We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hotel Lord Forrest
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
68
153
115
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
153
115
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolroom servicepool tablerenovated roomstayed one nightthe main streetlounge areafamily roomtown centresingle bedbit datedbalconyperthoceanwacinema
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 402 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I've stayed dozens of times here when in the south west on business. Every time it got worse & worse. For my most recent trip down there, I chose to stay elsewhere & was happy I did so. The Lord Forrest is noisy, inside & out. Being atrium styled, all the noise from the lobby, pool, bar etc rises up to your room, which is tiny, old fashioned & feels like a cell. The Blues Club & pub opposite seems to have no limitations on noise, or alcohol consumption, & getting to sleep on a Friday or Saturday night here is impossible with noisy drunks in the street until 4am. The room service menu used to be good, altho pricey. But they have even reduced what is available on that & the price is not justified for the quality. Housekeeping needs a kick in the backside, rooms are always dirty. Checking in or out always takes ages as this hotel is understaffed & if you even find anyone on Reception, you've done well.. The last time I stayed there I was amazed on a Saturday afternoon to find the hotel bar wasn't even open. You can order a drink outside the bar, near the restaurant but by the time it arrives you'll have forgotten what you ordered. The hotel is grossly understaffed. When this hotel opened in the early 80's it was the 1st 5 star hotel in Bunbury. It would now be scraping to be 2 star. The underground parking is available to the public & I was dismayed one Saturday night there to find it full of drunks, urinating in dark corners & getting in their cars & damaging other cars as they tried to drive off. Find somewhere else in Bunbury, like I finally did.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the suite. If you're prepared to pay for it, that is nice. If you do stay here, ask for a room on the opposite side of the Blues Club.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskatie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. (Too long).
The hotel is dated and smells like chlorine (thanks to the indoor pool.). The room was average - however the sprinkler system had been dripping on my bed and it was completely saturated. Terrible customer service in resolving the issue - was finally moved.

The hotel restaurant served the slowest and worst caeser salad ever and was completely overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcath_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Central in Bunbury, unusual, novel hotel. Second time we've stayed here over the past 5-6 years & nothing much has changed. Friendly, Aussie staff. Quiet, great views, clean, Interesting design with vines throughout the interior & glass lifts around a central hub.
Yes, we would stay here again, but remember it's W.A. (I hope it never changes!) We enjoyed the laid back pace. Staff were more than happy to help with any request :)

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an executive suite & it was great. Although the first room was nice also. Loved the balconies & sea breezes. The air-con was amazing & it was 35 degrees every day we were there.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel room is big enough, nice and clean. I like the mini bar very much. Staffs are friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ycc545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Lord Forrest is a little outdated & could do with a makeover. It has long hanging plants on every level and the entire hotel smells like chlorine due to the indoor pool being right in the middle of the hotel near the check in desk.
We stayed on Level 2, the TV reception didn't work but it was fixed very quickly, service is good no problems there. There were a few stains on the carpet though the room was clean - it just needs a revamp, we paid $149/night with breakfast and it is a well known hotel in Bunbury so I think for the hotel it would be an investment well spent on their behalf.
Location is close to everything, I think all rooms have balconies, not all with a view though!
The hotel is clean, reasonably priced for what you get but it has no real spark, if you find a good package deal and aren't looking to spend the earth it will suit you, if you can get past the chlorine smell.
Restaurant and bar quite expensive as to be expected.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a room with a view as you'll probably end up on the side that overlooks the buildings and roofs if you don't request it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter_Angel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews