balcony overlooking a park. We assumed the motel was full as it had no vacancies but it was quiet as we did not hear any noise from other rooms. 

The room could be termed "old fashioned" with dark wood furniture, dated soft furnishings, a hatch for the breakfast tray and a well worn carpet. However everything worked fine. The hotel charges for WiFi but a number of cafes and a group of businesses in the centre of town offer a free service. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley,Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The Clifton is the classic motel layout, 2 floors of rooms on 3 sides around the car park. The rooms are pretty basic and in need of refurbishment. There is free wifi but not in our room which was about the furthest from reception. I could only get a signal in the other side of the carpark from he room, suggesting that the majority of the other rooms don't get the signal either. Towels were on the thin side. Overall impression of the establishment being a bit tired and in need of a freshen up.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FalloverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Motel cleaning liquids and so called air fresheners was the highlight of my stay. This is the worst smelling room I have stayed in ever. Even keeping a sliding door open didn't get rid of it. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great with a chef prepared and served the food with panache. It is located within two minutes walking distance of the main drag and in the other direction p the Indian Ocean. The bed was comfortable and the room clean.

Room Tip: Look at your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

my husband and I recently stayed at this motel. On arrival the staff were very friendly and cooperative with sharing of information re: what was happening in Bunbury and must see sights and interactions. The bed was comfortable and had a single also in our room which was really handy as my husband became unwell and was restless sleeper..
thankyou to the cook beaut breakfast and prompt service nice cosy dining room
awesome eatting places within walking distance we enjoyed Thai and the pub on the corner for lunch and dinner.
nice swimming pool for the hot afternoon
the walls were awfully thin and I apologies now for my husband who coughed late into the night
great location awesome staff would stay again

Room Tip: would probably be quieter closer to the diner away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I was there with my friend for an overnight stay at this motel. Comfortable bed, with clean bathroom. Just less than 3 min walk, you will reach the seaside. Friendly staffs, and provide a car wash station and allowed me to clean the car temporary. If I'm back to Bunbury again, I will stay there again. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YY625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjimup, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Thank you for the upgrade to the Griddleton Lodge on my last stay to your lovely property. Your staff are very helpful. The breakfast was great and a lovely warm dining room to sit and chill before starting out the day. A beautiful property, great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
0.6 mi away
Quest Bunbury Apartment Hotel
3.5 mi away
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge

Property: The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge
Address: 2 Molloy St | Corner Clifton & Molloy Streets, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bunbury
Bunbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing